We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home away from home”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Villa Del Sol

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castries, Castries Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sudak
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
6
people found this review helpful

We were 8 adults and 2 kids spending two weeks over Christmas in St Lucia. The villa was perfect for us in terms of size, location, and amenities.

The pictures accurately show what the villa looks like. The 5 bedrooms were all a good size and allowed everyone their privacy. There were also sufficient bathrooms and dinning/living room space for all of us. We did have to move some chairs around from the two decks to augment the 6 seats at the dining table but most breakfasts and lunches were enjoyed outside by the pool with some yummy beers/rum from the region.

The view, and the sunsets (when it wasn't cloudy) were gorgeous. And the villa is located on the perfect spot to enjoy new year's eve (also known as old year's night in St Lucia) fireworks from every direction from several neighbouring resorts. Given that the villa is located some distance above sea level there were nearly no mosquitoes to pester us and a nice breeze to keep us cool.

When we arrived on our first night, we were greeted by Kentra, the housekeeper and Mr. Wally, the owner, and Kentra's delicious Lucia home cooking. Even to this date, my husband raves about her delicious bean stew. During our time there, she whipped up several feasts with dishes including creole fish, goat stew, "green fig" salad, fish cakes, chicken curry, roti, pumpkin soup and many more. She also introduced us to cocoa tea and made several fresh fruit juices, which mixed very well with the local rum. Suffice to say we all gained a few pounds while on vacation.

Kentra comes every second day to clean and kept the place quite tidy. The gardener and pool maintenance employee came a few times to take care of the premises.

It was lovely to have a pool, especially for night swims. And the BBQ worked well and we managed to bbq fresh fish bought from the Casteries market for a St Lucian Christmas feast.

It is worthwhile noting that the first 90 feet of all beaches are considered public but most of the easily accessible beaches have a resort on them and some dont even let you walk on the beach. But Calabash Cove Resort allowed us to access their beach while we were there and it was roughly a 10 minute walk down from the villa. We spent one day renting their chairs, shelters and other water sport equipment for $20 USD hotel fee. But there is plenty of space to enjoy the beach without having to rent their stuff.

If you plan on going anywhere you do have to walk about 15 minutes over the hill to get a bus or call a taxi. But once down on the main road you can catch a bus in either direction to Casteries or Rodney Bay/Gros Islet for only $1.75 EC. We found it very convenient and cost efficient to take the bus as the taxi were quite expensive. You just need to tell the bus driver to drop you off at the bus stop for Calabash Cove Resort in Marisule.

Our host Mr. Wally was absolutely a delight and very attentive. We had been corresponding for over a year before we eventually went to St Lucia. During this time he answered all our questions and made arrangements to address any concerns we had. When the AC wasn’t working in one bedroom on the first day he ensured to have a repairman come by the very next day and it was fixed. And while we were there he responded right away if we needed something or we wanted information. He even came with us to the Friday Night Jump Up Street Party in Gros Islet to take us to his favourite Fish Fry stand and also bought us some lovely St Lucian souvenirs.

The only small complaint was that the phone was not functioning during our stay and the wifi was intermittent. But honestly who needs the internet when you are right next to the beautiful Caribbean sea.

All in all, this was the perfect villa for our large family get away and would highly recommend the villa to anyone looking to have a private family vacation in St Lucia.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
Thanks so much for your honest and detailed review. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family and Kentra constantly raves about how considerate and gracious your group were.

We hope to host you in any future trips to the island of St. Lucia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omegha G
1 review
“Amazing!!!!!”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Villa Del Sol is the perfect place for a family vacation. A clean, spacious well kept villa with a gorgeous view. The place is just as beautiful as the pictures.

The owner Wally is an email or text away to answer any questions. Kentra the housekeeper is always cheerful and willing to help or answer any questions you may have as well. She does a great job at keeping the villa clean as well!

There's nothing negative I can say about Villa Del Sol. Thanks for making my short stay there so amazing Wally and Kentra! I will definitely be back in the future

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Thanks so much Omegha - it was a pleasure hosting you and on behalf of Kentra, we will be looking forward to hosting you when you visit next.

We do try to meet and surpass our guests expectations.

Thanks once more for choosing Villa Del Sol.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayanChic...
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing - in every way!!!”
Reviewed 13 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Del Sol
We stayed as 3 couples for a week – in a nutshell, this place was perfect for our needs and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful place to stay knowing that it’s not right in the middle of the action.

The Villa
The pictures accurately show what the villa looks like. As we were 3 couples, we used 3 bedrooms, but the 4th one we didn’t use was very small and much darker than the others. It also shared a bathroom so it would be great if someone was traveling with kids. The villa was a great size and had laundry, a downstairs toilet – great when you’re just popping in from the pool. Wifi was great but didn’t work outside by the pool and the reception was sometimes spotty, but hey you’re not in paradise for wifi! The pool area was amazing – comfortable loungers, nice clean pool and a great covered seating area – great for sheltering from the rain showers. The villa had all of the things you would need to function for a week – toaster, blender, hairdryer, iron, etc. Also, if you’re looking for something specific, a quick email to the owner to find out is all you’ll need to do. We really liked the 3 decks – there was always a space to sit outside quietly by yourself or with others. If it was raining, there were places to sit and stay dry while still being outside.

Owner / Staff
Pamphile Wally was the greatest villa owner. He responded to all of my emails quickly and would call us on the phone or pop by to see how we’re doing. The AC wasn’t working in one bedroom on the first day. Within hours, he had a repair guy over and it was fixed. Anytime we needed something, we could get in touch and he would help us out. One evening we struggled to find a decent taxi fare to go to the Jump up party – a quick email and Mr. Wally had sorted us out a great reliable taxi. He also popped by with gifts of local treats as well as a birthday gift for one of our travel party. He was definitely the most attentive owner and always ready to check in and answer a question.
The villa also came with a housekeeper Kentra. She was wonderful in every way. She was always willing to chat with us, help us out with anything we may need and keep our villa nice and clean. Kentra is definitely an asset to the villa and always made us feel welcome. She even helped arrange birthday decorations and had it all set up for us – she went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable.

Location
When you start up the steep, winding road to the villa, you might feel worried you’ve made a mistake like I did – but don’t let it scare you. The villa is about 1.5 km from the main road. But, it’s a steep and hilly climb – no worries for us as we were all fit and healthy and enjoyed the trek. However, if you have mobility problems or baby strollers, it would be a tough walk! However, if you can do it, at the end of the road is a small greengrocer with herbs, fresh water, local fruit etc. Also the bus stops are right on the main road at the end of the street. The buses run very frequently and for a couple of dollars you are in Rodney Bay or Castries quick, cheap and easy. We used the buses every day to get out and about and it couldn’t be cheaper or easier! The local supermarket is just on the main road too and has most things you need – water, beer, milk, eggs etc. Just beware that it’s a hard walk back with lots of heavy things to carry!
The villa is literally a 2 minute walk from the Calabash Cove resort and you can use their beach for free. They also offer a day pass for $20U.S if you wanted to stay and use all of their facilities. They were very welcoming and we enjoyed a beautiful dinner there one evening – but it’s not cheap!

Overall, I was worried about booking this villa because there weren’t any reviews but I’m glad I took a leap of faith as it really did meet my expectations. As long as you’re fully aware of the location and aren’t afraid of a good walk and traveling on the local buses, it will be perfect for you. I liked the location, the amenities, and most of the all the welcoming attitude of the owner and the housekeeper. I felt welcomed and safe for my entire trip. Villa del Sol is definitely somewhere I would return to!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, size, central location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2016
Thanks for your very candid and complete review. It is always a pleasure to meet and exceed our guests expectations. We go far beyond just providing accommodation - we also ensure our guests are as comfortable as we can make it and in this regard act as island representatives to our guests whilst on island. Hope to welcome you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing