We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, relaxing and restful. ”
Review of Auberge Seraphine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Seraphine
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

We were en route to another destination but had to cancel. The CSR at the Liat counter recommended Auberge Seraphine. It's minutes from the airport. Room 303 was clean, the A.C. worked perfectly, the king size bed was clean and comfortable. There was a flat screen TV, mini fridge, adequate storage, coffee /tea nook. Bathroom was clean, well lit, enough clean towels, shampoo and body wash. The verandah over looked the bay where the party boats were moored, a small pond, the entire front of the property and a large tree where egrets nested.The restaurant had odd opening hours, many dishes on the menu were not available. The restaurant staff carried out loud,annoying conversations among themselves even when they were serving guests!!.The barman was gruff and unfriendly. Although the airport was close by,we found Auberge Seraphine to peaceful and relaxing.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank June J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2017

The key advantage of this hotel for us was its close proximity to the airport at the north of the island. We had an early flight and our previous hotel was close to the Pitons, involving a long drive on very twisty roads in order to get to the north of the island for the airport. N.B. There are two airports on St Lucia. Intercontinental flights use the southern airport, with the northern airport mostly used for flights within the Caribbean. The hotel is literally right next to the airport. The taxi ride takes 10 minutes and literally consists of driving around the runway to get to the other side where the airport building is.

On arrival, the reception staff could not find our reservation, although I had a print-out confirming the reservation through Expedia. They found us a room anyway, but the confusion was a bit disconcerting after a long drive. We loved our room, but non-bird-lovers might not. Our balcony opened onto the front of the hotel, close to two trees where literally more than a hundred egrets were roosting. Now egrets are beautiful birds and fun to watch, but they didn't half make a racket as they were jostling for position. If you don't like birds or don't enjoy their noise, you might do well to avoid these rooms. The birds did settle down to sleep as darkness fell, though, so we were able to get our beauty sleep as well.

The restaurant, both for dinner and breakfast the next morning, was a bit random, with insufficient staff and organisation. Also, the credit card reader was out of order at dinner, so we ended up paying in cash, which we hadn't expected. The food was fine - nothing terrible but nothing to write home about either.

Would I stay here again? Faced with the same journey, probably. In a way, it was quite frustrating, as the hotel facilities were nice and it could be a really good hotel if it was run more efficiently. I wouldn't recommend staying other than for overnight stays in order to access the airport, though. There are plenty of nicer hotels in St Lucia. I should say, though, that the cost of the stay was quite reasonable, so I guess you get what you pay for. And the location was really exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

This is a great spot, walking distance to downtown Castries, and a good jumping-off point for driving anywhere. There's a good restaurant across the road (Brown Sugar), a good bar on-site. Nice pool, clean, everything we expected.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

I was in Castries for business and stayed at the Auberge. The staff at the restaurant, the hotel management, the cleaning staff and even the taxi driver all made the stay very pleasant and welcoming.

I need a gluten free diet - and when I ate at the hotel, the staff went out of their way to ensure that my meals were gf.

Free wifi and good connections and close to the offices in Castries made it a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MaryAnnCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Nice decor and nice views of the bay. The restaurant was quite quiet but unfortunately the few tables that were full were all in the same area. While we enjoyed the dinner, it was simple. The service was OK, not too friendly. There are other better options for a great dinner elsewhere and close by.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
7.6 km away
Harmony Suites
Harmony Suites
#7 of 12 in Castries
247 reviews
6.5 km away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
0.5 km away
Casa del Vega
Casa del Vega
#8 of 12 in Castries
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
475 reviews
7.9 km away
The Ginger Lily Hotel
The Ginger Lily Hotel
#5 of 13 in Gros Islet
252 reviews
8.2 km away
Palm Haven Hotel
Palm Haven Hotel
#10 of 13 in Gros Islet
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Seraphine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Seraphine

Address: Vielle Bay, Castries 00000, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Price Range: R1 864 - R2 087 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Seraphine 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run hotel in St. Lucia with one of the most popular restaurants on the island. An obvious choice for business travelers visiting Castries or Gros Islet because of its proximity to SLU airport, more and more vacationers are stopping into Auberge Seraphine for one or two nights during their stay on the island for an authentic local experience. While there is no beach, most rooms overlook the pool and beautiful Vielle Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Auberge Seraphine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Seraphine Castries
Auberge Seraphine Hotel Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing