We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped rental house with an ocean view and...”
other traveller has booked this property
Spacious private grounds with a lovely ocean view  Back view shows casita off patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious private grounds with a lovely ocean view  Back view shows casita off patio
A beautiful ocean view and cool breezes A large veranda provides a great eating space with ocean view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Spacious private grounds with a lovely ocean view  Back view shows casita off patio
A beautiful ocean view and cool breezes
A large veranda provides a great eating space with ocean view
A complete kitchen with 2 refrigerators, washer dryer, everything you need to prepare a great meal.
This sunny full bath is located in the main cottage
Living room has flat screen tv, Roku with netflix, etc. and free WIFI
Our comfortable master bedroom provides a king bed and A/C
The cozy second bedroom holds a queen bed and A/C
Our private casita has a full bed and full bath plus A/C
A secluded back patio great for BBQing
beautiful grounds
Our lily garden blooms year round
Our lawn is private and surrounded by woods
back lawn is edged by woods and a river on two sides
lush landscaping
side yard
To quickly access the beach - you will walk through the gate and turn left up the road
To the beach!!!!
Walk across the field and you are there!!!
The lagoon is at the base of the hill
The beach out front is great for sandy walks and beach combing!!!
When the surf is up the waves are fantastic  and surfers might be seen.
Looking across the field and watching a sailboat drift by
This is our local herd of wild horses on their daily visit to graze in the field next to the cottage
Daily view from the veranda
When in blossom - our bottle brush tree by the casita is alive with hummingbirds
YES - We have flowers - -
and there is always a flower in bloom somewhere on the property!
front lawn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
crazyches...
Concord, NH
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well equipped rental house with an ocean view and barking, barking, barking.”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I will start by saying I enjoyed my stay at this cottage. It is well equipped with kitchen-ware, sporting items such as boogie boards and snorkel gear(I always bring my own). There is an additional bunkhouse and grill so it would be a great location for large families. The place was clean and well secured. The deck is spacious and great for "zoning out". The yard is ample by Vieques standards in my opinion.
However, after your first day, you will definitely find the rental title of "Tranquility" at least ironic if not downright intended to amuse. The humane society dogs next door bark at the slightest whim and once a few start, the seemingly hundred plus canines all join the party which can at times sound like the biggest dogfight you can imagine. I'm an animal lover and did actually visit the shelter where I got to hear them "first-hand" which was deafening causing me to wonder how the ladies working there can still hear anything at all . To be fair, even in Esperanza, dogs are allowed to roam in packs or bark incessantly chained to gates so it was not a deal breaker for me and it was a nice change of pace to stay on the north side of the island. Gloria was very accommodating after a winter storm delayed us and was very easy to communicate with as our plans had became more and more fluid.
FYI: The "beach" is close, just a short walk from the house, but beach areas on the north side of the island are far more rugged than the south.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and Deck
Liked least: Noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meetthebe...
Brevard, North Carolina
1 review
“PERFECT place to relax”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We LOVED our stay at Tranquility by the Sea and will definitely be staying again on our next visit. The house was perfect for our family, small child and in-laws. Gloria, the owner, was very responsive and helpful with booking. The house was equipped with everything we needed from pots and pans for cooking, to beach towels, beach chairs, coolers, beach toys for our little one, basic snorkel gear and much more. The view is wonderful with an easy walk to the beach- great for hunting sea glass. The only downside was being so close to the animal shelter. We have dogs so the noise did not both us. The yard was gorgeous. We highly recommend anyone looking for a nice relaxing place to stay to check out Tranquility by the Sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benannasp...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“A Place of Your Own”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Gloria was wonderful to work with. She was quick to respond to our requests. She met us at the rental and asked us to call her with any needs or concerns.

The rental is just as it is described. The kitchen is well stocked with pots, pans, dishes, spices and the essentials-blender and coffeemaker. The bedrooms are comfortable and clean. The seperate casita was a nice option to have to give everyone their space. The living room sat six of us comfortably. The porch was my favorite place. There is nothing visually between you and the ocean. You can hear and see the waves easily.

The location was one mile out of town. Just enough space to get away, but close enough to run in for anything you wanted. The only downside was the Humane Society. The dogs barked often, but it wasn't as bad as it seems. I was able to overlook the barking dogs. The solitude of seeing people made up for it. The rental is located down a small road. There is nothing visually between the home and the ocean. You can sit on the porch and see and hear the waves easily. Further down the road from the unit is a small home that wasn't occupied and an Equestrian Center that was not being used. Horses walked down the road and added to the beauty of the location. You can get to the ocean by an easy two minute walk. We found sea glass and shells by walking to the right on the beach and friendly people by walking to the left on the beach.

Overall, we would rent this unit again. The space fit our family well. Our family of six never felt cramped. Having a fenced in lawn for the kids to explore and run around in was wonderful. Having the beach a bit away from the rental, kept my kids from wandering to the water alone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Not seeing people
Liked least: The barking dogs
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terenovel...
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Lovely home away from home”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I stayed in this lovely home for 6 days with 5 friends. The house and the smaller house out back were lovely, clean, secure and well-stocked with everything you might need from cooking at home to chairs and flippers for the beach. Gloria, the owner, was super communicative and available for any questions that arose during our stay. The house is located near Isabel Segunda which I prefer to the more touristy town of Esperanza. I rented a car which I think is a necessity if you stay here (really a must if you want to check out all of the beautiful island). There were a/c's in all the rooms which was awesome and also helped to completely drown out the regular dog barking that goes on at specific intervals throughout the day at the Humane Society across the way. We all loved the place and would most definitely want to stay here again. Thank you Gloria for a lovely stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana B
Crofton, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfy, cozy, well furnished and very convenient”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from a wonderful trip to Vieques. The house was perfect for our family of five (3 boys - 17, 15, 11). Tranquility by the Sea strikes the right balance for people who want a comfortable, spotlessly clean home base for their visit. High ceilings, ceiling fans throughout, easy to keep clean tiled floors, lots of windows and plenty of spots to park tired bodies are all there. We thoroughly enjoyed the two beaches in front of the house (to the left is great for sea glass collecting and wading; to the right was sandier swimming) and used them each day. Do remember to bring water shoes, the beach is a bit rocky and there are sea urchins nestled in the little nooks and crannies. But, if you forget, as we did, just head down to Blackbeard's in Isabel Segunda for a reasonably priced pair ($16).

Gloria is a helpful, patient owner who has done a good job of anticipating the needs of her renters. Marcel and her friend, William, are generous-hearted gems who greeted us at the ferry, ferried us to the house and to the car rental company and showed us how to find the house. Marcel stayed with our sons at the house for the close to 45 minutes it took for us to get our car and return to the house and showed the boys all around.

Yes, you are across from the Humane Society and the dogs do bark occasionally. But, really, unless a little canine noise bothers you excessively, it isn't a problem. If the noise did get too loud for you, all you would need to do is turn on one of the window a/c units and you wouldn't hear them at all. Gloria's preparations for her renters go above and beyond and she provides all the necessary contact info you might need for the Humane Society.

We opted for the ferry over the airplane to Vieques and had an easy time of it. The $18 for our family of five to travel roundtrip ($2/person over 12; $1/11 and under) far outweighed the one hour delay we had when we left Fajardo for Vieques. Still, we had time over cash and the locals we spoke with did say universally that the airplanes are far more reliable.

Must do's: Biobay tour with Vieques Adventures (transparent canoe-kayak hybrids are the ONLY way to see the gorgeousness), snorkeling with Captain Judy of SeaVieques (probably the best money we spent on side trips) and, if there are fisherfolk in your crew, contact Captain J of Amity Charters (well-seasoned captain, knows the island and is a font of useful information!).

Oh yeah, don't miss at least one dinner and sunset at Al's Mar Azul. A scrupulously clean "dive" bar which serves tasty food, beautiful sunsets in an environment which simultaneously welcomes families, expats and others seeking a rum punch with a punch and a tasty frozen concoction!

Now that Southwest has direct flights from Baltimore to San Juan - we will be back!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: I didn't get to see a hummingbird! But I watched iguanas eat flamboyan flowers!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing