We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fine dining restaurant in old San Juan ”

Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 04/17
20:00
Ranked #1 of 1 107 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$109
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fortaleza Street
Transit: Bus Station is located only two blocks from the center of San Juan where Marmalade is located
Description: We have temporarily modified our operating hours to remain compliant with new restrictions on alcohol consumption while offering new and return guests the chance to enjoy our extensive wine list and tasting menus daily Monday thru Sunday. Monday thru Sunday we also offer delivery or take out. Visit our website for online shopping. Marmalade serves tasting menus 3,4,5,or 6 courses. Guests are allowed to select their own course thus creating an individualized tasting menu. Each tasting menu at the table may be different. We don't offer a Ala Carte format for dining. Groups of 6 people or more will be invited to taste Chef's seasonal tasting menu of 15 courses. Dress appropriately please no sandals in the restaurant.
Reviewed 27 February 2021 via mobile

I’ve been to Marmalade many times and for different occasions (solo, business, couple and friends) and always enjoyed the quality of the food and service.
For being a fine dining restaurant, the portions are usually pretty big, once we ordered the four course dinner and couldn’t almost finish it.
The cocktails and wine selection is excellent, too.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank veronicaa541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (4 840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 4 840 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2021

As a group of 6 people, we were concerned with the ability to experience great dining amidst the pandemic. We were celebrating 2 birthdays and reserved Marmalade based on TA reviews, pictures, critics' reviews, and the restaurant's website. I was slightly concerned about the deposit amount and called to discuss menu options etc. They were absolutely wonderful in addressing the dietary restrictions of one of my friends.
In fact, Marmalade did not disappoint. As we entered a beautifully decorated sparkling clean lobby, COVID-adopted with alcohol/ mask reminders, and were greeted by a beautiful hostess, our servant immediately led to what felt like a private room (there are many niche-like spaces to hold bigger parties safely). We were told about the restaurant's history and invited to a chef-selected sampling menu. The waiter and floor manager ensured we loved every dish (and we did) throughout the evening and offered extras until we were exhausted. My personal highlights were creative Moroccan ahi tuna tartar, horseradish Milonga gnocchi, and the legendary White Bean and Truffle Soup. As they recognized this was quite an excitable group of foodies, we promptly received a card with the soup's recipe and another trip back in history to soup being the original menu item. As the time came for dessert, our votes were split equally between the three. The entire experience felt like we were being welcomed to an old friend's house, and as we were walking out the door at restaurant closing, our waiter ( I am so sad to have forgotten the name, Javier maybe?) stopped in his car to say goodbye and thank us again for visiting. This was our 2nd day in San Juan, but truly a highlight for the entire trip, and a high bar for the Caribbean dining experience.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank medmom2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2021 via mobile

What a gem in San Juan, PR!! This restaurant was incredible. It was literally a dining experience! The menu is a tasting menu so you can either choose four, five or six courses. We chose 5 and we had one pairing with wine. Every dish was a taste sensation and the wait staff told us about everything as they put it on the table. Everything was delicious. I had thought at first that they would just choose the dishes for you but that is not the case. You choose each of your courses from an extensive list of 2 appetizer sections, an entree section and a dessert section of the menu. The ambience of the restaurant was such great vibes and the wait staff was so educated and friendly. They totally adhered to Covid guidelines. Even with the plastic partitions between tables the decor of the restaurant was fabulous. I would make Marmalade a must for your trip to Puerto Rico (not with kids though).

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2021 via mobile

If you visit San Juan, get a reaervation here and then order the tiny white bean soup!
I could end there, but every bite of every dish we ordered was a flavor explosion...more like an escalation of flavors rising through the palate.
Eat here!
Get the white bean soup!
We went 2/15, had Christina as our server and she was spectacular and full of information about the food and all of the dishes, the chef, Puerto Rican food and the local scene.
We had the tasting menu so between us we had 10 dishes, 8 of which were different.
We could describe each and every dish all the way to the sesame covered ice cream in the brulee to the cinamon roll covered in homemade bing cherry ice cream...but yiu should go and visit.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank Redville77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2021 via mobile

Simply put, Marmalade boasts the most impressive, jaw-dropping food, staff, and dining experience. The chef sent our table complementary truffle bean soup (10/10), a must try. We ordered the pork belly, tuna tartare, and chocolate cake. The food was stellar. On top of that, Priscila was hands down one of the best waitresses we’ve ever had. She went above and beyond to ensure the best time (both inside the restaurant and outside, as she gave us recommendations for things to do in Puerto Rico.) It was absolutely magical and completely worth the hype. Please do yourself the favor and go.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Michael-Meadows-Smit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.