We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
450
214
42
17
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
450
214
42
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nanny service vacation nanny adult activities kids buffet the grill extra set wonderful nanny ball pit kids club two bedroom suite bring white glass bottom boat teen coordinator kids center tie dye goat relaxing family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 738 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We loved our vacation last year so much we chose to return to FDR this summer. It was better than before. The customer service here is 100%. Everyone is so kind. Our nanny is an amazing person and made our week perfect. The dining and bar staff are so attentive, friendly, and very pleasant. The lifeguards are the best!

The grounds looked especially pretty and well maintained and the Jacuzzi area had been updated since we last visited.

The menus had been updated and every meal was beautifully presented and served and tasted delicious. There are adult only dining options which was nice, but you never felt like you could not have a nice dinner with your children. There is also live entertainment each night.

We 100% recommend this resort for families.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bzzz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

My spouse & I recently had the pleasure of staying at FDR. We were attending a family wedding reception here. I am a travel consultant of almost 30 years & was familiar with FDR, but had never experienced the property for myself. I was aware that their repeat guests are at an amazingly high percentage (which speaks for itself), but WOW! We thoroughly enjoyed our time here! In fact, in hind sight - we wished we had booked a longer stay! I was aware that FDR offered amazing nanny service with my guests stay, & because our kids are grown (in their 20's & not with us for this trip) I admit we were both curious if we would enjoy ourselves or perhaps feel more like two adults in a sea of kids & families. Well..the only sea we enjoyed was the blue waters surrounding us! (one day we literally sat at the end of the dock in the two chairs provided, just listening to the tropical breeze & the sea for almost an hour!) Remember those nannies I mentioned? They were taking such great care of the guests children that those adult parents were either off site enjoying the amazing island, snoozing at the next door beach, or relaxing by the pool. Yes it's popular for families, but as two adults with no children, we really enjoyed our time here too! Quiet pool & beach days, top shelf liquor, huge rooms, excellent service, and the food was great! I love when a resort incorporates the local foods with their menu, but can still please those that may not want to try Jamaican food. (but please do try the Jamaican food...amazing!) They did a fabulous job of offering both, and everything we had was amazing! So, in conclusion - will I send my clients with small and all aged children here - DEFINITELY! However, if that family with kids has a couple of friends w/o children - bring them too!! Because the kid free adults get to have a great, relaxing time as well. The parents of small children that may not get that break to hang out like they used to, will get that here! It's not often you get to experience that at an all inclusive resort. We're not talking a "kids club". It's more like - 2 couples w/ no children & the couple with kids can go off and enjoy themselves because their children are in the qualified loving care of a trained nanny. If you want a truly relaxing vacation (with or without kids) in an authentic Jamaican atmosphere - FDR is for you!
We will be back, and we will likely not have any kids with us on the next trip either :)
Thanks FDR, keep doing what you're doing!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tracyj_EMVaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from our trip to FDR in Jamaica. It was a wonderful experience. I can not say enough about how wonderful the staff is. With it being a small place you get to know everyone at the resort while you are there. Captain Arnie was a great guide. We had a great time every time we got on the boat with him. Shantel was our nanny. She provided helpful information about the area and did a great job making sure we had plenty of snacks in the room for the kids. She also took great care or our two while we were away. We felt safe the entire time we were there which was something I worried about. The resort is an older building, but has been very well maintained and is very clean! Great job FDR!!! I highly recommend this place!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Candice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trishawana D, Director of Sales at Franklyn D. Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you sharing this amazing Review!

We are happy that you had a safe and wonderful experience with your family and you were satisfied with the customer service you received on vacation. It is good to read that your Nanny Shantel was an ideal fit for your family and took great care of your kids.

We appreciate the high recommendations and look forward to hosting your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

This place has many positives and a few negatives. Overall we enjoyed our stay and had a positive experience.

PROS:
1. The nannies. Our nanny was amazing. Her name was Tameka and I strongly encourage you to request her if you stay. She loved on my 22 month old and took exceptional care of her. All the nannies are willing to stay late (they operate from 8:30 to 4:30) but it is $12.00 USD per hour. We had Tameka stay late pretty much every night and it really made the trip.

2. The Staff. The staff were all amazing. They were always there to help out and address any concerns we had. Super friendly and any special requests were quickly accommodating.

3. Super Kid Friendly. You never had to worry about your kid being in the way or any issues. You have highchairs at all the restaurants (that allow kids), the staff interacts with the kids and the menu can accomodate kids. In addition, they have kids dinner at 5:30 where all the kids get together and eat from a special menu.

4. Pool. The pool was great. It had two slides and was a great size where all the kids could hang out and play. You also had the bar right there and a ton of chairs so it was great for parents to watch their kids and relax. Also the lifeguards there were top notch.

5. Diving. Diving is extra but Juicy who runs the dive shop is the best dive instructor I have ever had. Super patient, kind, and very laid back. My wife and I did two dives with him and loved it.

Activities: The have lots of activities for kids. They had a crab race, bingo, boat rides, fishing, kids center, tye dye among many other things. It was great to know that the kids had something to do. They also have adult activities as well which were quite fun.

Indifferent:
The Beach. Their beach is tiny. They do a great job of keeping it clean, ensuring there are kids toys available, and even have a lilly pad in the middle of the ocean. However, it is very small section. It didn't matter in our case because my daughter loved it but just something to be aware.

Room Layout: We got a two room ocean view. The room was fine. Clean, not very updated or lavish but definitely clean, inviting, and had a nice balcony. The big thing was to get to our bedroom you had to go through the other bedroom where our baby was sleeping. This made it very inconvenient when coming in late at night. You had the opportunity to wake up the baby and the poor nanny had to either sit in total darkness or keep the baby up.

Cons:
The Food. This was probably the biggest thing for us. The food was very hit or miss. Our first night there they had Italian night and it was horrible. They then had a French night (for foodies was on the program) and it wasn't horrible but it wasn't good. However, the fish, and Jamaican food was excellent. They did a barbecue one night where lobster was served and it was the best lobster I have ever had. If they could be consistent on the food quality it would definitely get them to 5 stars.

Alcohol Selection: The wine selection is horrible. You have a choice between white or red and they are both very cheap bad wines. They only had one beer selection and it was Red Stripe. The main bar by the pool had a choice of about 8 mixed drinks and then you had to get creative after that. Overall, you could figure something out but you didn't have a good selection for wine at dinner and no other beer choices.

Excursions: They offer excursions. From what I have been told they are pretty good too. However we were there from Tuesday through Sunday and there were no excursions going out except for shopping in Ocho Rios (which ended up being a bust. Small shopping center and a market area.) . We could of done private excursions but nothing resort led. It wasn't a huge deal but we would of done some excursions if we had the opportunity.

Overall:
Overall if you have kids, want to relax, and are willing to take advantage of the Nanny then this is a good way to do it. We never felt scared leaving our kid with our nanny and it allowed us to dive and get some one on one time with the wife and I. Just realize it is a small resort (which isn't a bad thing) so if you want to go out and do tons of things then you might be disappointed.

Room Tip: Garden Rooms get much less light so your kid wont' wake up at 5:00am every day.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vikram N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trishawana D, Director of Sales at Franklyn D. Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

It was a pleasure hosting your family at FDR from April 17-22, 2018. Thank you for all the positive feedback about your nanny Tameka, our staff and our amenities. We are happy that you had an overall good experience.

We are delighted to read that your daughter enjoyed the small beach cove. There is also an extended beach to the Eastern side of the property available to all our guests who prefer a bigger beach-its goes up to a mile. We hope on your next visit you will be able to utilize this beach access.

We are committed to achieving more consistency in our food offerings. We are disappointed that you did not find the Italian and French Nights to your liking. We will endeavor to do better. We are currently in the process of revamping our Italian Menu Options.

We alternate between the Red and White house wine selections such as Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Vivo Blanco from Spain as well as Pinot Grigio and Merlot from France. Our records indicate that there were no other complaints during your stay about the wine.

We value your review and will use your comments to make improvements to the FDR holiday.

We anticipate your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Lovely place for families. All-inclusive. Includes a roundtrip shuttle via Jamaica Tours Ltd (JTL) - look for their sign after you leave customs. The shuttle would otherwise cost something like $100 for one person and maybe $25 per person after that. Bring US dollars with you, esp smaller bills (ones, fives for tipping). The ATM in the airport customs area dispenses US dollars for some reason and charged me $6 for a $100 withdrawal (I thought I would be withdrawing $100 worth of Jamaican money and was obviously disappointed).

Good internet speed/access on property and in room. As you might expect, gift shop has price markups - 8 ounce bottle of sunblock in US you might spend $8 for, is $16.80 - bring your own, and lots of it! Fitness center decent, though stationary bikes look like they're in rough shape. Small resort, but very personable - lots of kid and family activities. They tie-dye every day - bring your own white tshirts, because these cost $8.50 in the gift shop. Other activities: tennis, bracelet making, kids club with computer games. Nanny service is great - our kids usually take time warming up to someone new, but they just went with Coretta and had a great time. We thought maybe we'd just utilize the service for 2-3 hours a day to do an activity and have lunch. Be prepared - the nannies are ready to take your children from 830-440, with an hour off for lunch at 1230-130, and the kids have a great time. If you're not comfortable with letting them go for this long, we saw other families have the nanny accompany them to places like the beach, where the parents were nearby but relied on the nanny to keep the kids safe near/in the water.

Don't need Jamaican dollars at the resort, US money accepted in addition to Mastercard. I'm sure other cards as well.

Lots of water activities and gear included: snorkeling, kayaking, glass bottom boat ride. Can do scuba trips, but costs extra - the small dive shop leaves right from FDR, and they'll do refresher, open and advanced open water dives. We paid $286 for a two-tank dive and refresher. Beach is small, but you're allowed access to the Jewel Resort beach next door from 7am-6p, which is large.

They run a free shuttle to Ocho Rios twice a week. We went on Saturday at 1030. It's advertised as a shopping trip but you end up at two strip malls full of souvenir shops seemingly all owned by southeast Asians trying to sell cheap knick knacks, tshirts, Jamaican rum, and imported precious gems. At the second stop we left the mall and crossed the street - did this on our own as it was not part of the trip - this was more of the craft market experience we wanted, with Jamaicans selling wood carvings, paintings, handmade toys/jewelry, reggae music on CDs, and offers to braid hair.

Awesome place - just know that it's smaller than other resorts, more personable (they get to know your food and drink preferences pretty quickly), very cozy, has a wonderful staff, awesome nanny service, and we'll return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank group2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews