We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Island Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
2 bedroom cottage..70$us/nite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
2 bedroom cottage..70$us/nite
blue lagoon/san san area long bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
2 bedroom cottage..70$us/nite
blue lagoon/san san area
long bay
port antonio
reach falls
rio grande..
upstairs bedrooms sunrise
our new grounds manager...
entrance to mango ridge
roof deck harbor view cottage
rio grande rafting..
monkey island near lighthouse..
folly penninsula near lighthouse
view from bamboo cottage
coconut water..air mail express..
roof deck harbor view..fish pond now papaya garden...
sunrise cottage
public courtyard..mango ridge
sunrise cottage
sunrise cottage
verandah..bamboo cottage..60$ nite
security guards
sunrise cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Port Antonio, Portland Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
DimplesPa...
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Island Perfection”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I only stayed at Mango Ridge one night while me and fiance were making our road trip around the island but this was by far our favorite place we stayed. We will definitely be planning on coming back and staying a much longer time. Its high up in the hills, which means the air is nice and cool with a breeze. With lovely views that are to die for. It was so very peaceful. Even my fiance who is a Native Jamaican mentioned me would love to even live there. I would recommend these cottages to anyone from anywhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costafric...
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Real Island Living”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Michael (Owner), met up with us on the main road, with backpack and bike, and guided us to the foot of the hill to where we met the 300+ staircase of lush local coconut trees and tropical foliage: Mango Ridge. (Don't let that number scare you, by the time we left we were running up and down! It's also well lit :) and trains you to enjoy the slow island life.)

We first stayed in the "Tree-House", highest of all the cottages. Colourful calm, private and clean! There was enough room to house a full-sized family. From up above, we enjoyed the rhythms all around us from the landscape to ocean views and rooster's calls to the evening music of the neighborhood - it was all good and we were as close to heaven as one could get. What I loved the most were the friendly neighbors that made our experience living in a small town, most memorable.
Additional info on the suite: full kitchen and cooking supplies, mosquito nets, outdoor dining area, bbq, indoor and outdoor shower, and radio. We were lent kayaks and was guided by Robin (a local and property manager of Mango Ridge). Major Bonus: You get a great breeze at night because you're so high up so no need for AC! Within walking distance there was a corner store, a bar, grocery stores, small local eateries, goats and chickens. Just a short drive away are excellent places to swim and spend the day jumping off cliffs!

We ended up back at Mango Ridge for a second time that same trip because our first time wasn't enough! This Cabin was more our size, it was in between the highest and the lowest cabin. Bachelor sized. Again: clean, colourful, kitchen, bbq, shower and toilet, also cool at night. This spot was perfect for us the second time since were only there for two nights.

Mango Ridge is situated in the quiet and low-key town of Port Antonio. We stuck around long enough to make friends, learn how to play dominos (proper) and take home memories. I highly recommend doing the same.

Michael is a graceful, down to earth, and generous man who takes excellent care of his community and dwellings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Owner, he kept a respectable and welcoming place to visit.
Liked least: bugs at night.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nidhimali...
Manipal, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Little paradise on the hill”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This place is an absolute delight! Breathtaking view of the sea from the cottages, beautiful climb up the stairs (through the trees), very basic yet comfortable cottages. We loved Mike's hospitality and almost everything about this place. If given another chance, I would def. come back and stay here. Strongly recommended!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dakarblue...
Babylon, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Errol Flynn's view and local charm!!! (brandon and D)”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What could I possibly write about my experiences over the years at mango ridge in port antonio.... What is up that mountain deep in that bamboo jungle is an oasis that most people think in their lifetime they will never get to experience. However, what mango ridge has to offer is beyond breathtaking. The worlds great authors and hollywood stars based their entire creative minds from views like this (errol flynn, ian flemming to name a couple). This kind of beauty is what you want when you come to jamaica. Hundreds of feet above sea level after a climb of what look and feel like an ancient stairway to heaven, there are; exotic Polynesian fruits (otaheti apple), bamboo, jungle trees, coconut, wild cerasee tea, and a some breathtaking living quarters all with views straight down to the famous folly oval and many other landmarks. With michael and his family you never have to worry about having a real friend close by. These are seasoned dominoes people so betta you careful with them! I am at a loss of words with the beauty and hospitality in what I think might be coolest city in Jamaica to be. It is laid back, and you can get anywhere on the island from Porty. Bless!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharif M
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jungle Love”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I approve all praise above & below! Michael and his Mango are diamonds in the jungle. My girlfriend and I stayed in the top cottage (hike requires entry-level fitness) and it felt like a tree house! We landed in Port Antonio by bus. The main street is currently undergoing sewage revamping & city works, so it should remain chaotic until 2016. A 10-minute walk brought us to Michael's well-hidden Mango Ridge and it's another 5 mins walk up stone steps to the top cottage, which had a beautiful view of PA's East Bay. Room was clean with high-speed Internet, up there in the mountains! Mike is a super cool dude and gave us tons of suggestions. We had dinner at his place on the last night, with super conversations. He has built an interesting life and one of Jamaica's gems in hospitality & ecological immersion. If you plan on visiting Port Antonio, the Mango Ridge is a must. Don't hesitate before someone steals this place! You'll be surrounded with coconuts, cacao, banana & fruit trees of all kinds, jungle sounds & smells. An overflow of sensory freshness. Sharif

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing