We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 000)
Filter reviews
1 000 results
Traveller rating
818
130
28
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
818
130
28
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock cottage south house long house pine pillar rhodesian ridgebacks razor blade garden cabin ras rody massage hut the cliff continental breakfast is sea grape jump off yogurt waves crashing air conditioning front office
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 1 000 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This was our second trip to west end Negril, first time at Tensing Pen. We have been many place and as soon as we were settled I knew this is one of the few I would return to.

We stayed in the Rock Cottage 2 which has the most wonderful 180 degree view of the ocean. The room was perfect with a king bed, desk, fridge and nightstands and the closet had plenty of space to actually unpack. The bathroom does not have a tub but that is not an issue for us. We didn’t have the hottest of water but it was warm enough. Housekeeping was great and very quick; we never ran into them.

I loved that there were so many beautiful places to sit on lounge chairs under umbrellas and no one saves spots early in the morning. We sat in different spots most days and loved each one. The cliffs are so fun to jump off of though we didn’t get the courage to jump from the bridge this time. There are lifeguards around the property which is nice.

The food is good. Once I sampled the banana and pineapple pancakes for breakfast I was hooked. We had lunch all days and really enjoyed the jerk chicken pizza and shrimp salad. The food is pretty slow but the view is so fabulous it goes by quickly. We also enjoyed dinner there twice. The menu isn’t huge but everything we had we great. We had Saskia and Calene several times and they were both always pleasant. Prices are reasonable but there is a 10% tax and 10% service charge added on as well (though that seems to be in all of Negril).

Overall, I have no true complaints and really hope to return in the future.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kimp325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie P, Director of Sales at Tensing Pen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear friends,

We appreciate your lovely review, thank you for posting it. Thank you for taking the time to highlight all the nice things about Tensing Pen. First and foremost, it is our warm and welcoming staff that makes our resort a home away from home.
Hope to see you next year, in good health,

~ One Love ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We had 4 nights at Tensing and it was great. The setting is beautiful and we were happy to spend our time between chilling out and enjoying the sun, with occasional adrenaline from jumping into the sea. We had the bungalow which was decorated with character. Everything worked well but we weren’t super keen on the open plan toilet…
We ate sometimes at the hotel restaurant, sometimes out, but we found the food to be very reasonably priced and good quality. We didn’t understand why they charge for anything above a very basic breakfast but that’s how it is and it wasn’t a lot to pay for very good food.
The staff really took super good care of us and helped us sort out a problem with a package we were having delivered. We found customer service standards in Jamaica to always be good but especially at Tensing.
We did get the odd mosquito in our room so it’s worth getting them to spray it afternoon or evening.
Overall we loved it and would return for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JonnyC000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie P, Guest Relations Manager at Tensing Pen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Jonny,

It is such a pleasure to read your review. Thank you for taking the time to write and post it. Our staff goes above and beyond to ensure our guests feel welcome and well taken care of. Glad you enjoyed yourselves!

~ One Love ~

PS: we aren't sure what you mean about the "open plan toilet"...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We recently had a great dinner experience here. the food, service and ambiance were just perfect. We were 3 adults + 2 kids (9 + 11) . The wine list was fairly priced w/ good selections and the food was well prepared, with excellent service by the staff. You can hear the waves crashing just below....can't wait to come back!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Hopecooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie P, Guest Relations Manager at Tensing Pen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Hope,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are glad you and your family enjoyed Tensing Pen and the Lodge Restaurant.
We hope you come back again, in good health!

~ Love and Respect ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

There’s very little to report negatively about this resort. Some accommodations are on the pricey side, we paid 3000.00 for 8 days which is about middle of the road here.
The resort sits at the “West End” of Negril, walking distance from the famous Rick’s Cafe (I’ll review that later). The resort is very lush/natural and in my opinion well kept. We stayed in the south pillar which sits directly on the ocean with a birds eye view of the bridge that everyone loves to jump from. The pillars (south/middle/north) do not have air conditioning except for fans but during our stay, we didn’t find that we needed air.
Staff our welcoming and friendly. A special shout out to Racine, Splinter and Mikey who engaged us in interesting conversation and had a smile and helpful attitude every day. Beezy, the resident Rhodesian Ridgeback, did her part to help us from missing our pups
The “Lodge” restaurant serves up a pretty good complimentary continental breakfast daily, eggs/omelets and ackee are also available to purchase. We did not have lunch here but dinner twice. I would rate it a good 7/10 but certainly recommend venturing out to some of the other places that I will also review.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie P, Guest Relations Manager at Tensing Pen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Kim,

Thank you for your honest and kind review. We appreciate you choosing Tensing Pen for your Caribbean getaway and hope to see you with us soon!

~ One Love ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We just spent 5 days in the North Piller and really loved our stay at Tensing Pen! Ive stayed in the cliffs about 6 times and this resort was by far the nicest and most relaxing. Great spot to kick back and really enjoy the cliff life- cliff and Bridge jumping, swimming, lounging by the pool and doing a bunch of nothing at all. I will be booking with them again when I go next year and recommend this property to anyone.

Room Tip: The only thing I would change would be to try maybe try another room to see a different view. The north pillar was just a little too close to the kitchen area but was really an amazing stay and room. The view was tremendous in the N. Piller though!!
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pathfinder753231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie P, Guest Relations Manager at Tensing Pen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear guests,

It warms our hearts to know you’ve enjoyed yourself so much, you’ll be coming next year. At Tensing Pen, we proud ourself to offer an intimate place where Life is Simple.
In hopes of seeing you in good health next year, thank you!

~ One Love ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews