We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10 733)
Filter reviews
10 733 results
Traveller rating
3 865
3 637
1 787
810
634
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3 865
3 637
1 787
810
634
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jerk hut deluxe side sports bar jerk chicken main buffet junior suite specialty restaurants dunns river every other day gourmet restaurant towel cards a la cartes entertainment staff michael jackson show ocean view nightly shows quiet pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 10 733 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2021

The room was good, satisfied. The Entertainment team is great especially Zoey, she found out my name and let me feel good for the 5 days I was there, she never forget me, even on the day I was leaving she big me up by the pool side, one day the callaloo was hard, thast all, It was my birthday and the house keeper went all out by decorating my room, I really felt special. always love the RIU

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladypinks01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Ocho Rios, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

Dear Guest,

Happy belated birthday!

We truly appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. Thank you so much for your positive review on Tripadvisor!

It is wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy your time here at the Hotel Riu Ocho Rios and it is always a pleasure to read about our remarkable staff and the provided hospitality.

Please come visit us again next time you are in Jamaica!

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2021

Food was terrible including the specialty restaurants; no rotation served the same things everyday all three meals. Not to mention food always cold. Resort has no lighting at night, phone doesn’t work, they give you minimum ac so you’ll be hot. Pool shuts down at 6. No amenities in the room. No drinks or snacks in room. Would not stay here again. The Jamaican women are rude and have bad attitudes. We pay gratuity but they always begging for tips that are not deserving. Customer service and reception never answer the phone. I give them zero star

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank WanettalovingGo... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Ocho Rios, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us this valuable feedback

Our goal is to provide wonderful memories, and we sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you have come to expect from our hotel.

On our website, and anywhere you can book our hotel we do indicate that in order to meet each country’s hygiene requirements, there may be some changes to each hotel’s services or facilities and amenities that differ from what is described. We hope you can understand that all the changes that may occur are only to ensure our customers’ health, wellbeing and peace of mind. There is nothing more important these days.

Certainly, it is never our intent to have a guest leave and feel unsatisfied with the stay, and apologize for any inconvenience. We can assure you this is not the norm as we pride ourselves in maintaining very high standards.

For this reason, we take these matters very seriously, and your opinion is important to us. Please know that your comments are being addressed with our team and additional steps will be taken to ensure we are doing all we can to serve our guests.

We would wish another opportunity to better serve you on a return visit. We would like to re-earn your trust, and know we can.

Kind regards

Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021

I like the room, it had a huge balcony, location was great , liked the look of the Hotel , staff was very friendly and the hotel was very clean. Pools were nice with lots of shade but at the quiet pool.. The beach is nice with a lot of beach chairs and shade. Its also a huge plus that you can do the covid test for free at the hotel. (The Bad)They have an app to request anything you need but don't rely on it, you get notified that the issues are resolved but it wont be so it took me 2 days to get the things I requested for the room and During my entire stay I didnt have a working room phone because they just did'nt bother to fix it so I gave up asking. The bathroom was a long walk and the music sucked by the pools ..good thing I brought my own boom box!! They stopped filling up the mini-Bar(BOOOOO) so now you have to go to the sports bar a nd try get what you need for the night and they don't have much options either. Food was ok, i'm not impressed at all... limited options and they dont even have A1 Steak Sauce at the steak house...waiter never heard of it so he gave Heinz Steak sauce & said its A1..LOL. I could'nt even get a Heineken, Redstripe Sorrel, Guiness or Dragon Stout..the options are so limited. The Blue Bamboo Restaurant next to the hotel made a good steam fish but the Jerk chicken & Pork wasn't up to par either. Dont even try to find paper towels in any of the paper towel holders...not sure why they installed them in the bathrooms to begin with. Its kinda lengthy but that's my experince!!

Room tip: I had Ocean View..I like it but it was a little far from the elevators.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TD_Travela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Ocho Rios, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Dear TD_Travela,

Thank you very much for choosing us and for sharing your review about your last stay.

From your review we understand that we have not been able to meet your expectations in all aspects. While we are truly pleased to learn you enjoyed the hotel´s prime location and cleanliness, the pool area, your room´s commodity and our staff members´ dedicated service, we are particularly concerned about your comments on the experience at the restaurants.

Rest assured that we will follow up on your words as we strive to improve our guest’s service as we would really like to welcome you back again!

Warm regards,

Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2021

So my sister recently got married here . The first day we got there, there was an issue with the rooms we were promised upgrades due to the package we had booked under. We didn’t get those upgrades. I understand this is a different country but there were bugs EVERYWHERE in the rooms we found some on our pillows
The staff were not accommodating at all say for instance I asked for something the answer was straight up NO, not let me see if there’s something else we can do just NO
I worked from desk and I am well aware of the hotel etiquette and they had NONE
Keep in mind this location is on the beach, when we went for dinner they refused me service telling me I could not enter the dining room with any sort of bathing suit on the staff also went on to say it’s ok to have a bathing suit on for breakfast and lunch but not for dinner. Fine. Got changed had dinner. Dinner isn’t authentic Jamaican food at all and is served at 6:30 so if you miss dinner they have pre made cold sandwiches which is warmed up in the microwave. The next morning I proceeded to get breakfast in my bathing suit and was refused service they even threatened to call security on me despite what was told to me the night prior. My sister asked for an extra blanket literally witnessed my cousin get her blanket first and my sister waited two hours to get hers. It wasn’t until I went to the front desk did they send up blankets. The rooms were muggy and had this really weird smell we literally had to wash everything we went to Jamaica with because it had a bad smell
My sister had a room where on the door by the lock it looks like someone tried breaking in with some sort of knife I’m assuming. There are barley any cameras in the hall which is a huge safety issue
We made the best of it because we were there for a joyous occasion but never have I ever experienced such horrible hospitality I will never not do I recommend anyone to go here it’s such a waste of money
That’s just SOME of the issues we had

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank BackPacker784401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Ocho Rios, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Riu Ocho Rios.

Due to the location of our hotel, which is surrounded by vegetation, the presence of insects is unfortunately inevitable. Allow us to inform you that we work hard to keep them under control, since our grounds have extensive garden areas. We fumigate continuously all areas to keep insects away from our grounds. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

At the same time, please know our goal is to provide a great experience for all visitors to the hotel, so that we are certainly sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay.

Please accept our apologies. We assure you these issues are not indicative of the high standards that we strive for, and for this reason we have immediately shared your feedback with our Management Team.

We do appreciate you staying with us and regret that we did not leave you with a positive impression. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2021 via mobile

What a great experience we had at the Riu Ocho’s Rios First of all the hotel is beautiful it is recently remodeled everything is brand new and sparkling clean the rooms are Spacious You will truly feel pampered coming here in perfect for couples and families this is an amazing all-inclusive resort that has around the clock service and food

Room tip: Don’t be too worried about locals that ask if you wanna buy some thing this is their way of income
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ciscos247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Ocho Rios, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2021

Dear Cisco,

Thank you so much for the compliments!

It is truly amazing to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay and we are pleased that our service and food were to your liking.

Your recommendation and feedback mean a lot to us and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon!

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews