We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$114
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$84
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa De Shalom(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lion House Jamaica(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue House Boutique Bed & Breakfast(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$175
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$114
US$111
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jamaica Inn(Ocho Rios)
US$460
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
86
57
23
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
57
23
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjerk centerthe security guardclose restaurantsprivate beach frontdvd playerbalcony overlooking the poolc unithome away from homesmall beach areathe wi filobby areaspent a weekliving roomprivate taxiking bedthe room was nicemontego bay
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The good stuff first. Location is good on N Coast highway about 2.5 miles east of Ocho Rios, on the coast side. It has about 24 maybe 30 rooms arranged in two wings both facing a moderate sized pool and common area leading towards the sea. The beach area is very modest and mainly stony with a breakwater close to shore as it is exposed to the predominant wind. Rooms are good /American sized with a cooking area + terrace.

The not so good. There is no management / reception staff on site. Security covers reception. Cleaners are not supervised and not thorough.. There is no bar or food offer + Wi-fi is in the small reception area only [8 - 10 places]. The décor is fair at best. Furniture and bed / bedding is a bit tired and shabby.

The Red flags are:
1. Safety – One hob of the electric cooker heaters was permanently on and hot enough to boil water. Staff knew all about it already! So no-one cares for guest safety.
2. Fire Extinguishers – Last filled / serviced in early 2012, the pressure gauge was well into the 'Recharge' zone.
3. Cleaning no better than a lick and a promise. Walls doors and lighting had long-term dirt on them and not properly cleaned when reported to cleaner
There are a lot of small hotels etc. nearby. So I am sure that I can find better accommodation at similar cost

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJ50505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

This is not a huge resort but it was very accommodating. It has a nice swimming pool and beach opening to the ocean that is private and kept very clean. A shallow inlet is great for kids, and the opening to the ocean beyond good for snorkeling. It rents the fully furnished condo apartments to tourists with a very helpful staff. We had cleaning as often as we wanted it and the places are, for the most part, tastefully furnished. They're large enough to relax in, and a restaurant and "corner store" directly across the road provided breakfasts and all the provisions that we needed. All in all, a good place at a reasonable price. Airport transportation can be arranged, but taxis into Ocho Rios were plentiful at $1.50 per person. Kitchenettes were fine and we saved a lot of money by staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the beach have a spectacular beach view.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank desertsage55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

This was my third time staying at this hotel, the first two times I have no complaints, this last trip was a disaster, when I checked into the hotel the hot water heater was not working, they had put a new hot water heater in the day before, but I guess it wasn't turned on, the light in the bathroom was out, one lightbulb was blown the other one was slightly working, The dining room table chairs was full of crumbs and sticky stuff, the living room table was dusty and dirty, the television stand dirty and dusty so was the television, you could write your name on the glass that how dirty it was, upstairs where the bed is, was a dirty pair of socks sticking out from under the bed, I guess that's also from the previous guess. After I complained to the owner Dulcia!! Via email, I also let the property manager know about it, The next day the manager and the maid was at the apartment fixing all the mess, the property manager was there to make sure it was being cleaned, in the living room they have a sofa bed, which is hard as hell to put out anyway, but the first two times I stayed at this place the sofa bed had sheets on it, this time it didn't, so I had the audacity to ask for sheets for it!!! The property manager was more than happy to give it to me, but when I email the owner, she says I should've asked for it before, which I didn't have to ask the first two times I stay there, I had to explain to her that I am a paying guest, so if I want to sleep downstairs on the sofa bed,because that's where the television is, I can do so because I paid for it, she emailed me back and said that's no problem, so I thought the situation was settled, I guess not, because when I emailed her to ask her for the password so I can use the Wi-Fi, she gave it to me, ( oh did I forget to mention that a few days later, I was getting ready to use the oven, & i found a dirty used pan in it) anyway what really got me mad, is her telling me I'm being unfair , after I thought everything was settled and done with but I guess not, this is what she sent to me. (Joan

Had you let me know before you arrive that you wanted to use the sofa bed the bed would have been made up

You are being unfair everything you asked for was written down by myself and the office staff on our booking reservation. Dulcia.)
I never ask her for anything, so after he sent me that I really got angry because any guess will expect a clean apartment when they check in, not dirty pans in the oven dirty tables, no lights in the bathroom, dirty chairs dirty sock sticking out from under the bed, Lamp in the living room when no lightbulb, did I get to mention that. So because I complain about the pan in the oven because that was the last straw, I guess The owner or her daughter call the maid, and I guess was yelling at her, so the maid turn around and lied that I had four extra people sleeping in my room, which was a lie, the security guy at the gate saw my family when they leave, The room was rented for two people, and one of my cousins slept over that night, I do Not owes these people nothing, but Jane, I guess she's the daughter had the nerve to send me a letter stating that I owe her $100 and somebody is coming up to the room to collect it as soon as possible, she done lost your goddamn mind, this is the letter Jane!! sent to me (Dear Ms. Shirley,

It has just been brought to my attention that you have 4 guests who stayed in the Apartment last night. The apartment was rented for 2 ppl, an additional person is US$25 per night.

Mr Whitehorn will be by the apartment shortly to collect us$100 from you and your guests and inform them that they will have to leave the apartment this morning. We are not insured for that amount of people in the event of an accident. I am sure you can appreciate this.

Jane Ziadie)

I guess when you check into a place and you find something wrong with it, you're not supposed to bring it to their attention. Had they not send me the stupid email about being unfair, or that I owe then money which I don't, I wouldn't of done this review I would have it go, but like I told the JANE I'm pissed off. Oh by the way, the explanation I got for why the place was dirty, was is because the day before the maid was preoccupied with them putting in the hot water heater/ electricity , so I guess that should excuse her for not doing her job.
Overall,the property manager is awesome all the security stuff is awesome the guy who cleans the property is awesome Marva the maid need to be retrained, I asked her not to go upstairs because all of my clothes and stuff was up there, and not to touch anything, and I know she's been up there. But I'm not going to get into that.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Jdubbw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisannsbeachresort, Owner at Chrisanns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

In response to your review I would like to thank you for choosing my apartment again.

I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced on your third visit to my
apartment. Unfortunately the water heater broke down the day before your arrival.
The day of your arrival the workmen worked late installing the new water heater.
Prior to your arrival the apartment is supposed to be inspected to make sure that
everything is perfect for your arrival, unfortunately this was not done.

We hope that you do not let this unfortunate isolated incident tarnish your opinion of this Resort. If you choose to come back for a 4th time we will be happy to extend your usual discounted rate along with a Complimentary night.

Chrisanns Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

My wife and I just returned from 8 wonderful days at Chrisanns. The property is clean and well kept. Spent a lot of time in the pool, almost all of the time we had it to ourselves. The beach front is small but great for a quick dip. It's also a good spot to do some snorkeling, or just sit and have a drink.
The appartment we had (#27) was very comfortable, with a nice little balcony overlooking the pool and the ocean. Everything in our apartment worked great, with no issues. Yes the WIFI doesn't exactly work inside the room, but I was able to get it on the balcony. But honestly, are you visiting Jamaica to spend time on Facebook and twitter??
The staff at Chrisanns as amazing! Simone, Marvia, Marvin, Byron, Rayjay, and Mrs. Brown were all incredibly friendly and helpful. A big part of what made our tip so lovely was this wonderful staff. Great people.
The location is a little outside of Ocho Rios (maybe 5 mins by car), but cabs go up and down the road all day/night long. Not very expensive to ride into town, sometimes as cheap as $250JA for the two of us, but it depends on your negotiating skills. If you need a hand the staff can help you out.
Directly across the road are three restaurants, Glenn's, and The Tower Jerk Center, and Marsh's (which we never ate at, but seemed more like a breakfast spot) We ate mostly at the jerk center. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. The beer was cold, and if you are fortunate you will get to meet Bill!
Also across the street is a little grocery shop with almost everything you might need, they will exchange small amounts of US$ into JA$ or vice versa. Above Marsh's is a local bar that plays dancehall music late into the night.
Chrisanns is a top choice place to soak up some positive Jamaican vibes.

Room Tip: Room 27 was a good one.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

I visited Chrisanns in March with my boyfriend for a quick vacation and I must say it was very cozy and we will definitely return. Bare in mind, all apartments are privately owned but this one, Apt 10 was truly cozy. The room offered a kitchen equipped with everything you need for all your kitchen needs. The location of the bedroom in my opinion was very "creative" :).. The room has a step out balcony with a view of the ocean (not a direct view but good enough for me). Cooling A/C unit, variation of limited cable channels, DVD player with the owners personal selection of DVDS. The only downside was the not so strong wifi that you could only get connection to while on the balcony. However, I recently received an email from the owner saying that she has updated the wifi connectivity so I'm looking forward to that for my next stay. Once you book this particular apartment, the owner will send you an extremely detailed email that is truly beneficial regarding the perks of the room, recommendations in the area, etc. The grounds are peaceful! In the morning we had coffee under the gabezo in the middle of the ocean on the beach! Breathtaking scenery honestly! Looking forward to my next stay

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank kawabonga96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tixxx, Owner at Chrisanns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear Kawabonga96

Thanks so much for your very kind and thoughtful review. I'm so glad to hear you both enjoyed yourselves. I'm looking forward to hosting you both again soon. The summer is already booked out for Apt 10, but from late August into September I'll have availability. Later in the year, the weather cools down in Jamaica, so that would be a great time for you to stay again, as the sea breezes are like a natural massage!
Best,
Marian Stewart Titus, Owner of Apt. 10

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews