We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$116
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chrisanns Beach Resort(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa De Shalom(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Columbus Heights(Ocho Rios)
US$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$284
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reggae Hostel Ocho Rios(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
Jamaica Inn(Ocho Rios)
US$426
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
108
111
28
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
111
28
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalmond treebreakfast was includedswinging barincluded in the room raterooms are cleanjamaican breakfastocean viewclose to townport antonioocho rios townackee and saltfishour honeymoonweddingreefgourmetbartender
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

4 nites in this Jamaica hotel in Ocho RISO,
A SMALL GEM IN OCHO. Small room ,but had a great balcony with a GREAT Vuitton. Staff was nice & helpfull ,lady that took care of are room was very sweet.pool area was nice ,ocean swimming area was nice tho the stairway was hard on this old man. A small 26 rooms hotel,no crowds,bar was nice,with a sweet bartender thanks.we had breakfast was included every mourning very good!!!!! I will be back!!!!!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have great vies.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, Manager at Hibiscus Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you Mike for taking the time to share your experience with us and posting these beautiful pictures. Everyone loves our free breakfast, we can't wait to have you back with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Some members of staff were friendly to all. Others were nice to the overseas visitors especially those who were not black. This was obviously what the group of four of us detected even without conferring with each other.

The food was the saltiest I have had since 2012 when I had to find the chef in another hotel to ask him to take it easy, as too much sodium in the diet spikes the BP. I noticed some persons from experience, had very little to eat and when I spoke with one senior citizen she explained that for the past two years she had been attending functions there and that is the practice. I call it bad practice.

I had been there a few weeks before but did not overnight. I would recommend the hotel but warn persons to watch the salt intake, travel with medication if you are prone to High B and heart disease and remember it is not an all inclusive ...so watch your pocket too.

Room Tip: I just stayed two nights so am not quite sure
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N9244XObrendas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, Manager at Hibiscus Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Brenda we are so sorry to hear about your experience. We have 0 tolerance for discrimination, and we hope you won't hesitate to contact management with your concerns on your next visit with us. We are eager to turn your experience around as this is a complaint we have never received. Our guests rave about our food as very tasty, perfectly spiced, with a variation of bold flavors. For our guests who do lessen their sodium intake from the regular would have to notify their waiter upon ordering. We appreciate you, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us; as we use it to continuously improve to better serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

The Hibiscus Lodge hotel was descent but not worth the money I spent. The staff at the restaurant did a good job & were the most pleasant. The local breakfast option is worth trying. The room I had was a garden/pool view with a balcony. The room was clean & some what spacious but very basic! The room did not have a phone, much toiletries, no hair dryer, fridge or microwave. The a.c. unit functioned enough to keep the room cool. Since I was there in January, it was not extremely hot & it rained a lot. So the room stayed cool at night & in the morning without the a.c. running. There was also a ceiling fan that helped keep the room breezy. I enjoyed the little balcony. They should consider updating the shower fixtures in those basic rooms. Shower head is not very functional. I had a chance to see an ocean view room. Wasn't impressive but better than the pool/garden view rooms. The ocean view rooms also had a couple more amenities. The hotel is not far from Dunns River Falls. Bottom line, don't think I would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kaylam001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, Manager at Hibiscus Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

We do not provide phones in our rooms as our hotel is tailored to be an escape from the outside world. Refrigerators are provided in most rooms and can be requested during booking at no additional cost. Also all our deluxe rooms are equipped with hair dryers. it sounded like you booked our basic standard room. We value your feedback and take it into serious consideration so we are better able to serve you. Please do not hesitate to contact management with any concerns you may have on your return with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

This hotel just got the best view and access to the sea. The bar is great for a sunset cocktail. The food at the restaurant is ok.
Rooms are clean and simple. The best is really the location and view!
1 night was too short!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank holidaydreamer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, Manager at Hibiscus Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you for describing us as your best hotel so far in Jamaica. The view here is to die for which I see you mentioned! We agree that 1 night was too short and we can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

We had a room overlooking the sea. The view as always fantastic. The bathroom had no place to put toiletries. We ended up moving a small table from the living area into the bathroom which was big enough and should have had some place to put ones things. The bathroom had insufficient hooks, etc. to hang wet bathings suits and beach towels. We ended up hanging the wet towels on the exterior railing but as soon as a strong wind came they fell off, once even onto the lower grass level. The bed was comfortable. There was no small fridge, no coffee maker and no safe in the room. In fact one was expected to use the safe in the reception area with a US $50 deposit for the key. The door to the room would have opened if someone just gave it a good bang. The so-called "gourmet" breakfast which is included in the room rate is certainly not "gourmet". I ordered poached eggs with sausages the 1st morning. Obviously this restaurant has no poaching pan, which even I have at home. The egg was apparently dropped into some water and then placed dripping onto a piece of toast. The toast was all soggy and wet. The sausages were the worst I have ever eaten. They were white and not nicely browned as they should be. Inside the sausage was pink and the taste was awful. Obviously Jamaicans do not know how to cooked these 2 items. So I decided to have the Jamaican breakfast the next day. The choice of juice was watery orange juice and pineapple juice which was not identifialble as pineapple. In a country like Jamaica where these fruits grow, these should have been freshly juiced. The small offering of fresh fruit was also disappointing. The spotty bananas were prepared hours before serving so that the ends were brown. The papaya and water melon were under-ripe. There was no choice of bread. Simple white cheap sliced bread. This breakfast was really bad and not "GOURMET"!
The hotel itself has a fantastic location sitting on the cliff overlooking a calm sheltered bay. The exterior reef protects the area. Every day masses of tourists are brought by boat to snorkel on the inside of this reef. The coral is mostly dead in the bay with a few small outcrops trying to survive the onslaught of tourists. The bay is good just for swimming. There is a small artificial sand patch which gets no sun as it is on the North side but it is good for lounging. There were 4 chairs. Easy entry into the sea. We ate once at the restaurant which is over priced and a disappointing experience. The hotel itself lives off of its location, but desperatly needs a fresh European or North American input to bring it to an acceptable foreign vistor standard. The entry area has some interesting paintings which are hung in such a dark brown room with poor lighting that one just overlooks them. This charming room has an empty glass book case and just 2 chairs and is quite uninviting at the moment. But so much potential. I can not at this time recommend this hotel and its restaurant to foreign visitors. Perhaps after a re-vamp this will be better at Hibiscus Lodge.

Room Tip: See Blick ist good
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews