We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Budget hotel across the street from a beach, on...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

MikeATL
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Budget hotel across the street from a beach, on the Hip Strip”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
4
people found this review helpful

This is a budget property. So if you want a cheap place to stay this is it. If you need a lot of special service or luxury this isnt it.

I picked this as I was enroute to Cuba and just wanted a place to stay near a beach that was CHEAP. Rates at other hotels were a lot more as it was still high season when I was there. There is a beach right across the road with a decent sandy beach to swim in. Bring sunscreen and NO valuables. Yes that means NO phone, NO purse, NO wallet, NO camera unless you take a pic and then bring it back to the room. There are hotels up the road that charged over 3 times the rate I paid that had no free beach near them, but there is a PAY beach up there and some might prefer that. If you want to go there and pay its $6 entry, $6 for a chair, $6 for an umbrella, and food and drinks menu prices.

The room was large, the a/c worked ok but seemed to be straining to keep the room semi cool. The internet worked and the room was clean.

Pauline was wonderful and can guide you to whatever you need. She doesnt enter your room unless you ask and need something.

There can be loud bar noise so beware. Always travel with good ear plugs no matter where you go or stay. The silicone ones are a must for any traveler anywhere. You might need them here!

You can walk downtown from here too, its close enough. The so called Hip Strip starts about here and goes north.

I would recommend this to bargain hunters who can put up with some noise on some nights in exchange for a good rate.

This place has about 5 or so rooms, but we were the only ones there the 2 nights we were there.
--------
FYI the money exchange at the airport is a huge rip off. Dont do it. They were giving 98 JM$ for 1 US$ In town at a few places you got 118 JM$ to one US$. Thats huge. Keep in mind rates change, but a place that rips you off will usually continue to rip you off no matter the exchange rate. Pauline will tell you where to change, its a window with a small sign CAMBIO. There is one north of here and one in town that I never found. However there is a big bakery on a corner a block south of the "square" in Montego Bay downtown and the owner upstairs will also change money at the same rate as the Cambio. The gals who sell the pastries will take your money and go upstairs and change it for you if you wish.

People say there is no need to exchange your money as everyone takes US$. That is mostly true, BUT they will screw you for at least 20% if you do that and most tourists are foolish enough and never do the math. Your choice on that! If you have JM$ you will save a lot if you hang out in regular places. If you stay in places that cater only to foreigners your going to pay bigtime for that too. Many of those never take JM$.

So if you have JM$ you can save by eating at local places that take JM$---The Pork Pit to the south, Burger King to the north, beyond that a hot dog sandwich place with some tables to the right that is affordable. In town a big crowded Jamaican Patty place that takes JM$ and more. If your the kind of budget traveler that seeks out budget hotels, I thought you would want to know all this too.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Noise from nearby bar
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
my_vickis...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden yet Satisfying”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Oh the Irie Inn, it was everything we wanted.

Pros: Prime Location (once we found it): Food, fun, and simplicity were in walking distance from this rental. It had a frig, so we could store leftovers and heat them up at a later time, The beds were comfortable. The room was clean. We had everything we needed

Cons: Hard to Find. We had a rental car (luckily, we didnt't have to pay a cab to drive us up and down the street looking for the place), and we kept going up and down the street. No signs to identify the place, the locals never heard of it, and the address pointed to a different property.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neebee19
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location, Spacious Rooms and AC is Excellent”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in February 2015
4
people found this review helpful

I stayed here for a weekend with my boyfriend. The location is great and located on the Hip Strip. It is right next to Red's a local spot that has AMAZING food. There are other places close by to eat as well, Pork Pit etc.. There is a free local beach right across the street if you are looking for an authentic experience. Doctor Cave is close by though if you want a chair and umbrella and drinks to be served to you. The apartments are located right behind a night club and I can imagine it get a little loud, but I stayed in the room farthest from the club, all the way in the back, I didn't hear a thing! These rooms are really suitable for lots of people however. There were three beds in the room I rented! So something to consider if you are coming in town with friends a great place to share. This is a very basic room. So again if you are looking for 3+ stars hotel accommodations go up the street and pay 120+ a night. Otherwise if you are looking for a comfortable place to sleep and be near the action of the hip strip--STAY HERE! So convenient you dont even need a car or a taxi, I even walked from the airport-=given I had nothing more than a backpack.
I once found a place in Bogue and it was too far although it was cheaper, but getting a cab was a hassle. Better to stay on the strip, walk around and see some stuff!

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: AC!! Jamaica is hot!
Liked least: Mosquitos in the bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.