We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/03
Hotels.com
US$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/03
Orbitz.com
US$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/03
TravelocityUS$151
CheapTicketsUS$151
TripadvisorUS$151
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
37
66
42
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
37
66
42
9
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018

First time staying down Hip Strip and the Altamont location can not be beat. Beach across street, security gated parking, very trendy and artsy hotel. Loved the included breakfast. Great rum punch at the bar. We did not use the pool or the courtyard but it was very cute. the views from the top floor are stunning

our room was very clean, my only negatives would be the room air conditioning never got really cold, and the ceiling fan was very loud. Also, being on the street side, it is very loud too. We were so tired every night that it didnt stop us from crashing, but just a call out if you are a light sleeper.

we very much enjoyed our stay and every person we encountered was super nice and welcoming. We will be coming back in November for sure

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Y8046CSkimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

The hotel is a convenient overnight stay to and from the airport. I'm sure it would also be appropriate for a vacation in Montego Bay, as well, but I only stayed one night. The whole staff was excellent, especially the manager Kay. She went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and readily sorted out a booking issue with our credit card. The rooms, we had two- a superior King and two double beds- were clean, nicely decorated and spacious. The air condition was cool and quiet. Bathroom was small but shower had good pressure and temperature. The provided rubber mats in the shower are not optional, as I almost found out, the hard way. There was a small but clean pool in the back. The included breakfast was very good and even my picky kids enjoyed it. WiFi was excellent. No coffee or tea in room but they do have a refrigerator and a microwave. As well as a safe.
The hotel is located on a very busy road that is a little difficult to walk along because the sidewalk is very narrow and sometimes parked cars block your way, forcing you further into the street. Parking at the hotel may also be an issue since there are very few spots. That being said, the location has a lot to offer, with Margaritaville down the street, beach across the street and lots of restaurants, bars and stores in either direction. There are no elevators but do believe they have first floor rooms. We were very comfortable and would gladly go back to this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We stayed in Altamont West for 2 days (Family of 4). Quite good choice for a few days. They have a pool that is cleaned daily, breakfast can be chosen between Jamaican and Continental. Rooms are rather clean. Overall, staff is friendly, sometimes show more attention to their mobile than to guests. Bit bizarr if you ask a question and the person at the reception stares into the cellphone (I assume the information in there must have been extremely important!). Apart from that it's a nice place in the Hip Strip.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

I stayed at Altamont West Hotel in July and was very pleased of my stay there.All the staff are great,they great you with a smile upon arrival,during your stay and when you are leaving. Room are clean,comfy and a quiet and relaxing hotel. Anyone want a nice, quiet and relaxing place to stay, check them out. Price is right. Ms Tate.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ruantwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We stayed at the Altamont West for a week and we could not be more pleased with the decision to stay here. The staff was warm, friendly and had no problem answering any questions that we had. The continental breakfast was made to order which was a nice change from most hotels offering buffet-style breakfasts. The "Pork Pit" is a nearby must eat. The hotel was within walking distance to Doctors Cave beach and Margaritaville which was cool. Only reason I would not give this hotel five stars is because we kept having to get the room key reset which got quite annoying after a few days.

Room tip: We were on the third floor and the view from the balcony was excellent.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews