We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Secrets St. James Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$609
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Decameron Montego Beach(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
El Greco Resort(Montego Bay)
US$140
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$623
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Toby's Resort(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Half Moon(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$444
US$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$253
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Altamont West Hotel(Montego Bay)
US$136
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
132
34
8
1
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
34
8
1
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaves restaurantwasher dryerfull kitchenbutler servicehimalayan saltdean martinmineral poolsoft openingliving roomle bouchonsilver palmscondo ownerskung fu pandakitchen towelsocean frontwrap around balconylarge hot tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First: we stayed in one of the ocean facing villas, which was new and magnificent. The views, the brand new suite, the hot tub, the wood floors and decor were the best anywhere (although not sure how they will hold up with wear and tear over time). The resort had just completed their soft opening, but have a long way to go if they hope to maintain their 5 star status.
The staff excessively "yeah mons" you but never show up with the desired service or product. We went without toilet paper, towels and all-inclusive booze in the room, calling multiple times to our "butler" and texting the management. Considering how much we were paying for the room and the length of our stay, this was totally NOT okay!
We eventually caught on that if you tip Jamaicans at the same time you ask for something, they will follow through. No tip, you get nothing, mon.
Restaurants were still finding their footing. Food was plentiful, average, and typical of any all inclusive. Recycling dishes from other old leftovers shouldn't be so obvious. Drinks -- also all inclusive -- were difficult to find, considering the facility bars were always closed or unstocked when open. The opportunity to get a reservation in one of the specialty restaurants was also impossible as they were always "booked". I feel like there was some secret that everyone else knew but us.
The beach is small but beautiful. We planted ourselves in a cabana that our butler would set up for us early in the a.m. We loved it and lived inside the cabana for the week. The beach service was great once we knew to tip. Samara gets a big shout out, bringing us fresh coconuts and empanades from the kitchen.
Maybe it's growing pains, or maybe it's just Jamaica. This facility will be a top contender once -- and if -- they work through the kinks and train their staff to respond and not make the tip/service connection so obvious.
Lastly, Ingrid Noble Bailey gets a gold star for personally trying to take care of the multitude of problems we encountered. We cut our resentment about the flaws of the resort largely due to her efforts. Perhaps she can convince the rest of her staff to try harder and work smarter. Although in Jamaica, mon, the standards of a 5 star hotel demand exceptional service and a faster response to requests and problems addressed.

Room Tip: Hands down, the ocean facing villas
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KemishaSimpson, Social Media Coordinator at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear diane w,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback at our resort with us. We are saddened to hear of the disappointing experience you had during your stay at our resort, and we would like to extend our most sincere apologies for the negative experience you had. This is truly not the standards of our resort. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with excellent customer service and a "wow" experience throughout their stay. We are truly sorry to hear that you faced numerous challenges whilst at our resort.

Our guests are allowed to tip our associates at their own discretion. However, please know that exceptional service should be provided to our guests at all times, whether our guests tip our associates or not. We are truly sorry that you were not provided with your desired service or product when requested and that service was only dispensed when you tipped. This should not have happened. Please know that we will most certainly share all your concerns within your review with our Management Team for corrective action to be taken.

We are happy to know that our Front Office Manager Ingrid Noble-Bailey personally tried to solve the multiple problems you encountered at our resort. We are delighted to know as well that it is due to her efforts that you cut your resentment of the flaws you found at our resort largely due to her efforts. Mrs. Noble-Bailey is truly a gem, and we are very happy to have her apart of our team. We appreciate your kind comments on our Crickets Grill server, Samara as well. We are happy to know that she assisted in providing you with great service also by bringing you fresh coconuts and empanadas while at the beach. We are happy to have her apart of our team as well.

Thank you for your kind words on your villa and our beach. Thank you also for choosing to stay at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort and Spa. We do look forward to another opportunity of hosting you in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We just got back from our honeymoon at the Jewel Grande. We had an amazing time. Let me start off by saying the people at this resort are some of the most wonderful, pleasant, and helpful people we’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting. And not the kind of pleasant that they are just looking for tips either. They are genuinely very nice and grateful people. A couple people in particular that made our stay amazing were first and foremost Orlando. He is a house keeper at the silver palms. He was in the lobby every morning cleaning windows. He remembered everything we had going on and was so wonderful to talk to. Just an amazing and happy person. Tina-Gaye the beach waitress. She took care of us every day we were on the beach. She made sure we were ok all day long and my beer was never empty. She was a lot of fun to be around and a wonderful personality. Christopher, the cabana butler, was by far and above the best butler in the entire resort. We rented a cabana two days. Each day he made a special trip to the buffet for my wife for watermelon (we couldn’t get it on the menu). He was very professional and we never had a need for anything all day in the cabana. Duane the buffet waiter was very nice and pleasant also. In general everyone we came across was always smiling and very nice.

The grounds and the resort itself is absolutely beautiful. We couldn’t have asked for a more picture perfect view from our room. Just walking around the resort and seeing how much detail that goes into the landscaping is unbelievable.

We are kind of foodies. We enjoyed every meal we got while we were here. Being in a different country, our expectations for American style food wasn’t very high. And we were very impressed! The breakfast buffet was very good every morning. By far the steakhouse and the waves restaurant were amazing. The waitress Bridget and waiter Ojay were the best we could have asked for. The food was delicious, and overall we were very satisfied with the quality of food.

What we think could have improved would have been the butler service. I honestly couldn’t tell you who our butler was. Now we didn’t need much during our stay, but we never saw our butler to ask for anything. We did call the front desk once for extra towels and restock the mini fridge. And they did very very quickly. The front desk called to check and see it had been done. The housekeeping was hit and miss. It is totally possible it was some of our own fault, with an occasional nap and earlier bed time than some. There were a couple times the housekeeper wanted to do turndown service at 9pm. That’s way too late I feel. And finally the entertainment. I know there were several complaints about no entertainment, well they got it now. And it’s loud, and long into the night. We are kind of early birds and we were one building away from the entertainment. It was still loud and clear in our room.

Our room was 806B in the silver palms building. It was an oceanfront suite. It was very nice. Very large two room suite. The two bathrooms were very nice for our needs. The showers were AMAZING. We never had a problem with our room except some water on the floor. I don’t even know where it came from and the maintenance was there working on it before we couldn’t even call someone. Also the beds are FIRM. Very firm. We have a firm bed a home. This joker is firm. We aren’t very high maintenance people and it was ok during our stay.

It was quiet and low key. Which is exactly what we were looking for. This may not be the resort for you if you have younger kids. There just doesn’t seem to be as much for them to do. Which is exactly why we chose this resort in the first place. Also the beach is manmade. As most of them are in Jamaica. Water shoes would have been nice the farther out in the water you go.

We would stay here again! We cannot overstate how wonderful the people here are. And how beautiful this property is. We had a wonderful time. Thanks again.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KemishaSimpson, Social Media Coordinator at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Paul W,

We really appreciate you taking time out to share your experience at our resort with us. We had a great time hosting you and are happy to know that you had a wonderful honeymoon at our resort. We are delighted to have been given the opportunity to host you for such a special occasion as your honeymoon. Thank you for choosing to stay at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort and Spa.

Our associates are exceptional indeed, and we are delighted to know that you found them wonderful and that they helped to make your stay with us an amazing one. We agree that Orlando, our house man, Tina-Gaye, one of our servers at the Crickets Grill, Christopher, your cabana butler, Duane, Bridget and Ojay, are true gems to have on our team. We will certainly share your kind remarks with them all and congratulate them on a job well done.

We have noted your comments on you not seeing your suite assigned butler during your stay at our resort. We sincerely apologize for you not experiencing the luxury butler service we offer from your assigned butler and will pass on your comments to our Management Team to be addressed accordingly. We have noted as well your comments on housekeeping being a hit and miss, the beds being firm, and the entertainment we provide being loud and long in the night. We will share these concerns as well with our Mangers for corrective action to be taken. Thank you for sharing your review with us once again, as it will help us to improve our guest experience and service. We do have a Kids Club that is readily available to accommodate children and provide a wonderful experience for them while they are at our resort. We also have a Teen Zone and Splash Pad area for them to enjoy as well.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at our resort. We do look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future for another wonderful stay with us!

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all the room we stayed in was Great!!! Loved the view, very private, and very clean. The room stayed stocked with anything we asked for. Unfortunately we have had Butler service before at another all inclusive so we had very high expectations. Nothing against the butler service except it's not a true butler service. It's more of just having someone to make reservations or if you ran out of beverages, they would at some point restock it for you. We had two butlers, the one butler was very nice and would call to see if we needed anything. The other one however, we saw him when we got there and the day we left. I was really disappointed when we were leaving, everyone's butler was at the bus making sure their clients luggage was getting loaded and of course our butler was nowhere to be found. Naturally our luggage was not loaded on the bus and luckily my wife saw it sitting on the curb as the bus pulled away. Our good butler had the day off. Ryan was the good butler btw.
Now on to the beach and pool waitress. SAMARA WAS FANTASTIC!!!! She was so much fun and worked incredibly hard!!! My drink never got warm or empty!! I can't say enough great things about the staff. The housekeeping was on point as well. Always had towels, clean linens, and we always had really cool towel origami!!!
The food was average. The steakhouse was very disappointing!!!!! We had an hour and a half wait to get food and it was not that busy. Just a tip, the NY strip is NOT NY strip!!!
It was a piece of leather and the waitress just shrugged and was embarrassed. The ribeye my wife got was decent however. For an hour in a half wait, definitely not worth it.
Another highlight was the Yoga classes!!! They had a lady from Pennsylvania who did a fantastic job that week!
They had a very clean beach and some good water activities. Overall we enjoyed our time there.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bubba717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KemishaSimpson, Social Media Coordinator at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Bubba717,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of our resort with us. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve upon the service we provide to our valued guests. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay at our resort, and for the negative experience you had with our butler service. This level of service is certainly not acceptable, and will most certainly be shared with our Management Team for corrective action to be taken. We appreciate and have noted your comments on our food as well. We are very sorry for the long wait you had to endure before your food was served. We are sad to hear that you were not satisfied with the New York Cut dish served at our Steakhouse. We will certainly share these concerns mentioned in your review with our Management Team as well to be addressed.

We are happy to know, however, that you found Samara fantastic, and that her, Ryan, and housekeeping provided you with great service during your stay with us and assisted in you enjoying your stay at our resort. We will be sure to share your kind comments with them all and congratulate them on a job well done!

Thank you for your kind comments on the yoga classes offered at our Grande Spa, beach and non-motorized watersport activities.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort and Spa as well. We do look forward to your return in the near future for another stay with us.

Kind Regards.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at many resorts and been on a ton of cruises throughout Mexico and the Caribbean. The Jewel Grand was one of the BEST! We were a guest of an owner, which was great. We did pay alacart for everything but we did not mind at all as we wanted to go out for dinner to other places.

We spent a day in Ocios Rios at Blue Hole, a day in Negril and a day at Drs Cave Beach. The location of the Jewel was perfect if you wanted to be in the middle of all of those places! About 20 mins to downtown Mobay.

The resort is beyond beautiful and very low key. Which is what we wanted. I did not need to fight anyone for pool or beach chair like at other resorts. Always spots at the pools and beach. The beach was amazing as well with a lot of non motorized water sports.

The pool bars and restaurants for lunch and drinks rocked. Food and drinks brought right to your chair. Whatever you needed, it was taken care of for you! Tina, Dane, Roxann, and Samara at the pool bar were so great! Drinks were very good too with decent alcohol.

We ate at the Steakhouse and the Tappen. Both were very very good! We also did the gala buffet which was beyond amazing with fresh grilled lobster and shrimp that were to die for. The Lobster was as good as the Houseboat Grill’s which is the #1 Restaurant in Mobay. We also had breakfast at Waves twice and that was excellent as well.

Because we were an owner’s guest we did not have a butler, however I watched the butlers run their tails off for people all day. Many of them asked us if we needed anything.

We also used the gym daily and walked the grounds every morning. The grounds were constantly being cut, manicured and maintained. Even on Easter Sunday! A great morning walk every day to get your day started!

The gym was clean and had nice equipment. They also offered a number of classes daily. My daughter and I also used the steam room and sauna every morning and the salt room the last day. There was obviously a cost to use those things, but it was minimal. We also had great spa treatments! The mineral pools were great as well.

I was also extremely impressed with the security. There is security everywhere and felt very safe with my 17 year old daughter.

There were a few snafus with the TV and the internet, but seriously, you are in Jamaica, what do you expect?

Thank you for a great week! We will be back!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Andi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KemishaSimpson, Social Media Coordinator at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Andi R,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our resort with us. Thank you also for all your kind words in your review. It was truly an honour having you here with us for a whole week, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. Here at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort and Spa, we give our 100% each day to meet expectations like yours, and we are excited to know that we hit the mark for you. Our associates are indeed outstanding and we are very happy to hear that they provided you with excellent service during your stay with us. We will be sure to share your kind words with Tina, Roxann, Dane, Samara, the butlers and all our other associates whom you encountered who made your stay a memorable one, and congratulate them all on a job well done!

The safety of our guests is very important to us, and we are very happy to hear that you felt safe at our resort with your daughter, due to us having 24 hour security.

We are happy to know as well that you were pleased with our food, and loved the fresh grilled lobster and shrimp at our recent Gala buffet. Thank you for your kind comments on our landscaping, facilities, security and overall resort. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your morning walk each day and the various spa treatments and gym classes at our Grande Spa.

We have noted your comments on challenges you had with the TV and internet, and will most certainly share your comment with our Management Team to be corrected.

It was a great pleasure having you here with us. Thank you for choosing to stay at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort and Spa. We do look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back for another "Grande" stay with us!

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We too, based on the reviews, were excited to choose this hotel for our first trip to Jamaica. Like the previous reviewer, we left not having had all expectations met but overall (especially for the price we paid) we did think the stay was a good one.

Our experience of the food was generally good and in our stay had one very good meal at Waves (the others were buffet meals and nice enough for our short stay but not gourmet). The booking experience for the restaurants was terrible however.
Rooms were nice - the shower amazing - but ours noisy. We were in the tower above the main evening entertainment and if you had wanted to sleep before 11, no chance (but you are on vacation). Also, it was very windy during our stay causing the windows to rattle badly. Finally the smell of the outdoor grill restaurant below invaded our room and a large part of the sunbathing area.
Generally we found the staff everywhere courteous and very smiley.
The gym, spin and yoga rooms are very good.

Our main criticism relates to the butler service which is a joke. The idea is that the butler is your point of contact for everything. Ours were mainly non-existent (and when they were present they got it comically wrong). I don’t think they aimed to be “bad” but were just under-trained. Although we’ve stayed in Asian resorts with superlative butler service, we prefer to do for ourselves so would prefer a phone directory and make our own calls to room service, restaurants, housekeeping etc rather than call someone for them to call someone and then us wait around until they call us back. Waste of vacation!

Improvements we’d suggest:
- stop the butler service as it doesn’t seem to work. If you keep it, the butlers have to find a way of having a daily touch point with all of their rooms (a quick hello at breakfast maybe?)
- print a map of the resort. We do not want a tour in a buggy driven by our butler which was everyone’s suggestion. We want to explore
- improve lighting in the restaurants, especially the steak house and buffet. (Too bright)
- offer better lunch choices - there’s nothing healthy nor, in our limited experience, very nice.

Knowing what we know now, we’d stay again as the location is good, the hotel has lovely staff and it offers a lot of facilities. But with some improvements it could be much better.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JMC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KemishaSimpson, Social Media Coordinator at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear JMC11,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy to know that you had an overall good stay with us and that you found our staff to be courteous and very smiley. We are also delighted to know that you were pleased with our gym, yoga and spin rooms at our Grande Spa.

We are sad to know however, that you left our resort without having all your expectations met, and for this we are truly sorry. At Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort and Spa, we work hard to ensure that we exceed our guests expectations, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting all of your needs.

Thank you for your suggestions on how to improve our overall service. We have noted your comment as well on your main criticism being of our butler service. With all sincerity, we truly apologize for the negative experience you had with our butler service. This is not the standard of our resort nor the service we strive to provide. Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will help us to improve our ability to serve you and other guests of our resort better. Please know that we have noted all of your valued comments in your review, and will most certainly share them with our Management Team for corrective action to be taken.

Thank you also for choosing to stay at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort and Spa. We do look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future for another stay with us!

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews