We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“good location and well maintained unit”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome home... Please! C'mon in...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Welcome home...
Please! C'mon in...
There's an 'Aunt Jemima' in everyone...
Aha moment...
Cozy as can be...
Another Aha moment...
Work or play, you choose...
A 'Queen' in waiting...
What are your thoughts...???
A 'Loo' to die for...
A Throne fit for a 'King' or 'Queen'...
Imagine a pool on the leafy grounds of an historic tropical urban oasis...wallah!
'Your HOME' away from home awaits YOU!!!
“As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kingston, Kingston Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jill R
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good location and well maintained unit”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The place is very accessible to key areas in Kingston like the US embassy, Marley museum, Devon house and the Frankfurt bus terminal. The unit is very orderly and obviously
well maintained thanks to the given houserules which is appropriate and not hard to follow. Every space in the unit is functional, small but complete in amenities and designed with taste. Sheldon was very nice and helpful host. We felt like at home during our 4 days stay. Bonus: we had free mangoes everyday thanks to the big mango trees with delicious mangoes just falling in the field.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla D
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Professional peaceful Kingston stay(cation)”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I had the pleasure of staying at this rental May 22nd –May 25th 2015. I can truly say from beginning to end Sheldon was not only professional but also accommodating. The process for booking the rental was a smooth one as well as he continued to keep me informed on the entire process. Prior to my arrival he linked me with two drivers of my choice that would be accessible for any needs I had i.e. trips to the store, rides around Kingston, etc. I not only felt SAFE but I was made to feel comfortable. Due to my early AM flight I wasn’t able to check in but Sheldon came through once again and not only did the driver pick me up from Norman Manley airport but we were able to visit the TUFF GONG studio owned by BOB MARLEY & family, the Coronation market for fresh fruit and then the local grocery store for snacks as well as oxtails and rice for a late lunch. Upon arrival the gorgeous condo was cleaned to perfection and Sheldon had a “goodie basket” to welcome me. He took the time to intricately show me how each remote worked, he also had a laminated direction sheet and was accessible as needed. The phone in the living spaces was available for local calls via LIME as well which was extremely helpful. All in all I would definitely visit again as well as recommend him . I truly miss the huge mango tree out front and the pool as well..and promise to return.
TIPS: Use the same driver via Kingston, make sure to visit Bob Marley museum, Tuff Gong studios, and have fun!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: everything was fine I hated leaving
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazinapp...
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice cosy studio apartment in a great location in Kingston”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Sheldon was a welcoming host, and was very warm and friendly. He would check in from time to time to make sure everything was okay however this was not overbearing. On the last night of our stay Sheldon took us out to a lovely Jamaican restaurant which was lovely! The property was of true reflection of what I had seen in the pictures. I liked that everything that was needed was in the studio apartment was there to ensure that my stay was comfortable. I had no problems whatsoever. The apartment was of a good location and the pool got cleaned regularly. I would definitely have Sheldon as a host again and would also recommend him as a host.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
It was an absolute pleasure having Maxine and her mom, Beryl stay with us whilst on their working vacation in Kingston conducting business and visiting friends and family. Maxine and her mom were absolutely AWESOME house guests. Prior to her arrival and during the period they stayed at "CTBH"; they communicated exceptionally well with us. She's respectful, observant of house rules and an all-round good 'spirited' lady. I'd recommend her 100% as a house guest to any AIRBNB host. We'd be happy to welcome her back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mani Hars...
1 review
“Good Experience”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in October 2014

This place is very nice and very well maintained. I felt like home. Sheldon was very helpful and always optimistic. There is always a security guy for this place. This is nearby to the U.S consulate... As the name says 'Choose To Be Happy'...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2015
Mani and his friend Sandeep were the perfect guest! They were very pleasant and considerate. They both were friendly and courteous. All communication before and during their stay was clear and prompt. All house rules observed and the apartment was left in tact. I would be most delighted to host Mani and Sandeep again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to other FLIPKEY hosts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cj D
1 review
“Fully equipped space in the perfect location”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Choose To Be Happy lived up to its title. It was just like the photos and fully stocked with all the comforts for even the pickiest traveler. Sheldon was very accommodating and responsive to my needs - ideal host! Thanks for the short but enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
CD,
Regardless of the length of your stay, "Choose To Be Happy!" is always grateful for wonderful guests, such as yourself. I hope the next time you're in Jamaica, CTBH will be your first and only choice for a place to stay! We looking forward to seeing you again sometime very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing