We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four brilliant trips! ”
Review of Sunsation Tours

Sunsation Tours
Ranked #8 of 48 Tours in St. George's
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer island tours, shore excursions for cruise ships, off-island trips, information and advice; we put you in touch with providers of services we do not supply ourselves, i.e day tours to the Grenadines, sailing, snorkelling, golf, diving, "adventure jeeping" ...
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

I organised 4 trips through sunsation tours during my 5 week stay in Grenada. Marcia was excellent, very efficient and friendly and she took care of everything for me - thank you!

1) Fly/sail the grenadines - this was the trip of a lifetime! I had an incredible day from start to finish. The Grenadines are beautiful with gorgeous beaches, crystal clear waters and the snorkelling stops were excellent - lots of colourful fish and turtles! The lunch on board was nice and both flights had incredible views and were exciting! Definitely take this trip while in Grenada - it was worth every penny!

2) Tutti Fruitti Island tour - another great day out; the guide was very informative and the stops included concord falls, the nutmeg processing station and rum distillery. The lunch at the Belmont estate is delicious.

3) Lobster cruise - this was a very relaxing day. The crew were friendly, lunch was excellent and in a lovely location. Snorkelling at the sculpture park was good and the sail to hog island was fun with the waves splashing you on the boat.

4) Turtle watching at night - it is about a 1.5 hour drive up to the beach but the driver was very informative on the way. When you reach the conservation centre they talk to you about the turtles and then take you down to the beach. You then sit and wait for the turtles to come and so it is a good idea to take a towel to sit on, trainers and insect repellent. It would have been good to have some more information when we reached the beach about what to do/what to expect as we did seem to be just left in the dark on the beach, however when the turtles did arrive and we were able to walk up and see them it was well worth the wait! The experience was amazing!

I really enjoyed all 4 trips and would recommend sunsation tours for exploring Grenada!

1  Thank LucyJHanson94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
All reviews
"tutti frutti"
in 40 reviews
"belmont estate"
in 35 reviews
"palm island"
in 10 reviews
"private tour"
in 30 reviews
"rum distillery"
in 37 reviews
"island tour"
in 32 reviews
"union island"
in 15 reviews
"virgin holidays"
in 9 reviews
"nutmeg processing"
in 19 reviews
"driver guide"
in 13 reviews
"tobago cays"
in 11 reviews
"grand etang"
in 20 reviews
"comfortable van"
in 6 reviews
"per hour"
in 7 reviews
"day trip"
in 15 reviews
"lobster cruise"
in 7 reviews
"pirates of the caribbean"
in 5 reviews

41 - 45 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2017

We had been to the Grenadines before but thought as a treat to ourselves we would take this trip to see if anything had changed and also to experience going out under sail on a schooner (purported to have been used as an extra in Pirates of the Caribbean films).

This trip is sponsored by Sunsation Tours so our agent (Insight) booked it for us through them. We were sent some Customs & Immigration forms to fill in as you go out of & return to Grenada but had an incorrect quantity of one type & one missing one – after contacting our agent the mistake was rectified. The day before the trip it was cancelled due to the Fire Engine being out of commission at Union Island Airport but by midday before we were due to go it had been fixed and we were back on to go.

We were picked up promptly at 08:05 in the morning and after collecting some more guests we went to Grenada airport. We were met by a guide who took us through Passport Control & Customs; once though, he then left us in the lounge waiting for our flight to be called.

After a short wait we (seven of us), were called to our SVG flight which was in a little eight-seater twin prop plane. The journey was uneventful and lasted 25 minutes, unfortunately it wasn’t great clear weather so our views of Grenada fro the air were a little restricted by cloud.

We landed safely onto Union and went through their Immigration process (a little tiresome but just go with the flow it’s easier) and were eventually picked up in a Golf Cart outside and taken down to the yacht club for the quick ride out to “The Scaramouche”. We were greeted on board with a cold drink and a snack.

We were briefed and then away before 10am. The wind was up but not overly strong and the sea was full but not too rough. The schooner sailed well if a little creaky due to all the real rope rigging.

The first stop was Mayreau Island for 40minutes where we could swim, snorkel or walk the beach. Undersea life was there but not in great quantity and the sea had stirred up the sand so it wasn’t crystal clear.

We then went onto Tobago Cays – this is an area of five small islands in a protected area. The waters are stunningly clear and of many beautiful blues. We anchored in the middle and went out in a boat to swim/snorkel with the turtles. We were not disappointed and at any one time were within sight of at least four (adults and juveniles alike). Fabulous.

We went further out to the reef edge to do some more snorkeling but the tidal flow was a little strong so after a few minutes we packed up and started back. We were dropped off on one island to walk across it (only took a few minutes) to be picked up on the other side – this side was not too nice (weed and rough) and really couldn’t see the point in this although we did spot a couple of Iguana’s – it was a bit confusing as to whether this was the correct pick-up but eventually we were and then back to the boat for lunch.

Lunch was a Turkey thigh and rice with some tomato/corn/salad – huge quantities and extremely tasty – excellent food.

We ten sailed back towards Union but stopped off at Palm Island for a short stop. The crew had a problem with the outboard but the Palm Island crew brought us ashore. We had been to Palm before for a two week holiday and it was quite noticeable that the resort had been updated/refurbished in our absence. We didn’t get full island access but what we did see was well done.

Back onto the Scaramouche and across to the Union marina then to be transported over to the island/airport. Customs & emigration was much simplified and we were promptly picked up by the same pilot/aircraft for the return flight.

Back in Grenada we went through immigration and customs again (lots of stamps in passport for a day trip) and picked up outside by a taxi-van and returned to our hotel very hot & tired but extremely happy with our day out.

The weather throughout the day was a bit mixed on the side of poor but the sun was still strong and a bit of sun-burn was experienced by all attendees so be careful if you go on this trip and use plenty of sun-block (as you go out through Grenada airport on the way you do have time to quickly buy some lotion in the lounge to avoid the 100ml rule).

It wasn’t a cheap trip but felt it was a reasonable price to pay for the experience.

2  Thank To-Rome-or-To-Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CousinJo, Owner at Sunsation Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review.
This brilliant day out is our most popular trip in the program of tours. The most expensive, too. The biggest chunk out of the price is for the charter plane and taxes.

I am particularly grateful for your input as another couple from another hotel who were on the tour with you had absolutely nothing good to say about the Grenadines trip. I started to worry how so many things could have gone wrong in one day!
I am relieved to see that you had fabulous time. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Grenada. We want d to see all of the island but not on an organised tour so Johanna at Virgin Holidays organised a private driver the take us wherever we wanted to go. At $25 US an hour for all three of us it was great value and a really great way to see Grenada. We had certain things we eant d to do and see but also asked Glen, our guide, what he would recommend too. Glen was wonderful - a mine of local knowledge! Whether talking about the incredible plants, the rain forest, the school system, he was a wonderful, interesting and informative companion for the day.

1  Thank CLJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

We did the round the island trip as well as the half day to seven sisters waterfall and a morning snorkelling. All trips were well organised and we were looked after. We had Karl as a guide on two of the trips- he's really good. Very knowledgeable about the island and plant life, a good driver, with a great sense of humour. I don't know about the other guides, but Karl is brilliant!!

Thank Hellyd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2017

We booked a private tour so that we could visit places we wanted to see. Booked through Virgin, our driver and guide Ian collected us from our Sandals hotel. We booked a 4 hour tour to take in anywhere which showed the real Grenada, especially beauty spots and a garden with the beautiful flowers and spices. Ian was superb choosing a great itinary which took in some stunning off road paradise spots. Ian was so knowledgeable, especially about the plants and spices. We paid 100 US dollars. This price would be the same for 4 people. The cost being 25$US per hour. I cannot recommend this tour more highly. We learnt so much, did it at our own pace and had a wonderful time. Thank you Ian.

2  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunsation Tours also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish

Been to Sunsation Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing