We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12 807)
Filter reviews
12 807 results
Traveller rating
7 865
2 904
1 185
508
345
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7 865
2 904
1 185
508
345
Show reviews that mention
All reviews world cafe preferred club core zone entertainment team seaside grill oceana restaurant benjamin franklin barracuda bar explorers club coffee boy swim up bar honeymoon suite coco cafe wedding coordinator dominican republic adjoining rooms ping pong
Filter
Updating list...
572 - 577 of 12 807 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We just got back from a week at Dreams with a large group of families for Spring Break. We selected Dreams because of the all-inclusive package, the Core Zone for our teenagers and the large lazy-river style pool for the pre-teens. Overall, everyone had a great time and I would recommend going there BUT some things to be aware of:

1) Rooms are very dated. Do not expect luxurious accommodations. We have definitely stayed in much nicer and more modern places. We are a family of 5 so always require a family suite for the extra bathroom and more room. The rooms are very basic hotel room accommodations and cramped.

2) If you like wine - this is not your place! The wine included in the A.I. package is a choice of ONE red or ONE white. If you want to drink wine on this trip, you will have to pay an exorbitant amount of money for decent wine off of the wine list. It's comical though bc the whole process is done by paper (no computers tracking inventory) so they will tell you they have the wine and 30 minutes later, after sending someone to the wine cellar to get it, will break the bad news that they are out of it. You then go through this process again after picking a different wine. It got so bad that we would go directly to the wine cellar to see what they had and make our own selections with the sommelier. That said, they LOVED us! Because our group spent a crazy amount of money on wine over 7 days (keep in mind that his was island pricing - in the States it would've been way less) they were setting up private dinners for us on the terrace or in the Wine Cellar almost every night. Tip for future travelers to Dreams - pack your own wine in a check-in bag and you'll be fine. Ditto for aerosol sunscreen. It was $30+ in their lobby store per can.

On the upside, they keep the grounds immaculate and pristine. The staff was fantastic and very friendly. The food was pretty good. The kids preferred the World Cafe buffet and the adults preferred Oceana and Seaside Grill. Definitely worth it to upgrade to the Preferred Club. We spent half of our time in the Preferred Lounge getting drinks and snacks, plus private bathroom (a huge plus near the pool!) and a private beach area. You definitely need to call dibs on your pool-side lounge chairs or beach cabana super early in the morning or you will have a hard time finding a place to sit.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms. The hallways are pass through's to get to the other buildings so can get loud
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenny S, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Kim F,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your review. We are glad to learn you had a great time with us and were very much satisfied our Core Zone and Lazy river, immaculate grounds and pristine, our fantastic staff, good food and great restaurants. Please know that due to our all-inclusive concept there is no need to tip as this is included in the reservation. We have share your comments and observation regarding our wine list. with our management team for proper follow up. Thank you for recommending our resort. We have share your comments and observations with our management team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Wenny Sanchez
eConcierge
Dreams Punta cana Resorts & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This resort was a mixed bag for me. The overall vibe felt more like a condominium than a resort. It had your typical Vegas-like main lobby, but the actual hotel grounds/pool felt very residential. The food was pretty good/decent. They still do the sales pitch right when you arrive, I hate that resorts do this. Once you get to the beach, it's beautiful, so if you get a good price, you're still on a beach front at an all inclusive, so you can still have a great time.

Having said that, I probably wont come back because:
1. Rooms and hallways are really uninspired and dated. Bathrooms felt more like you were in the Comfort Inn than a resort. I took for granted that a nice hotel would have decent beauty products - but the shampoo was awful, my hair felt dirtier post shower. And there was no conditioner or lotion!
2. Staff/service mixed again. Some folks were quite lovely, and others bordered on rude, making me feel like I was bothering them. Same for the entertainment staff - there were some fun beach/pool activities and some good live music, but the night shows were definitely subpar.
3. Finally - there's no wristlets at this resort - so they do serve alcohol to teens. I saw some servers ask for ID, but even young teens are able to get alcohol via bars and room service. I don't think this is uncommon but I think resorts vary in how rampant this is.

Other random notes. Coffee at the buffet was better than the espresso drinks at their 'coffee shop.' They insisted on taking our bags up to our room - which seems like a nice service- but we ended up waiting 20 minutes for those bags. We didn't do the preferred club - kinda wish we did, especially if those rooms are nicer. You can rent a beach cabana for $200 for the day, those cabanas are super adorable, and make for a lovely home base. Plus you can order from the preferred club restaurant while your'e in them, which is a great option.

Stayed: April 2018
2  Thank Inna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenny S, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Inna B,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your review. We regret to learn that you were disappointed in our accommodations and services provided, we are also sorry to learn that you found our staff service mixed. That is the exact opposite of what we pride ourselves from, we truly value our guest and understand the importance of providing exceptional service at all times. Due to our concept of all- inclusive we do not use wrist-lets but rooms are identified by name and age, and the rooms we minor children are not equip with alcohol in the mini bar. We also have an strict policy of no alcohol serve to minors in all of our 11 bars and lounges, as well as our room service. Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback as we believe it makes us grow.

Warm regards,

Wenny Sanchez
eConcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Our family of four spent ten nights at this beautiful resort over the Spring Break. For the most part, the staff were friendly and eager to please. Upon our arrival they didn't waste any time trying to get us interested in seeing another one of their resorts. They didn't come out and say time share, but being a seasoned traveller, that's exactly what they were trying to do. After a long night of travel, all we wanted to do was get to our room. We did decide to upgrade to the "Preferred Club" thinking this would enhance our stay. Don't bother! We didn't find any advantage to paying the extra money. They have a beach area designated for "preferred club" members which have lovely beds large enough for four people to lounge on. Unfortunately, there were several days when they weren't any available. When we did get one, it was obvious that they were short staffed and service was poor. Servers were friendly and did their best, there just wasn't enough of them. The food was really good. We enjoyed all the restaurants. The World Café offered an amazing variety. Our kids aged 13 and 15 were a little disappointed with the Core Zone. Some activities listed didn't have any staff member organizing (ie latin dancing lessons) Regardless, they still connected with other kids and had a good time. The beach and sand were nice. I don't want to ponder on the negatives of this resort as it really was a lovely resort to stay at and would recommend it. We were just a bit miffed with the extra money we wasted putting out for the preferred club option.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BJandBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenny S, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear BJandBJ,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your review. We are delighted to learn that you had a great time with us and were very much satisfied with our beautiful beach and grounds, and great restaurants. We have share your comments and observation regarding the Preferred Club services with our management team for proper follow up. Thank you for recommending our resort. We have share your comments and observations with our management team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Wenny Sanchez
eConcierge
Dreams Punta cana Resorts & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We really appreciated our stay at Dreams in the Dominican! The rooms could do with some modernisation and updating but it’s not the most important thing when you’re in a fab place like this. Outside areas are great and well maintained. ALL the staff is fantastic, really warm, loving, caring & genuinly happy. The Entertainment crew works hard at keeping visitors happy during the stay and there are LOADS of different activities at all time. Definitely worth a visit

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Annica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenny S, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Annica A,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your review. We are delighted to learn that you had a great time with us and were very much satisfied with our resort, clean rooms food and services provided and the most helpful staff. We have share your comments and observations with our management team. Thank your for recommending our resort. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Wenny Sanchez
eConcierge
Dreams Punta cana Resorts & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The staff at Dreams Resort and Spa are Excellent. We were upgraded to Preferred Club and Ana Pena made our stay wonderful, she was exceptional. We also had great service in the World Café thanks to Joel and Francisco, hard working individuals. Wander and the staff at the Barracuda Bar knew how to make a refreshing drink and great smiles.

Room Tip: I I enjoy a swimout room as it offers a quieter time for me to relax and read.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRSHPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenny S, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear LRSHPS,

Thank you for choosing Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, we are delighted to learn that your loved your stay with us and were very much satisfied with our wonderful grounds and our helpful and happy staff, specially those mentioned. Thank you for recommending our resort. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards.

Wenny Sanchez
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews