We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Las Dunas 2017”
other travellers have booked this property
THE MAIN POOL
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
THE MAIN POOL
MORE VIEW BEACH FRONT
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
THE MAIN POOL
MORE VIEW
BEACH FRONT
MASTEROOM 10-1A
MASTEROOM 10-1A
LIVING 10-1A
DINNEROOM 10-1A
BALCONY 10-1A
FROM BALCONY 10-1A
KITCHEN10-1A
SECOND ROOM 10-1A
SECOND ROOM 10-1A
BACKYARD
KIDS POOL
BEACH
BUILDING 1
JACUZZI
POOL
BEACH CHAIRS
ALL COMPLEX!
TERRACE OF 9-1B
TERRACE VIEW OF 9-1B
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chad S
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Las Dunas 2017”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a great time. This is the place for a quiet stay. Plenty of room in the condo and great to have our own pool and ocean access. The only issue is the water pressure is low and showers at times are not hot. But I hear they are addressing it. We like not having the crowds of a resort. Excursions pick you up just like at the resorts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjonesgr
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Private Beach Experience”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for an all-inclusive resort experience with lots of people and activities don't come to Las Dunas. But if you are looking for a nice place to stay that offers lots of privacy and a secluded beach I highly recommend this place. The condo was very roomy, comfortable and beautifully decorated (we stayed in 10-1A) with amazing views out to the private beach. Great outdoor living space on the patio, comfortable bed, nice kitchen. Beautiful infinity pool is very well-maintained and was never crowded. But the real gem of this place is the clean, sandy beach covered with palm trees and plenty of beach chairs. There was rarely anyone else on the beach and it was far enough away from the big resorts that it felt like our own private beach. Amazing! Fantastic place to completely unplug and relax.

There were a couple of things keeping this place from being rated 5 stars:
1. There is some major construction on the property to the east and at times it was quite noisy, especially at the pool. If you go to Las Dunas in the near future, PLEASE be sure to ask for a unit as far from the construction as possible. The first unit we checked into was right next to the construction site. Marcia was kind enough to move us to 10-1A on the opposite end of the complex and it was great.
2. Although the decorating is beautiful, some of the amenities fall short. The rain shower heads didn't work, the kitchen wasn't furnished very well and lacked basic supplies, etc. But then you see that beach view and those things didn't matter so much. :-)

Yes, it is not easy to find the first time but the directions from Marcia were very good. We rented a car and went into Bavaro a couple of times for meals. There are a couple restaurants within walking distance but we didn't try them.

Overall this is a very good value and a great place to stay. We wanted the secluded beach experience...and that's exactly what we got. Fantastic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private beach
Liked least: The noise from the construction next door
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana S
North Stonington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Private Beachfront Location”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Our family enjoyed our stay at Las Dunas. The unit we stayed in was very well kept and equipped with oceanside views. You could relax on the patio which looked out to the waves crashing on the beach. They have a nice infinity pool with nice poolside loungers. There are plenty of beach chairs for everyone. The management overall is helpful. The only downside which is also its biggest positive is that it is so isolated. Its nice having the privacy and quiet but there are little options with restaurants nearby and no close grocery stores. It si also a little difficult to locate. It would be nice if there were some vendors selling coconut drinks, fresh fruit drinks, or a grocery service. I would definitely recommend this rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Lack of dining options
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great condo. Terrible diarrhea from the local fish shack.”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
5
people found this review helpful

The condo was nice. More space than we needed, lots of towels, fully equipped kitchen. It was a one minute walk to the pool and another minute to the beach. I recommend walking another 5 minutes north to get to the Sirenes beach. Up there they regularly clear the algae away and the beach was less rocky. We tried entering the ocean right by Las Dunas and it was very hard to get past the rocks and coral debris.

Rafi and Marcia were extremely accommodating all the way through. They were quick to respond to emails. Rafi picked us up at the airport. (Recommended, since otherwise you'll be swarmed by many local cab companies of unknown repute.) He took us to the grocery store and waited patiently while we shopped. During our stay, they helped us with various local arrangements. Rafi took us back to the airport at the end.

The single problem with the arrangement was their recommendation of a restaurant, Seafood Paradise, a 10 minute walk south along the beach. DO NOT EAT AT SEAFOOD PARADISE. We went there and enjoyed the local, open-air, atmosphere and liked the attention from multiple stray kittens and dogs. We ordered one small fish, 20 shrimp, 2 empanadas, and rice and beans. The food was prepared quickly and smelled and tasted good. But within 12 hours I developed horrible diarrhea. Seafood Paradise was undoubtedly the cause since everything else we had consumed was pre-packaged, low-risk food from the grocery store and we had been careful not to drink any local water. My wife got the same illness shortly after. The traveller's diarrhea has lasted almost a week and casts a sad shadow on my DR experience. Wish I had stuck to resort restaurants or fast food.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia6820...
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine Apartment and Premises, Beautiful Beach, Few People & A Great Place to Relax”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015
6
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time. We stayed 6 nights at Las Dunas Resort, at Uvero Alto, with our 2 teenage daughters. The complex is quite new and has basically a private beach. Though the entrance is through an abandoned condo there is good security. The apartment was very confortable, spacious and had a nice decoration and spectacular beach view. There were very few people in the resort at the time, so the beach and pool seemed to be all for ourselves and the place was very quiet. We could rest and sleep an uninterrupted nap and also a restful night without anything or anyone bothering us. The all-inclusive resorts in the area are sufficiently away as not to interfere. Perfect for a peaceful getaway.
To buy food you have to travel to Bavaro to a good supermarket, which is why we rented a car, which we also used to visit other beaches. If you like you can hire there in the condo help to cook a typical Dominican dish and buy the necessary ingredients. The overall service from the staff was good and very friendly.
All in all we throughly recommend staying at Las Dunas if you want to avoid the crowd and noisier environment of the more developed Punta Cana.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fine apartment, nice, peaceful and well kept resort, beautiful pool, beach and gardens.
Liked least: The entrance is through an abandoned condo. The kitchen was missing a few utensils and appliances.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing