We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Expedia.com
Riu.com
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 321)
Filter reviews
2 322 results
Traveller rating
783
671
381
192
295
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
783
671
381
192
295
Show reviews that mention
All reviews colonial restaurant pool party main restaurant every other day swim up bar caribbean street plenty of sunbeds evening entertainment palm trees meal times cleaned daily saona island coco bongo mini bar main pool animation team buffet restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 029 - 1 034 of 2 322 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here from 14th to 24th August.
Bit confusing at check in as being ordered around by a member if staff called Edward. Felt like we were in a cattle market.Not very helpful when my husband asked directions to our room just pointed in the direction of all the
accommodation. Last thing you need when hot, bothered and tired from travelling. Got lost en route to room and had to ask one of the gardeners who didnt speak much English.But when we did finally find our room, it seemed to be the furthest room away in the furthest away block ( villa 60)
But we were surprised as to how roomy and modern our room was complete with phone chargers on the wall , new sockets And new modern sinks ( double) and spacious shower. But We didnt like the flashing smoke detector as it was like it was lightening inside the room every few seconds all night long! Edward told us on arrival we could not get wifi on our rooms only in reception but we had a wifi router on our room and even got wifi on the beach with no problems although they must have changed the password on our last day as if we wanted wifi we had to pay.
Had a problem with the safe so we called at reception on our way to the bar and within the hour someone came to sort it.
Didnt venture into any of the pools as too noisy we just stayed on the beach but got pestered every few minutes by different beach sellers so much so i would pretend to sleep when they came round!! plenty of sun loungers even around the pools and hardly saw any evidence of the early rises with towels to bag a lounger brigade!!
My husband has a shellfish allergy and so has to be very careful what he eats.All the food signs were jumbled up so it was guess work most nights but luckily im a chef so had an idea what most dishes were although one night i did see a whole mound of prawns in their shells next to a platter of cheeses ( should have been kept totally separate as to not contaminate )
We Ate in the colonial most nights but did try the Asia, Spanish and steak.We walked out of the steak one after our mains as we seemed to be getting ignored rvrn though there was plenty of staff . And in the spanish resturant i watched as a waitress took a half drunk glass of beer off the dirty crockery trolley which they clear onto and re filled it and gave it another customer!!
Apart from the above and being ripped off big time in both sets of shops ( tried to sell us the equivalent of £200 for a few cheap souvenirs and when we said we had only had the quivalent of £50 and thats all we were prepared to pay he then said to bring him some drinks so feeling guilty we emptied the contents of our mini bar as it was our last day and took it back to him!! ( yes i know we are mugs!!) But the second day we were there just went to explore and found Caribbean street.We didn't take any money but soon found ourselves hussled into a shop and tasting different rums we told him we didn't have any money on us but insisted on filling a carrier bag with souvenirs and said he knew where we were staying from our wrist bands and would be over for the money later and would not take no for an answer and that was $120 of stuff!!! I really could kick myself now for being so stupid.I thought it would be as cheap as chips out there but how wrong was i!!
On our last night my husband and I went to sit near the seas edge as there was a nice breeze coming off the sea when a man carrying some boxes of cigars approached us.He wasnt in the usual sellers uniform and we politely said no.He then said I have everything weed, coke to which we said no.He walked off muttering but was hanging about hiding amongst the palm trees so we decided to move closer to the beach bar and watched him approach more people who were sitting on the loungers in the dark trying to get a bit of peace and they all declined his offers and he then came and asked us again and by this time i was feeling very nervous so we decided to head back to our room but the whole time we walked back i kept turning around to check he wasnt following us thats how scared i felt and he was acting very suspiciously.
Got home Friday morning and by Sunday started with stomach cramps gurgling guts and very watery motions. Im not saying I got it at the Bambu as I enjoyed all the food on offer but just thought i would mention it as today is Wednesday and im still not 100%
Other than the above we did
enjoy our stay and want to mention to our maid who left our room spotless everyday and Judy the tui rep who's brilliant.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Albeamiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

My family traveled there the beginning of August and were disappointed. The Beach was nice and the pools hence the 2 star rating.
Upon check-in the reception was rushed... No reception drink Which I always thought was a nice touch. The bags never made it the room... Had to call frontbdesk.
Very few of the items in the buffet were labeled. The buffet had a lot of flies which was gross! Restaurants did not take reservations... If you did not arrive at 6...good luck. Hibachi was our favorite.
4th day became very sick... No sign in bathroom not to use water to brush teeth. Sign only existed in the new rooms. Believe I got so sick from that.
Ridiculous price gauging on simple necessities... Imodium for 10 tablets was 25.00 and a small package of tampons 40.00!
The resort itself was visually boring... Everything was white... The grass was very sparse and barely any flowers.
Entertainment was OK... Everything was in a different language... Very hard to even ask for a drink.. No-one understands English. I'm a wine drinker and the wine was very bad...the mixed drinks were not any better. Very disappointed due to all the money spent... It will be along time before I travel out of the US after this experience!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Bambu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests. We regret to read that you have left our hotel with an opposite idea in your mind. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve our services. We will share your impressions with the corresponding department in order to make adjustments, if necessary.

We hope you will choose to visit us again, and give us a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Great place for vacation. Plenty of activities for every body, pools are great, beach it's ok. Food was excellent, rooms were very nice and clean. The only thing here is that everything outside the hotel is REALLY expensive, I will go as far as saying that the locals take advantage and charge ridiculous money for things that you and I know are not that expensive. If i ever go again I will make sure that we just stay in the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank nelsonl848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Sick to death of the die hard moaners. For the price of the holiday to a beautiful island don't be so negative. The petty things you moan about are ridiculous. The staff work long hours and very hard to make your stay enjoyable. Give them some credit. I can't believe that today I read a review complaining that a man went to the a la cart buffet at lunchtime in cut off shorts flip flops and a baseball cap back to front. So what. HE'S ON HOLIDAY!!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
18  Thank ChelleBrown1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed 18th-25th August!
When we arrived, someone took our luggage to the room for us. there was also lots of people around ensuring check in was fast for everyone. yes it was busy, but we weren't neglected or waiting ages.
Room was clean, mini bar was stocked and the maid Spent time to create us swans etc out of towels.
The 2, restaurants we had to be at to get a table was steakhouse and Italian. Food was lovely and staff were always around to help or to top up drinks.
We also tried the Mexican and Chinese restaurant where staff were friendly and we never had an empty glass.
Buffett was repetitive and not many labels about but there are chefs on the stations cooking the food. There no chef on the cold pasta, cheese, dessert stations.
We spent first 2 days by the 2 main pools were the entertainment staff are, it was noisy with music and people cheering. There are 2 other pools to choose from one other with a swim up bar and another without. There was also a small children's pool next to the quieter swim up bar pool. There were also tennis courts and a Rui land for the children. There are always sun beds avalible with or without shade.
Beach is lovely,morning is better less seaweed about then.
Entertainment was not our cup of tea, there was a lot of dancing but I can understand why because there were so many nationalities it would have been hard to communicate anything else.
Shops are expensive on Caribbean street and there another little cluster of shops. I would recommend taking the bus ride that costs 6dollars each from the hotel to a small shopping centre as it's a lot cheaper for the same gifts and souvenirs & it's also 3hrs out of hotel.
Trips we thought were expensive for what you got, but it was nice to have time out of hotel. We went with Thomson for our trips.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
9  Thank catherines696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Bambu, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.

On the one hand, we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our friendly and helpful service during check in. They take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service that our guests expect. We would also like to thank you for bringing up your satisfaction regarding the beauty of our beach.

On the other hand, we always encourage our guests to ask our staff about the ingredients in the dishes in case this is not made clear by the signs placed in our main buffet. They will be more than glad to assist you with anything you need.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you again at one of our RIU hotels in order to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews