We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3 131)
Filter reviews
3 131 results
Traveller rating
2 389
481
160
56
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 389
481
160
56
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jay z el patio seaside grill preferred club la diva preferred pool magic mike rosewater restaurant secret box mr obama coco cafe entertainment staff secrets the vine preferred building escargot ocean view nachos
Filter
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 3 131 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We stayed at Secrets Cap Cana in June and we enjoyed our stay! Although the weather wasn't great, the entertainment team tried to make the best of it by giving us games to play and keeping us busy. The food at all the restaurants were really good, especially for an all inclusive. No complaints with the good at all! The gym was well equipped. The rooms were really nice and clean and that shower was absolutely amazing! I think if you are looking for an adults only getaway with a relaxed environment and good food, then this a good place for you!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Marisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsCapCana, eConcierge and social network coordinator at Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Dear Marisa D,

Receive a strong greeting on behalf of the entire team that makes up Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa.

We greatly appreciate your comments. We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy your excellent stay and that the design and decoration of our facilities were of total pleasure, including the comfort of our rooms, the quality and variety of our gastronomic offer, as well as our great and impressive infinity pool and spectacular beach.

For us it has been an honor to welcome you and offered you a memorable stay.

Thank you for staying at Secrets Cap Cana Resorts & Spa. It would be an honor to welcome you again for your next vacation.

A cordial greeting,

eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.seccc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

I have just experienced the best vacation of my life. Complements to SECRETS for having a wonderful immaculate and comfortable resort. A courteous, professional attentive staff that are willing to go above and beyond to make you happy. A special special thank you to the Oceana staff (Manager)Franklin, Zolanlly (Hostess), Pacheco Ruddy (Waiters). You all are an exceptional group of people. Portofino’s waitress Rosa , manager Omar and hostess Clarisse. Thank you so much for your attentive remarkable service that you provide. Lastly The EXCELLENT entertainment staff Mr. Monkey, Mini Me, Mr. Blue, and Mr. Chicken Legs. Thank you all for your upbeat, motivated and extremely fun activities. The best fun I ever had. Secrets is truly a five star resort. You can go wrong here.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Terrence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsCapCana, eConcierge and social network coordinator at Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Dear Terrence J,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments to us regarding your stay at Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa. We are pleased to that our staff and their personalized service made you enjoyed your stay and they appreciate you mentioned them in this important platform. Franklin, Zolanlly (Hostess), Pacheco Ruddy (Waiters), Rosa, Omar, Clarisse are very happy and feel proud about it.

We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you back at our resort in the near future.


Best regards,

eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.seccc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We are 20 plus year veterans of adults only, all inclusive resorts at a rate of about three to four per year. Properties visited include Excellence, The Iberostar Grands, Sandals, El Dorado, Palace, Sanctuary, as well as many other Secrets, and to some, multiple times. This is our second vacation at Secrets Cap Cana and just as predicted at our first visit during their grand opening in December 2016, this resort has become another jewel in the Secrets tiara. Interested readers may see our first review of this property by visiting: https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g147293-d10175054-r446805594-Secrets_Cap_Cana_Resort_Spa-Punta_Cana_La_Altagracia_Province_Dominican_Republi.html

GROUNDS
Since our first visit where some parts of the resort were still unfinished, Secrets Cap Cana has blossomed into a beautiful, lush resort whose layout makes sense and is fairly easy to navigate. While some resorts charge for or limit Wi-Fi access, free Wi-Fi is generally available throughout the resort. Several restaurants are situated in the main building area, with a fairly well equipped gym and spa nearby. On the second floor, one can find the main lobby, concierges, shops and the administrative offices, a bar where one can be serenaded by different musicians at night. It also houses the Coco Café, a 24 hour coffee and dessert place which was a frequent hangout of ours - we sooo should have gone to the gym more than once! Thank you Luis and Dania for always preparing our coffee orders perfectly.

More centrally located is the Preferred Club. If you are able, upgrading to Preferred Club status will get you a staff of dedicated concierges, an exclusive lounge, a separate quicker check-in/out process, Preferred accommodations and other amenities – thank you Head Preferred Concierge Eloisa. Dedicated butlers are available for Preferred guests as well, and ours took care of our every need – we really appreciated Mesca whose attention to us was unparalleled.

POOLS/BEACH
There are two main pools; the larger of the two hosts the poolside activities and has a swim-up bar, and a second quieter pool is for Preferred Club guests. We stayed at the latter - thank you Felix, Yasmin, Isaac and Angel for attending to us. There seemed to be plenty of lounges to go around earlier in the day, but they did fill up by late morning/early afternoon. We did notice that unlike the main pool, where orange towels were readily available for guests to help themselves, the Preferred pool purple towels seemed to be rationed. However, pool staff provided as many as requested. Also, there were a limited number of rafts, but we saw several guests hoarding them by keeping them by their chairs as if claiming them as their own. We wished the resort was more proactive in enforcing the policy of returning the raft to the pool when not in use so that other guests may enjoy them.

Tip: The sun is really intense in the Caribbean. While 30 SPF is recommended, it may not be as effective as desired. Bring at least 50 SPF or better.

Because of global warming as the probable cause, the beach, unfortunately, was a victim of Mother Nature’s wrath who dumped dying kelp and seaweed on its shore and shallower water in abundance. There was so much, the beach was frequented by much fewer guests than usual which was really a shame, because at our previous stay, we experienced a very pretty white sandy beach with beautiful clear waters. The bay that surrounds the resort keeps the waters calmer and less prone to waves that, under better conditions, made going into the ocean a pleasure. During this visit, however, being a bay was more of a detriment as cleaner waters weren’t washing up to the shore as readily which perhaps could have helped the seaweed situation somewhat. One could walk out over 300 yards and the water is only about waist high.

Tip: If you have sensitive city feet like we do, you may want to use water shoes to get by the seaweed and the occasional rocky bottom.

We know that much of the Caribbean is suffering the same fate, having experienced a lot of seaweed from our recent travels to various resorts in the Gulf of Mexico. There is a very concerted effort by Secrets and the other oceanfront sharing resorts to come up with a method of combating this issue. We take our hats off to the groundskeeping crew who, besides tending to the gardening and cleanliness of the resort, also worked non-stop to clean up the seaweed as best they could. We also heard that the amounts of seaweed accumulated should abate in the coming weeks, so this should be encouraging to beach lovers.

RESTAURANTS
There are five main restaurants in the same general area - for dinner, one can partake of Italian dishes at Portofino, Mexican fare at Patio, Pan-Asian dishes at Himitsu and at Bordeaux, our favorite, French cuisine is served. For breakfast and lunch, you can dine at the Market Café that offers an international buffet, and there was an abundance of choices. Nearer to the pools and beach, you can find Seaside Grill, where our steaks were cooked perfectly, and the Oceana for seafood, and both offer lunch and dinner. The Barefoot Grill has burgers, hot dogs and the like during the day - thank you Nestor - and the Rosewater serves tapas for Preferred guests. None of the restaurants take reservations, so in busier times, you may have to wait. If you do, beepers are provided.

Tip: If the Chateaubriand special is available at the Bordeaux, order it.

We have definitely noticed that, since our prior stay, the food has been elevated. There are various higher end beef and steak options, lamb, veal and others, all cooked to order and done beautifully for the most part. Various types of shellfish are offered as well, with our personal favorite being grilled octopus. The menus are evolving and food choices are becoming more gourmet-like, thanks in part to the recent arrival of Head Chef Ibai, who we know will continue to do wonderous things. We also want to recognize Head Sous Chef Jose-Luis for his talents.

ACCOMMODATIONS
We stayed at one of the Preferred buildings, where the suites are more centrally located, the rooms are spacious and there is plenty of drawers and closet space, even for us over-packers. The beds are big and comfy, and the bedroom areas have flat screen TV’s and tablets for the guest’s use. The bathroom area boasts a large shower area with two waterfall showerheads, and through a diverter, a hand shower. There are also two sinks and electric outlets on both sides, but alas, no in-room Jacuzzi, which we would have liked. However, many, if not all of the Preferred rooms have tubs on the balconies. A nod goes to our day housekeeper, Yodelka and to the night turndown housekeeper (sorry, we didn’t get the name) for their very appreciated consistent service.

SERVICE
Extraordinarily high service levels is where Secrets Cap Cana really shines. No request was too minor and was always dealt with quickly and done right the first the time – no multiple phone calls necessary. If a staffer couldn’t get what you needed or was able to address your issue, s/he would always find someone who could. And if our fractured Spanish was unintelligible, we could always find a translator nearby. We were truly blown away by the resort’s commitment to superior service.

At this juncture, aside from those already mentioned, we’d like to acknowledge other staff members who we felt went above and beyond.

At the Market Café, we’d like to thank cooks Ernesto and Carlos. Also thanks to Brianda, Monica, and Antonio for their overall assistance, smoothie preparer Miladys, and servers Lucidania, Ysaina, and Ivan (who’s also a terrific circus ribbon performer). At Portofino, we’d like to thank Managers Omar and Emanuel, hostess Clarissa and server Raphael. We’d also like to give a nod to Himitsu Manger Carlos and Patio Manager Kenia along with hostess Yasmin. At the Bordeaux, a big thank you goes to Managers Christian and Darling, hostess Marlene, server Euris, and a special nod to the talented Chef Jose-Alberto, aka Krilin. A shout also goes out to Food and Beverage Manager Felix who gave us some great menu suggestions. Additionally, we thoroughly enjoyed musicians Rosemary and Anna who played at the Market Café’s breakfast.

We recognize that the reason for all this excellence in large part stems from General Manger extraordinaire Lionel Gomez, who opened not just one but two Secrets resorts within a span of a couple of years – no small feat. His skill and dedication is very evident to us. And we would be remiss if we did not mention how much we loved swapping stories with Daniel Hernandez, a passionate manager who inspires those around him.

In conclusion and as you’ve probably guessed by now, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Secrets Cap Cana, and know you will have a similar wonderful experience if you choose this resort for your next vacation. We are already planning ours.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
41  Thank fifibubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsCapCana, eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator at Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Dear fifibubba,

Receive a strong greeting on behalf of the entire team that makes up Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa.

We thank you very much for leaving us your detailed impressions regarding your recent stay at our property, we are pleased that you were able to enjoy your excellent stay and that the design and decoration of our facilities were of total pleasure, including the comfort of our rooms, the quality and variety of our gastronomic offer, as well as our great and impressive infinity pool and spectacular beach.

For us it has been an honor to welcome you and offered you a memorable stay. It fills us with joy to know that all our attentions were up to your expectations and you could have a satisfactory and amazing experience.

Thank you for staying at Secrets Cap Cana Resorts & Spa. It would be an honor to welcome you again for your next vacation.

A cordial greeting,

eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.seccc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Such a disappointment - we were getting prepared for months for this trip and were dreaming about the beach and the clean ocean water just to see the dirty and smelly seaweed (sargasso) when we arrived. Piles of this disgusting stuff were on the shore and in the water - you would have to walk at least 10 minutes in order to get to more or less clean water passing thru hundreds of dead fish. The smell of rotten eggs was everywhere - on the beach (which was obviously empty), at the pool (which was obviously overcrowded) and even at the hotel room. We understand the "weather conditions" excuse, but we don't understand a lack of communication from Amstar who never revealed this "secret" neither to their Tour Operators, nor to their Customers. Very sad.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank le0nidgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsCapCana, eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator at Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear le0nidgl,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments to us regarding your stay at Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa. Let us apologize for not exceeding your expectations in some aspects of your stay with us. We value your comments and will let them know about.

We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you back at our resort and futher enhance your recent vacation with us.


Best regards,

eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.seccc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

My goodness this was the best resort I have ever stayed at. From the time you get to resort you are handed Champaign. They take your luggage to room and escort you to the door. We went as preferred it included a separate private beach, restaurant and bar . Unlimited food and drinks! We stayed in a junior swim out suit basically had our own pool . While on beach our concierge sent us a picnic basket. They recommend tipping and we did without any hesitation all the employees went above and beyond to please you.we enjoyed all the food but never made it to the buffet. We did breakfast for room service and it was massive they have daily activities to keep you entertained and nightly music.

Pro : Our room! No kids! Food ! Gorgeous beach

Con: Not all wine is included ,you have to pay extra. We went in June and seaweed was very bad we didn’t see anyone go into ocean. If you go to VIP service they try to get you to buy timeshare

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Tami007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsCapCana, eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator at Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear Tami007,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments to us regarding your stay at Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa.

On the other hand, let us apologize for not exceeding your expectations in some other aspects of your stay with us. We value your comments, and as our guest’s feedback is truly important to us and we are consciously revising all of your remarks.

We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you back at our resort in the near future.


Best regards,

eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.seccc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews