We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
7
20
16
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
20
16
12
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Check in was a normal experience, with the night staff providing a level of service suitable to the type of hotel. Unfortunately the lift was inoperative, and no porter was available to assist us in taking our luggage up 2 flights of stairs.The hallway in which my room was located was missing most of it's ceiling, and had no real lighting.
The toilet in my room had apparently not been cleaned, or someone had decided to use it after the fact.
The room had no ceiling lighting, only a couple of bedside lamps, which weren't very effective at lighting the room for my late night arrival.
Unfortunately air-conditioning was unavailable, so a lethargic ceiling fan was the only cooling option. Opening the window was an unhelpful choice, as being right on the road frontage results in a lot of noise from revellers below.
To be honest, I'd stay here again, but I'd want to see the price improved drastically for the product I received.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jared W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

The Garraway Hotel has been operating under great constraints following the passage of Hurricane Maria. We inform all potential clients that the hotel has limited services with no air conditioning, lift is inoperational, the restaurant only offers a continental breakfast which has been included in the rate of an extremely discounted daily price of US$85 inclusive of taxes. This has been due to the fact that the hotel despite not having started its repairs is still offering accommodation just to facilitate guests as many hotels have been destroyed. We have made it clear to everyone who wants to make a booking that this situation is not normal and guests must realise that the product cannot be the same until we start and complete our repairs and renovations which will restore the hotel to a much improved state.
We apologise but also expect guests to understand the the entire country has been severely damaged and it is not fair to criticise knowing what we have gone through and are still going through. While we appreciate your patronage we also expect your understanding and are disappointed that given the situation we are being evaluated as though things are normal. The entire situation is abnormal and we are trying out best despite the challenges to provide jobs and a service though limited. Thank you for your understanding. and support as we continue to deal with the aftermath of a category 5 hurricane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

It's not a 5-star resort by any stretch of the imagination but everything that we needed for our business trip was available at the Garraway.

The staff - Friendly
The food - not great but it worked
The Location - Spot on if you are working in town
The Rooms - Clean & Comfortable
The Price - Affordable
The Conference Room - Everything that we needed

I haven't been to the hotel since Irma & Maria, I only hope that they are still up and running

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Wood246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for your support and patraoage. We expect to deliver a much improved product once we have completed our repairs and renovations following the devastation left by hurricane Maria.,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel is convenient for if you want to be near the town but it could do with some uplifting. Another thing is there is no safe parking if you happen to have a rental plus I felt as if the building was in the middle of the road, eay to close to the edge. But on the plus side the staff at the desk are friendly and the rates aren't going to burst your pocket.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ché O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you so much for your encouraging remarks. We are doing our very best under very trying circumstances following the devastation caused by hurricane Maria to provide a very limited service although the hotel has not started its repairs. We hope that the next time you visit you will be accommodated in a much better and improved product. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We didn't actually choose the Garraway by ourselves - we were transferred to the Garraway for the night when hurricane Maria hit Dominica. The hotel was sturdy and all geared up for the hurricane, unluckily she was too strong and the hotel was still quite damaged. The hotel has back up generator so there was limited provision of power. The hotel staff took excellent care of all scared hotel guests. They tried their best to make everyone comfortable by providing beddings and fan (all rooms were destroyed and not safe for guests to stay in). They also provided meals and made sure everyone had enough food and water while the guests were stranded and waiting for evacuation teams. They even stayed in the hotel for the guests before checking their own homes. I hope all the best for the hotel as well as Dominica. It's all these whole-hearted people that would make your trip great.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

We are so touched by your kind and generous comments following the devastation we all suffered following hurricane Maria. It gives us the courage to carry on and we have to thank our staff for going out of their way to ensure that you were all well taken care of. We have not yet started our repairs but hope that once these have been completed the product will be much improved and in keeping with international standards which we hope to achieve. Thanks again for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a place to have dinner. Being the only ones in the restaurants should have been a big sign... The few cocktails were fine so we decided to have dinner.... big mistake ever
The food was flavourless and we waited at least 40 min.
The bill was very expensive and we still do not understand why.
The staff was very nice but the food was worst a canteen level.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Clarisse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

We apologise for the food but wondered whether you had the opportunity to bring this to the attention of staff before you left. In such circumstances we usually do not take payment from our guests and invite them to have another meal of their choice free of charge. We nevertheless thank you for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews