We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$99
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$117
View deal
Agoda.com
US$117
US$64
View deal
SAVE US$53
Free cancellation until 21/06/25
Hotels.comUS$117
TravelocityUS$117
PricelineUS$99
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveller rating
191
217
83
21
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
191
217
83
21
24
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 536 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2019

I have wonderful stay here, staff is super friendly and alsoways willingness to help the guests. It is also in walking distance from the inner city of Willemstad. Hotel is safe with good car rental services. I would recommended Ritz Village hotel.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vojtbiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-Village, Owner at The Ritz Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Thanks for you review! I will let our staff know how much you appreciated their great service! We hope you can return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2019 via mobile

Shower with cold water, almost no light in the bathroom, outside space (semi-open) shared with mostly smoking people, no private balcony or terras. Kitchen things broken and/or not working. Very dark room, like in a basement. Location not very nice, especially for woman when you want to have dinner elsewhere. Pool between walls. Positive: spacious room, and good cleaning.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Esther_vdL_2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-Village, Owner at The Ritz Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2019

Hi thanks for your review, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We do have solar water heating, we are sorry to hear this was not sufficient. The outside terraces are where people who smoke must go as our rooms are non smoking, I will check your room to ensure the kitchen things are in order. As an urban hotel, we have a map for the best route to walk downtown, we are sorry you did not like the pool that is in the sender of the buildings, We wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2019 via mobile

We stayed there for 8 days ..has been a wonderful experience. Especially the staff is super friendly and alsoways willingness to help the guests.
It is not a 5 star hotel. You shouldn't expect that given the rate pay for a night stay. But it is worthed every penny. It is also in walking distance from the inner city of Willemstad, Pounds etc.. you save lots of money on the expensive taxi's on the island.. beter to rent a car or use public transportation.
But I would recommended Ritz Village hotel. For a wonderful stay. And don't look for details that you will find 8n 5 or 6 star hotels. it's not fair to judge them on this details.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Aniel1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-Village, Owner at The Ritz Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2019

Thanks for your review! We do are best to have 5star service on your 3star budget! Glad you appreciate this! We hope you can return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2019 via mobile

So we got the loft one the biggest size, with ocean view and balcony. we got nada.they said sorry buy picture is old. worst part about it they didnt even offer US the room we booked even at a higher rate. also a/c sucks. no place to put soap in shower, not a singular ammenity item either. from soap to ear buds..etc

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank vdawg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-Village, Owner at The Ritz Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2019

Sorry to hear that your experience was unsatisfactory. The lofts and cottages are our most expensive rooms, I’m sorry you did not realize. We will ensure the information on you booking site is up to date, as an urban hotel, not really ocean views. Sorry about that confusion. We are in the process of installing new safes and soap/shampoo dispensers in all rooms. Sorry you did not experience that. We wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2019

I visited the Ritz hotel this month, and it's the worst hotel ever. A can of coke cost $2.25, and there's no water in the vending machine.To make matters worst, there was no soap in the bathroom to bathe. When it rained the room was flooding, there's no mats on the floor, and there's no phones in the room. The service is horrible I will not recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Angela_12g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-Village, Owner at The Ritz Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2019

We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. Like many hotels, we are following the trend of no phones and investing in our free WiFi. In curacao we have a modern de salination plant that gives us drinking water from the tap. Sorry water was sold out of the vending machine. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and had an issue with rainfall. We wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews