We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$141
Hotels.comUS$141
TravelocityUS$141
Orbitz.comUS$141
PricelineUS$141
eDreamsUS$141
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 023)
Filter reviews
1 023 results
Traveller rating
712
247
46
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
712
247
46
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool satay blue building dive center bbq night city beach within walking distance standard room boutique hotel dive trip ceiling fan bedroom apartment the security guard yogurt center of willemstad full kitchen visit curacao
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1 023 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2021 via mobile

I was attracted by the photos of the colorful buildings and as i am a diver I went for it.
Actually you can go scubadiving with them without staying at overpriced rooms.
First night my standard room was not ready so I got a superior one which was horrid. With a balcony over the street, broken shutters and drawers, unequipped kitchen (coffee machine but no coffee) etc. Avoid suite 27!!!
The girl at the reception didn’t speak any english so it was a lot if gesturing and trying to guess what she wants to say.
Luckilly in the next day i got my standard room which was much more quiet and had coffee. The shower was broken though.
The restaurant is really nice but you have to book because they take reservations from anyone and often there are no free tables. There was also another lady at the reception who was speaking english.
However i would recommend you to stay at some if the boutique hotels on the same street which look more cosy and offer much better prices

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Ema_Stefanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scuba Lodge Info, Owner at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Hi Ema,

We are sorry to read that your stay with us didn't live up to your expectations. Our hotel ranks in the top 3 of best-rated hotels on Curaçao for at least five consecutive years now and has many reviews that confirm this.

Most of our staff are multilingual and speak English, Spanish, Dutch, and/or Papiamento (the local language on our island.) The reception staff who you mention in your review felt overwhelmed and couldn't find the words to express herself adequately. We will be working with her to avoid similar situations in the future because check-in should be a pleasant and smooth experience. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Since our hotel was experiencing low occupancy due to the lockdown, we offered you a complimentary upgrade from the standard room that you booked to one of our superior rooms. Our superior rooms are more spacious, are equipped with a kitchenette, and have a private porch or balcony. Since you weren't satisfied with this free upgrade, we moved you to a standard room instead. After reading your review, our staff did a thorough check-up in room #27 and all drawers seem to be working fine. The shutters in all of our rooms can be closed, and we wish our team could have helped you with this during your stay.

It is correct that non-hotel guests can go scuba diving with our dive center. Our dive center welcomes everyone who wishes to (learn how to) scuba dive, but as a guest of our hotel, you receive a discount on diving packages and dive courses that non-guests can not make use of!

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, restaurants on the island need to follow certain rules that may limit the number of guests that can be seated. Our restaurant serves both in-house guests and visitors from outside, and under normal circumstances, we usually have seats available for walk-ins. However, due to the current situation, we recommend making reservations, both at our oceanfront restaurant, as well as other restaurants on the island.

We're disappointed that you find us overpriced but as one of the best hotels on the island, we feel that our rooms are priced accordingly to the value and amenities that our guests receive. We are located in the popular Pietermaai District, within walking distance to downtown Willemstad and touristic highlight, and we are right at the ocean. We offer two swimming pools exclusively for guests, a cozy city beach with a beach bar, an oceanfront restaurant & bar, a PADI certified dive center, daily housekeeping services, free use of beach towels, and coffee- and tea-making facilities in each room.

We always try to do our best to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable from the moment that they check in with us, but it sounds like we missed the mark during your stay. If you ever return to the island, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again and show you better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2021

We stayed at Scuba Lodge for 5 nights. On our last 4 days, a lockdown was imposed - this still allowed the restaurant/bar to remain open for hotel guests. Also the pool could be used without restrictions. The staff really went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay during the lockdown! We (as well as the other guests) each received a complimentary upgrade to better room categories (since the hotel was not fully booked). We moved from our double room with kitchen to a beautiful and large suite (living room, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, large balcony with ocean view). The suite made the round-the-clock stay at the hotel gorgeous and it felt like pure relaxation instead of lockdown.
But also for a "normal" stay, the simple double rooms are highly recommended - pretty, simple and everything needed is there. Even without a private balcony, the hotel offers enough places to make yourself comfortable in the beautiful, associated garden.
The food in the restaurant was very tasty and varied. In addition to the pool, there is a very small beach section, from which you can get into the sea (over stones, recommended with shoes) - here you can snorkel. A diving school is also there, but we could not try due to the lockdown.
The staff is super polite, good-humored, attentive and very helpful. Especially one employee at the reception makes the impression that she likes nothing better than her job and makes you from the first minute in the best mood and vacation mood!
The hotel is in a great location. Many sights can be reached on foot.

Overall, a hotel where price-performance ratio absolutely fit and which would have deserved more than the three stars.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle-Serret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scuba Lodge Info, Owner at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2021

We can't thank you enough for your kind words and for sharing your recent experience at Scuba Lodge with us, and fellow Tripadvisor users! Reviews like yours help us to continue to meet (and exceed) guest expectations and keep us motivated even in the most challenging times.

We would love to welcome you again in the future, once the lockdown has been lifted. If you had such a wonderful time staying with us during the island's lockdown, we are sure that you will have an absolute blast once things are back to normal again! Please know that you are always welcome here.

Sunny regards,

Team Scuba Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2021 via mobile

We stayed in the Ocean view room with fantastic seaview and a big balcony where we enjoyed our breakfast every morning with the sound & view of the ocean. Nice ocean view restaurant and pool. A big thanks to Dalies for her great service and the biggest smile. Nothing was too much trouble to help with all our requests. Great location in Pietermaai close to many nice restaurants and the city. Hotel rooms are split over different iconic Curaçao houses which makes it unique and cozy. We look forward to coming back!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JM333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scuba Lodge Info, Owner at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2021

Thank you so much for your kind words!

It makes us happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, the ocean views from our hotel are spectacular―these views never get old! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Dalies & Team Scuba Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2021

Scuba Lodge is a big property in the center of Willemstad, more exactly in the party area of Pietermaai.
They have multiple buildings with gorgeous spacious apartments, equipped with all you need and with a great view on both sides,whether you have one facing the ocean, or the colourful buildings on the other side. They also have two pools areas where you can relax, one with a great view to the ocean and a more peaceful one that has also some shadow from the palm trees.
My favourite place from Scuba Lodge was their little beach terrace with vintage furniture, palm trees, bougainvillea and dim lights. That place is magical and if you ever go to Curaçao, you most definitely have to stay there and enjoy one of their Sunday’s barbeque parties. The atmosphere is amazing!

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Larisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2021

Our family of three absolutely loved our stay at Scuba Lodge. We had a spacious 2-bedroom apartment with a big terrace overlooking the sea. Every morning we'd sit out on the terrace to have breakfast while watching the huge waves tumbling beneath our feet. After a day of exploring, we would return for a swim in the infinity pool (which we often had all to ourselves) and watch sunset. The pool was an excellent spot for catching the epic sunsets of Curacao. We also slept very well here -- I loved being lulled to sleep by the sound of the crashing waves.

We also really enjoyed eating at the restaurant at Scuba Lodge -- there was always an endless flow of people coming in to eat, whether at breakfast, lunch or dinner time. The breakfast box was amazing, with generous portions of yogurt, granola, eggs, and bread. Dinner at the restaurant during sunset was even more amazing -- the food was excellent (though pricey) and the ambiance was lively.

Another thing that we loved about Scuba Lodge was its location. It's located in the colorful, hip Pietermaai district, within walking distance from beautiful architecture and great restaurants. The popular Nieuwestraat is nearby and the heart of Willemstad is just a 10-min walk away. We felt like we had everything we needed surrounding us.

All in all, I highly recommend the Scuba Lodge to families and couples who want to be in the heart of Curacao and right next to the sea.

Room tip: Choose the Habaai suite if you're looking for an apartment with the best view!
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews