We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7 654)
Filter reviews
7 654 results
Traveller rating
4 898
1 989
564
120
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4 898
1 989
564
120
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star friends japanese restaurant spa pool lobby bar lobster water polo a la carte restaurants surf and turf junior suite evening entertainment entertainment staff main buffet main pool kids club other resorts wedding coordinator fantastic holiday
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 7 654 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Our room was impeccable and clean. The resort was in amazing condition and workers were constantly working on replacing palm tree leaves, bringing coconuts down, painting exteriors of the buildings, etc. The pool is gorgeous but was a little cold with the nights still being chilly. We got used to it within a few minutes. The spa pool is amazing and very relaxing. The resort has beds and hammocks and loungers everywhere which is amazing. They also offer shade over their loungers on the beach which was appreciated and very convenient, just pull your lounger out to the sun and move it back to the shade when you're too hot. They also offer drink service on the beach. The food was food, nothing special but you won't go hungry. The Japanese restaurant was my favourite a la carte, such a fun experience. Ricardo at concierge arranged for us to go on a day trip to Havana in an old car with a tour guide, it was amazing! Definitely ask him when you're there, he's so nice, all of the staff were. I would highly recommend exchanging money at the airport before you leave for the resort (it's outside of the airport), the resort charged way more than was necessary ($80 to exchange $300 where the ATM in Havana charged us $3 to exchange $100) and you don't need a private transfer, just use a certified taxi. We felt extremely safe and secure. The rooms were in good condition and kept very clean. The staff was incredible. The beach is amazing and so beautiful, there's a bar there as well which worked out well. We will definitely be back!
For the airport, make sure you bring Kleenex and the toilets do not have seats there. In Havana it was the same thing, bring you're own toilet paper, probably a good rule of thumb if you're off resort.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
7  Thank VacaFlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Room Division M, Quality Manager IBEROSTAR Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your positive review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at IBEROSTAR Varadero.
We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with our services.
Be assured that your valuable comments will be shared with our staff.
Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcome you back anytime soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful resort! My second time here, and the staff are nothing but the best. They were accommodating to our large group of 30, and had us seated together almost every night- including al la cart restaurants.

They have a beautiful beach- where the lawn chairs are set up every morning in rows. The towel exchange is efficient as you can exchange it for a dry one. The gym has everything you’ll need for a workout.

With multiple food locations you can never go hungry, and there is such a large variety.

The staff here work very hard and I cannot wait to visit these friends again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
6  Thank Jaclyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Room Division M, Quality Manager IBEROSTAR Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for choosing IBEROSTAR Varadero! We appreciate your wedding comments on TripAdvisor! At IBEROSTAR Varadero we work really hard to offer great service to our guests. Please do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

This was our fourth stay at this resort. I have been to many other resorts, but this remains the best in Cuba.

Beach
The hurricane did wonders for the beach. There used to be a hill before heading into the water, but now everything has been flattened out and the sand area is wider. The service is great, the waiters come by with refreshing drinks even without you having to ask. One day, they even brought us popcorn to snack on.

Food
There is usually a good selection to choose from. We had lobster twice at the buffet out of our 10-day stay so I can't complain. Personally, I preferred the old system where the cooks prepared the meat/fish and refilled the pots as soon as they were running out but now you must get in line and wait for them to cook it for you. They also added a kid menu with hot-dogs, hamburgers and eggs available for lunch and dinner. The only issue I had, was that there were no bananas for the majority of our stay. Some nights I saw that they fried them .. perhaps it would have been a better idea putting the fresh bananas out for the kids to eat!

Entertainment
There used to be two pool tables and an Xbox 360 in the gaming room, but now there is only one pool table and a foosball table left. Therefore, on days where the weather was not so good my son was getting bored.

Staff
​A special thanks to Adrian at the buffet. he is always very attentive and friendly. He is one of the main reason we come back to this resort.

Room
This is the area that needs improvements. Our maid Magnolia seemed to lack motivation to do any work. She used to simply come into the room pull up the covers, change the towels and leave. She did not even wash the glasses we used, I had to do it myself. The other maids I saw around the resort seem to be putting in more effort, but ours was terrible. After 7 days, I had to request for the bedsheets to be changed. After the first couple of days, she saw we hadn't left her a tip yet and she just avoided us from then on. I will gladly give people a tip but they must show that they deserve it.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank LinaM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Room Division M, Quality Manager IBEROSTAR Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear guest,

It is rewarding to read that you had a good holiday and enjoyed our hotel.
We will address your concerns to our Housekeeper so she can take the proper actions in order to avoid this situations form happening again. Your feedback is very important to our team as it assures the improvement of our services.
We hope to have you back in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We stayed at Iberostar Varadero from March 17 to 24/18. It was our first trip to Cuba. We arrived late at night and were disappointed when we saw our room: It had 3 beds - we were only 2 adults - and the room smelled musty and moldy, like it hadn't been aired out in years. The mattresses were in very poor condition. We inquired at the front desk for a different room and were told to come back in the morning after people had checked out.
After a sleepless night, they were able to give us a different room and what a difference! A king-sized bed in a large room that looked clean and smelled clean.
We enjoyed the resort very much - the spa pool was an excellent place to relax as it was very quiet and had lovely beds to lounge on. The entire resort was very clean. All bathrooms very clean.
The lobby bar was great to sit at in the evening, listening to the musicians they had playing each night.
Evening entertainment was excellent. The disco was empty every night we peeked in. Not sure why.
The staff were all very friendly and kind and helpful.
The beach was huge and beautiful and there were always loungers available for use.
Unfortunately, the sour note was with the food. We had been warned about the food in Cuba - people said it was bland and to bring our own spices. We found that spices would not have fixed what was wrong with it in many cases. The bread was stale, the eggs undercooked, the sausage had a sour off-taste, the cold cuts and cheese looked unappetizing sitting there unrefrigerated on the platters, the desserts were all of a gelatinous texture. We saw them grilling the chicken by the pool without any seasoning whatsoever on it, which explained the taste. We tried the Mediterranean a la carte one night and had the most disgusting meal of the week. It started with a lobster soup that tasted like ditch water. The fish my husband had had no flavour. The veal filled cannelloni that I had was covered in a gross creamy cheese that was overwhelming. In fact, I made it no longer than 20 minutes into the meal before I had to run out to the restroom. My stomach remained upset for 3 days after.
We took a taxi into Varadero 2 times for 20 CUC one way. We hoped to find a restaurant in Varadero that would have better food. The driver dropped us off at a centrally located touristy area with a lot of shops. Strangely enough, we had a hard time finding a place to eat though. Since we were running out of time, we decided on a simple place that had spaghetti and pizza on the menu with very little else. Strange combinations - spaghetti and tuna, spaghetti and pineapple, spaghetti and ham, spaghetti and bacon. The spaghetti and bacon was tasty enough though. Or we were just hungry enough.
We also did a bus tour into Havana. I found that to be too rushed. We drove through New Havana - no stopping. Had lunch in Old Havana - not much better food than the resort and then only had an hour to explore Old Havana on our own. Next time I would arrange for a driver and car to take us into Havana instead. We also should have been warned that you have to pay to use the toilet anywhere outside the resort to make sure we have enough pesos along for that. It's a little shocking to see someone whose job it is to collect money for a square of toilet paper. The toilets also do not have seats so it's a squat and hover move.
The best part of Cuba is the people. They are so warm and welcoming we want to go back in spite of the food. Losing a bit of weight over the week wasn't a bad idea anyway. Next time we'd like to explore the countryside. And bring toilet paper along of course. The best of Cuba isn't on the resorts.

Stayed: March 2018
4  Thank jamaicanforeigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Room Division M, Quality Manager IBEROSTAR Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor about your stay at IBEROSTAR Varadero. We are very sorry for the concerns reported. During your next stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact me, our Relation Public Team and Hotel Management are at your entire disposal to solve any situation and make you stay very pleasant.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Love it...great service.. room spacious, very clean...only issue was hot water(no big deal hot country).. .friendliest people ever...loved the food...beach...pool...loved the Japanese a lacarte. Would love to go back again

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaB5444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Room Division M, Quality Manager IBEROSTAR Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your positive review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at IBEROSTAR Varadero.
We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with our services.
Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcome you back anytime soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews