We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
27
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clean rooms great place to stay key apartment host guests house
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017

The outside of the building is nothing to write home about. Sometimes the smell of sewage can be off putting. However, the apartment with two rooms and ensuite bathrooms is cosy and more than suitable for a stay in Havana. Pepe is very helpful and will take you on tours of the city if you so wish. He organsied a taxi to the airport in an old car which I enjoyed.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ianreynolds30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, Comercial at La Casa de Pepe B&B&T, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you so much for your review!!!!!!, We´ll keep working on making every detail perfect for our guests and we value very much your insights, about the sewage it was a minor problem already fixed ages ago, so we encorage you to visit us again, with us you have your home in Havana ,
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We contacted La Casa de Ana, but she was full and she recommended the casa of her partner La Casa de Pepe (or del Guia) for 6 nights in Havana.
La Casa de Pepe Guia is a small, homey apartment with 2 rooms for rent in Vedado close to Ana's. The very clean rooms each have 2 comfortable double beds, air conditioning, fan, mini bar conveniently stocked with water, sodas and beer, a safe, closet and modern bathroom. Your choice of a of a full or continental breakfast is served in the common area of the apartment under a window looking out on Vedado.
But the best part of the casa is the owner himself, Pepe. He was there every morning and evening to help us plan our activities, give advice on where to change money, how to get bus tickets, where to get internet, good restaurants and clubs-everything we needed. And always available by phone. We always came back to share happy hour with him as he's such an interesting and knowledgeable person to talk to.
We took his tour of Havana including Vedado, Centro and Old Havana in a classic car and had a blast (there were 6 of us in 2 cars). He really knows the places and history of Havana.
The other reviewer was correct, the outside of the building needs some work, but we found that to be true across Cuba-sometimes the outside isn't fixed up and the inside is or just as often, the other way around. For us, the location in Vedado was good as the old town was so busy and crowded with tourists that we were happy to return to calm Vedado at the end of the day.
I recommend Pepe's in Havana if you want a safe, warm and personal experience. I am happy to now call Pepe a friend.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PK1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, Comercial at La Casa de Pepe B&B&T, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review!!! It was our real pleasure to have you with us and show you around, not every day you meet new friends.You are always welcome to our home, now your home.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

We were cultural vacation travellers with a start and end in Havana, then 11 days on the road including a range of cities, south of Havana, ending at Santiago de Cuba. We spent 5 nights in Casa de Pepe.

From Airport to Casa -arrange by email a fair deal for a taxi before you arrive. Driver can display your name at the Jose Marti Airport- should be 30 CUC or less for the cab -1 to 4 people + bags.

The building itself may not meet expectations - see pic with arrows- but the interior of the 2nd floor, 2 bedrooms
apartment was fine -again see pics. Pepe and his staff were very welcoming and considerate [a little Spanish helps] and the other international visitors were interesting during our breakfast chats. Breakfast is extra to the room cost. Pepe was the star of our first impressions of Cuba.

Distance from Old Havana is a factor. You need to organize/negotiate and be very aware of your outbound and return transport process. Zhou can work out the best options for a late night cab back to La Casa which is located 8kms from old Havana activities.

Major route into/rtn to town is Calle 23 - buses and pubic taxis are available. I suggest you make the effort, but be aware that once dark, you have to be very certain of how you will get back from the city - you can't walk 25 city blocks.

Major reference landmarks -La Fabrica del Arte Cubana and the chimney; the necropolis - the massive and interesting inner city graveyard full of architectural delights- very prominent on maps on 23 street. This Casa is in the west end of the suburb of Vedado, close to the Malechon, and in line with the tunnel to Miramar, under the river.

This is not an area of restaurants/sight-seeing/ attractions on-foot. Excellent [late night] jazz club is in Melia hotel, on the waterfront 8 blocks away and La Casa de Musica in Miramar was great, go early.

Pros -Host Pepe is well-informed, bi-lingual, and does all possible to ensure that guests have a positive experience. He is "Mr Personality". The Casa is clean and well-priced. Dinner may be booked through Pepe and taken at his wife's Casa, La Casa de Ana close-by, and the meals are great. You will pay directly, as for any restaurant. Ana is also bi-lingual.

Cons - the look of the concrete block building and the 8 kms out-return journey.
-----
Havana summary - watch your money and change!! This is a cash economy and we're used to plastic - count every everything. If there's something wrong, be sure to question it

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LiamGtr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, Comercial at La Casa de Pepe B&B&T, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear friends, it was our pleasure to welcome you at home, thank you very much for the kind opinion, we will continue working to stay in your preference and achieve improvements. We exhort you to return on your next trip to this your home in Havana. Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

We were cultural vacation travellers with a start and end in Havana, then 11 days on the road including a range of cities, south of Havana, ending at Santiago de Cuba. We spent 5 nights in Casa de Pepe.

From Airport to Casa -arrange by email a fair deal for a taxi before you arrive. Driver can display your name at the Jose Marti Airport- should be 30 CUC or less for the cab -1 to 4 people + bags.

The building itself may not meet expectations - see pic with arrows- but the interior of the 2nd floor, 2 bedrooms
apartment was fine -again see pics. Pepe and his staff were very welcoming and considerate [a little Spanish helps] and the other international visitors were interesting during our breakfast chats. Breakfast is extra to the room cost. Pepe was the star of our first impressions of Cuba.

Distance from Old Havana is a factor. You need to organize/negotiate and be very aware of your outbound and return transport process. Zhou can work out the best options for a late night cab back to La Casa which is located 8kms from old Havana activities.

Major route into/rtn to town is Calle 23 - buses and pubic taxis are available. I suggest you make the effort, but be aware that once dark, you have to be very certain of how you will get back from the city - you can't walk 25 city blocks.

Major reference landmarks -La Fabrica del Arte Cubana and the chimney; the necropolis - the massive and interesting inner city graveyard full of architectural delights- very prominent on maps on 23 street. This Casa is in the west end of the suburb of Vedado, close to the Malechon, and in line with the tunnel to Miramar, under the river.

This is not an area of restaurants/sight-seeing/ attractions on-foot. Excellent [late night] jazz club is in Melia hotel, on the waterfront 8 blocks away and La Casa de Musica in Miramar was great, go early.

Pros -Host Pepe is well-informed, bi-lingual, and does all possible to ensure that guests have a positive experience. He is "Mr Personality". The Casa is clean and well-priced. Dinner may be booked through Pepe and taken at his wife's Casa, La Casa de Ana close-by, and the meals are great. You will pay directly, as for any restaurant. Ana is also bi-lingual.

Cons - the look of the concrete block building and the 8 kms out-return journey.
-----
Havana summary - watch your money and change!! This is a cash economy and we're used to plastic - count every everything. If there's something wrong, be sure to question it

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LiamGtr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, Comercial at La Casa de Pepe B&B&T, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear friends, it was our pleasure to welcome you at home, thank you very much for the kind opinion, we will continue working to stay in your preference and achieve improvements.
We exhort you to return on your next trip to this your home in Havana.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2018
Google Translation

Room tip: es una habitación única
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank d, Comercial at La Casa de Pepe B&B&T, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews