We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Regla

Regla is part of the Havana community. It is adjacent Old Havana and the best way to access it is... read more

Reviewed 9 January 2019
fredyt3
,
fredyt3
Worth it for the ferry journey and the church

Going on the ferry across from Havana to Regla, you see a different side to Cuba with the modern... read more

Reviewed 30 March 2018
Ian C
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 77 reviews
  
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
29
34
12
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
34
12
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews freed slaves catholic church old havana ferry afro religious madonna pesos statues revolution cuba
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Regla is one of 15 municipalities of Havana with a total of 44,000 inhabitants throughout. The town of Regla, from what I can tell, is pretty much unspoiled. On my drive through on the way to the church I saw no tourists. A quiet place, not too busy, I can see my self walking through these streets without having to worry, it looked very safe. I must do that one day. The Municipality of Regla is made up of mostly Blue-collar workers. It's an Industrial area with shipyards, refineries, foundries and warehouses. On our way there we saw a huge lineup of container trucks waiting to get into the Havana Container Terminal. The Nico Lopez Refinery, which used to be the Shell Refinery before the revolution, is located here. You will drive by all of this if you go by car, around the Bay not across. You can also take the ferry across if you're not driving (which isn't very expensive) or you can drive through the tunnel (under the Bay) and get there Via-Casablanca. I can't tell you which drive is longer because I've only gone the one way but on a map it looks like the same distance either way. What I can tell you is that the drive from Old Havana to the church in Regla going around the Bay, as I did, took about 20 minutes.

Date of experience: June 2016
3  Thank Cubanoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

This section of Havana is in keeping with the rest of the town - it has suffered from the neglect of the past 50 years , still nice to visit and will benefit from all the restoration

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank michaelsV7116SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

"Somos Regla" is a public art project in Regla (Havana, Cuba) led by artist Michelle Angela Ortiz as part of the Meridian International Center's Community Engagement through the Arts program.

Cuba is one of 8 countries selected by Meridian.

The artist, Michelle Angela Ortiz, worked with community members in Regla, one of 15 municipalities in Havana. Based on her conversations with the community, she worked with local artists Javier Martinez and Alberto Matamorros to design a mural that reflects "la vida cotidiana" the essence of Regla.

Regla is a deeply spiritual place and that is reflected by the people and their homes. It is also a municipality with little resources, where they continue to struggle to have constant access to water and have homes that are deteriorating. Even through the struggles, Regla is a place filled with light and life within the people that call this place their home.

Over 30 volunteers of all ages helped paint images of a young boy fishing, the lancha (boat) the main means of transportation, the ocean, and of course the Virgen de Regla in the center. The mural also includes an image of a young Afro-Cuban girl, Carla, representing the many children in the streets playing hide and seek. An image of a hand lighting a candle is also represented in the mural to symbolize faith, a wish, and the power to create light when we encounter darkness.

Date of experience: April 2016
6  Thank MAO215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The small passenger ferry to Regla is less than a nickel.
Bags are still searched, a hang-over from various ferry hi-jackings more than a dozen years ago.

Regla offers picturesque winding hillside streets and various places for insights into Santeria. Sometimes there are musical events in the main town square. A hillside area east of the road between Regla and Casablanca is reputed to be dangerous but the streets in town are fairly safe in the daytime.

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank RobinThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

If you are, then Regla Neighborhood happens to be the right place for you. African Slaves disguised their religious practices (banned by their owners) under catholic cults and that's how Santeria came about. Take la Lanchita de Regla for boat ride you'll never forget, go to Regla's Church, Museo de Santeria y and meet a local Babalao (A Santeria Priest)

Date of experience: March 2016
7  Thank TourGuide-Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews