We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
114
235
164
74
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
235
164
74
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lawrence gap tennis courts the pure ocean restaurant timeshare owners full kitchen breakfast bar living room large pool garden view self catering nice resort bit dated flying fish harbour lights happy hour night life sea turtles
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 643 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Nice resort steps from the beach. Great pool, pretty grounds and lots of birds. Located right in the middle of shopping and restaurants of St Lawrence Gap. Very helpful and accommodating staff. Asked for an upgrade and received it!

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank HarryBlacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divi2017, Guest Relations Manager at Divi Southwinds Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you so much Harry for your kind review. We are so pleased we met your vacation expectations. We hope you will come back and visit us on your next trip to Barbados.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

My husband and I, along with our seven and nine-year-old sons stayed at Divi Southwinds for six nights. It is perfectly located in terms of going out to explore the island. The suites were nice. If you're expecting luxury, it's not, but the suites are nice enough, the hotel is clean and well cared for and it looked like they were working on doing improvement projects.

We did not plan on staying at the hotel the whole time, so we were prepared to travel around a bit with the kids. The hotel was simply a place to sleep, shower and jump in the pool after a day's outing.

The beach is nice, but due to its location, the water is rough and the sand is on the granier side. There is a restaurant on the beach called Ocean, which is lovely.

That said, the hotel is in the perfect location to walk around the shops and try the restaurants in the area.

We rented a car and took a quick 15 minute drive up along the west coast to the Boatyard Beach Club, which was fantastic. For $25 US you got your beach chair, umbrella, use of all the facilities, which included a trampoline in the water, rope swing off the dock, basketball courts, showers, bathrooms and a boat that will take you snorkeling with the sea turtles and over a shipwreck.

You also get a nice food credit which you can put towards lunch and drinks. We enjoyed ourselves so much, we went there twice (which is very unusual for us to go somewhere twice).

We also ventured out to Harrison's Cave, which was perfect to do on an overcast day, We also went to Welchman Hall Gully to see the monkeys, the George Washington House and spent time at the beach in front of JuJu's Sputnik II. The beach there was very rocky in the water and not my favorite experience.

One of our days there, we ventured on to the Tiami catamaran tour, which was fabulous. The crew was awesome, the boat was clean, the food was excellent and the snorkeling was really beautiful.

Everyone said to also go to the dinner show at Harbour Lights. It was excellent. A bit pricey as our kids didn't eat and one of my sons slept through the whole evening, but we really enjoyed it.

We had fabulous food just about everywhere we ate, which included, Cocktail Kitchen, Champers, Harlequin Restaurant, Pure Ocean, Ju Ju's. the BoatYard, and Castaways. For the kids, Chefette fit the bill for chicken nuggets.

We could have stayed another four days to try and do a host of other things we wanted to, but just couldn't.

All in all, Divi Southwinds offered a great location, friendly staff and all that was necessary for a comfortable stay.

Overall, we had a fabulous trip and really enjoyed Barbados, the people, the culture, the food, and the beaches. I hope you have as nice a stay as we did.

Room Tip: Choose a pool view room if you can.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aliblaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divi2017, Guest Relations Manager at Divi Southwinds Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your vacation stay with us and the island of Barbados. We hope to welcome you back again on your next trip to Barbados.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

From the minute I arrived I was greeted by two friendly Staff members: Gail: Front Desk and mr. Philip a nice and helpfull Bell Boy!!! and last but not least the Aqua Robics Instructor Tyrone!!! enjoyed this part the most!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulineteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divi2017, Guest Relations Manager at Divi Southwinds Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thank you Pauline Teresa for your kind review. We are so pleased that enjoyed our friendly staff and welcome. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on future vacations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

I'm a bajan and if if traveling with my family i only stay at Divi Southwinds. The five times that with my family its veen great. I enjoy the convenience of the location and the coutesy of the staff. The villas very spacious for a family of four and are extremely affordable. I highly recommend Divi.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Ricardo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divi2017, Guest Relations Manager at Divi Southwinds Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thank you Ricardo for your kind review and your years of loyalty to Divi Resorts and Divi Southwinds. We are pleased that this stay was as enjoyable as the others. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

This resort is well located to walk to the city. The beach restaurant is nicely placed in front of thr beach. Rooms are comfortable and staff is nice and helpful. The sea has just too much seaweeds but this is happening all over the Caribbean sea.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Saskia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divi2017, Guest Relations Manager at Divi Southwinds Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thank you Saskia for your kind review. Unfortunately, we seem to have a very strange year with seaweed. This is not something we usually encounter on our Dover Beach. As you mentioned, it seems to be happening in various parts of the Caribbean this year. We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation with us and where our resort is located. We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Barbados.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews