We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome View Stay was Awesome!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Awesome View

View from apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from apartment
View from apartment studio BR
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
View from apartment
View from apartment
studio BR
queen bed
kitchenette with microwave, coffee maker and toaster oven
kayaking at waterfront
watching the sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish, Bermuda

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
oucican
Hatfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome View Stay was Awesome!”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We would definitely recommend and return to stay at the Awesome View and were delighted that it truly lived up to its name.
It was clean, comfortable, centrally located and Scott had it well stocked with coffee, tea, sugar, S & P, coffee filters, an umbrella, beach reading and beach towels, bathrobes, TV, microwave, coffee maker, small fridge, toaster oven & sink.
There’s an umbrella table for four on the balcony to use as well.
We chose to get around by scooter & taxi without problem and Scott provides his guests with business cards for taxi and himself with the address of Awesome View to carry in your wallet in case you’re out and require a taxi.
Thank you Scott for your hospitality during our stay; we made many fond memories on the island.
Jim & Annie

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2017
Thank you for your awesome and useful review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Bermuda and your stay at the apartment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Safe, great view.”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Scott met me on my boat arrival from Florida and took me to the apartment. It was nice having a caring host who also gave us rides into Hamilton several times. Clean, friendly visit and I hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Thanks, Anne, for your nice review. I hope you will visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen P
Hamilton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome view, awesome host, awesome country!”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
5
people found this review helpful

We had a great two week vacation in Bermuda. Summerside apartment is just as advertised and the view is truly awesome. Even on inclement days it was lovely to just sit in and enjoy the view from our large picture window. Our host Scott lives on the property which is a real plus (especially when we needed to make a wine run during a gale!). We chose to walk the half hour into Hamilton and back most days and from there catch a bus or ferry to other parts of the island to explore (buy tickets at the tourist information office or bus station in town). Taxis are also readily available. Get the map and accompanying information booklet from the tourist information office - these were invaluable for our many walks about the island. We recommend Miles Grocery on Pitts Bay Road for delicious gourmet ready made meals and the Garden Grocery on Serpentine for other supplies. We also enjoyed several lunches at the Hog Penny pub on Burnaby Street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view. The quiet.
Liked least: Everything was great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review my property and provide tips and suggestions for future visitors. I'm pleased that you enjoyed an awesome experience!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
majesticb...
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Panoramic View, Beautiful Property, Exclusive Location”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed for 8 days in the Dalvay apartment at Awesome View. Scott was as friendly a host as you could hope for, and the apartment was very nice, comfortable and spacious. The name "awesome view" is very appropriate, and we enjoyed sitting outside on the wraparound balcony to enjoy the nearly 270-degree panoramic view of the Great Sound and surrounding terrain as often as possible, especially on mornings and for spectacular sunsets. You can see from Gibbs Lighthouse to the Dockyard and beyond. Incredible.

Our vacation strategy is always to take the typical jam-packed 3 or 4 day itinerary of the average traveler and stretch it out over 8 days or more so that the vacation is more relaxing and enjoyable. In the case of Awesome View, I highly recommend such a strategy. Our relaxed schedule of activities along with the Dalvay's full kitchen allowed us to maximize our relaxation time at the amazingly appointed apartment while still allowing for plenty of time to check out downtown Hamilton, the Dockyard and many beautiful beaches.

When not enjoying our balcony, we would open ALL of the windows, the sliding glass door and the entry door for an amazing cross-breeze. The entry door was the key piece of the puzzle to maximize the cross-breeze, as leaving it shut did not generate nearly the same level of cross-breeze. This prevented us from using the air conditioner at all during the daytime. We only turned it on at night, and as soon as we woke up in the morning we'd switch it off and open everything back up. I can't speak on the cross-breeze potential of the other apartments at Awesome View, but it was truly sublime at the Dalvay.

The sounds of the morning birds and the nightly frogs are also fondly unforgettable, including the cardinal that lives in the top of the large Norfolk Island Pine (aka our "sunblock" due to the shade it provided). Scott also has a small dock where there are kayaks available to guests to use for free. The dock is a very short and easy walk from the house, just a couple of minutes.

There is a small grocery store that is about a 15-minute walk away, called The Garden Market, I think. It had everything we needed, so no need to go all the way into Hamilton for the larger stores. I personally recommend taking a taxi there instead of walking, as the walk is "uphill both ways." The slightly hilly terrain would not be welcome with more than a couple of grocery bags in tow. Or perhaps you might want to take a walk to the market, but then return via taxi. We were fortunate enough to have Scott drive us to the market, wait for us and drive us back. He said he likes to drive his guests into Hamilton, to the market or some sort of that at least once as a courtesy to help the guests get their bearings.

The walk into Hamilton took us about 40 minutes, although that probably would have been less if we knew exactly where we were going. The roads can be a bit tricky in spots. We didn't get lost, but we had to consult our maps app a few times to make sure we were following the correct route. We had no interest in renting or driving scooters on those narrow and hilly streets, so our preference became to get around by taxi. Luckily, the first taxi we called on our first night in town ended up being amazingly reliable and friendly throughout our entire stay. Calvelette with C&C Cab Services (441-504-1591) was extremely dependable whenever we needed a ride. She lives in a nearby neighborhood, so if we managed to catch her at the right time, the wait was very short. Which was every time in our case. She has a few other drivers including Richard, who was also quite friendly and dependable for our returns back to the apartment later at night.

Although the bus service was excellent for getting around the island from Hamilton, there is no bus service to or within the extravagant Point Shares neighborhood where the house/apartment is. Thus, having a cab service be so reliable and friendly helped make our stay stress-free. If the lack of bus service sounds inconvenient, it is truly worth it in spades to have your own piece of Bermudian serenity versus sharing those mega-resorts with hundreds if not thousands of other vacationers.

We can't wait to get back to Bermuda and get back to the Dalvay at Awesome View. We have no reason to consider staying anywhere else in Bermuda, and we wholeheartedly recommend staying there to all with no hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, cross breezes, mornings, sunsets, overall serenity.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for the great review. Your experience will help others in selecting an awesome place to stay. It was a pleasure to meet you and I look forward to accommodating you on a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebSutcli...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment has fantastic views and the owner Scott couldn't be more helpful. There is a 20 minute walk into Hamilton where you can jump on a bus easily. Great for couples looking to relax & explore the Island.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2015
Thank you for your great review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and hope that you will return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing