We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It's like coming home”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
230 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 230 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Palmtrees...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's like coming home”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was our second visit in the last year to the Barns. We booked The Hay Barn again as we found it totally perfect last year.

Having been here already, you kind of feel like you know the place. But it's still absolutely stunning. You simply can't get complacent. The setting is just beautiful, the rooms are all sized lovely and fully equipped with everything you could need.

The views? Where do you start? Even though we had a wet second day, it really didn't matter. You still have breathtaking landscape to look out from your individually fenced garden.

With 18,000 acres of Brechfa Forest on your doorstep, you won't get bored. And if forest walks aren't your thing, then try the beaches, towns or castles that are near by. There really is something for everyone. And you will find all the information you need in the folder which you'll find in the barns.

No matter what you want out of your time here, you'll find it. Whether that's a relaxing few days break or an adventure every day.

Nikki was her usual helpful & friendly self. You really can see the personal touch in The Barns. I can't recommend the place highly enough.
Would I go back for a 3rd visit? 100% I would.

It really is like coming home.

Helen, Eileen & Archie the dog.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Really hoping to see you all again Helen. We are missing Archie already. If we could give our guests a review you'd get 5 stars too ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickiwill...
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Old Bike Shed”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

"Compact & bijou"! At first glance tiny, but perfectly formed, this beautifully converted shed provides a wonderful holiday hide away. We spent a delightful week with our two dogs. We were extremely lucky to find it & book last minute. As such, we didn't get chance to sample the fantastic meals or barbeque hut....but that's even more reason to return again soon! Great days out, just on your doorstep. But the view alone is worth staying for. Thank you for a lovely short break. Will recommend you for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
Ahhh, so pleased you liked our little "Bike Shed" Nicki. Hope to see you again. Can't promise the same weather next time though! ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripAlim
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a lovely 3 night stay in the Old Bike Shed, although on first impressions is quite small, It is well laid out and furnished with all that is required, and the two of us and one dog settled in quickly and had a chilled few days. Lovely patio with long reaching views, plenty of walks on the doorstep and beautiful beaches within easy reach. The information supplied on the surrounding area and facilities was excellent and we sampled the food in a couple of recommended dog friendly pubs which were excellent. And we got sunshine too, could not have asked for more!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
So pleased to hear you had a great stay! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a kind review. The Old Bike Shed is indeed dinky, part of it's quirky charm, but it's great to know you found everything you needed in it and that you so enjoyed the area. You certainly had the weather! Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKirbyH...
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, peaceful location and dog-friendly too!”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just had a wonderful long weekend in the Hay Barn. 4 adults and 2 dogs fully catered for in this idyllic location. Weather was wonderful which was obviously a bonus. Less than 45 minutes away from dog friendly beaches, waterfalls, forest walks and good food, what more could we ask for. The accommodation itself is very comfortable and fully equipped, with wonderful views. Fully intend to return in the not to distant future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
Thank you very, very much for your smashing review! Can't wait to have you back but can't promise the same weather!!! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A wonderful week in Wales starting with a warm welcome from Nikki. The barn was well equipped, and cosy with lovely sofas to snuggle up on in the evening. Beautiful, amazing views from the windows. Lots of information provided by Nikki on the location of the many walks available through Brechfa Forest together with the location of some truly outstanding dog friendly beaches.
To top it all we had pre-booked some evening meals, all prepared by Nikki, and delivered to the door. The meals were superb and very good value for money - I think I need some more forest walks to work off the dinners :).
A very big thank you from us and also from Juno who had a brilliant time on the beaches and splashing in the streams on the forest walks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
You can bring the lovely Juno back anytime Rosemary. Thank you for this lovely review. We never tire of hearing how much our guests and their dogs enjoy themselves. Very best wishes, Nikki & Jason & The Hounds
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing