We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome....”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
229 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 229 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Neil J
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome....”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

If I could give this six stars I would. A group of friends & I have spent 3 days here on a mountain bike break. The riding is excellent, the Brecha Forest is a bit of an undiscovered gem, and Jay's guiding is first class, we got deep into the forest on tracks you just wouldn't have found. Add onto that the excellent facilities and frankly delicious food, and you have a great break. The very next thing I'm going to do is book my next trip back, can't recommend it enough

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thank you Neil. See you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Se1980
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Break Away”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We saw a cancellation on Facebook for a 3 night stay in Bay Tree Barn and we are so so glad that we decided to book it. The barn was just perfect for us and our dog Eric. From arrival we were made to feel so welcome, and I would highly recommend booking the meals as we did for our first night. The food was delicious - especially the banoffee sundae!! There are some beautiful walks on the doorstep, but also lovely walks a short drive away, especially the beaches. That's if you can bring yourself to leave the barn as it is just super cosy - we really did not want to come home!! Thank you for having us - we will be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
And you would be very welcome. Thank you very much for the lovely review Stacey :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele R
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate-book!”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was a great few days away, we stayed at the quaint Old Bike Shed with our 2 collies. We tasted Nikki's delicious meals, do try her food,you will not be disappointed. Hubby loved the mountain biking and took advice from Jason. (He hopes to book through Mud Trek next year with friends to focus on the biking) This time it was a mixture of dog walking and biking in the most magnificent countryside. The accommodation was perfect and the views just amazing. Can't wait to revisit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, food cooked by Nikki and dog walks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2015
Brilliant. Thanks Michele. Come back soon for more of the same ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was our second stay in Bay Tree Barn this year and once again what a lovely weekend we had with our two dogs.

Our first visit to Bay Tree Barn was so lovely it made us realise how much we would love a homely cottage everyday. We had no intentions of moving house before this trip but ended up selling our house in the city in Bristol and moving to our own cottage on the outskirts of Bristol and we are so happy there. So thank you Nikki for the inspiration.

Extremely dog friendly with so many beautiful walks nearby.

We had breakfast both mornings cooked by Nikki and the food was just as lovely as last time.

We also ate in the Daffodil which was lovely and had a great day out at Pembrey Country Park.

Lovely cottage, lovely views, lovely owners and lovely food. A wonderful home from home.

We will see you again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
How lovely that we were the inspiration for your own move to the country! Delighted to hear that trip no.3 is on the card too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona H
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A heavenly place”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed for a relaxing four nights self-catering in The Old Bike Shed, which was perfect a break for me and my Beagle. Beautiful accommodation with everything you needed and views to die for. Lovely hosts who provided invaluable local information about dog-friendly pubs, forest walks, beaches and places which shaped our daily adventures. And useful facilities to hose down a naughty dog after exploring the wild! Definitely hope to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, quiet and friendliness
Liked least: That we had to go home!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Delighted The Old Bike Shed ticked all the right boxes! Hoping you'll return soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing