We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dog friendly lovely views and walks”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
226 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 226 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BAILEYBLA...
1 review
“Dog friendly lovely views and walks”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Had a fantastic time. Cooked breakfast each morning excellently cooked by Nikki. Great facilities within the barn. Lovely walks, fantastic views, individual gardens for each barn. Nothing too much trouble. Thank you Nikki and Jason for such an enjoyable break x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
You are very welcome and many thanks for taking the time to leave us this kind review. I'm sure these are really helpful to those considering booking with us. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie D
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to stay just perfect”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Brechfa Forest Barns on 31/10/2014 to 7/11/2014, we arrived in the dark. Nikki was there to great us and show us into our beautiful cottage. We have 5 dogs and needed somewhere quite for the dogs over the firework week. Nikki cooked us a meal on the first night and this was delicious. The best experience was waking up the next morning and OMG the views over rolling country side. Nikki and Jason are perfect hosts and very welcoming with our dogs, nothing is to much trouble for them from advising the best walks to getting our television working for us. The cottage is home from home everything you need and tastefully designed very warm and cosy The walking is spectacular you have walks right on your doorstep or a 5 min. drive down a lovely lane you are spoilt for choice for walks. This has been one of the best cottages we have stayed in from wonderful hosts, beautiful cottage, great walks and no fireworks just peace and quite. Already booked to go back next year. Thank you Nikki and Jason for a wonderful stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
We always wonder when guests arrive in the dark what they make of the view they wake up to the next morning - now we know! Such a lovely review and kind to mention my cooking :) Nothing pleases us more than a repeat booking before our guests have actually left! See you next year :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise K
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage, Stunning Scenery, Helpful and Friendly Hosts”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My sister and I stayed in the Hay Barn with three dogs in September/October 2014. Nikki was there to welcome us and show us around the very clean, cosy, comfortable accommodation. She told us all about the area which was backed up by a very extensive Welcome Pack.
The forest walks were stunning and the beaches, slightly further afield, were huge and dog friendly. There are lots of dog friendly pubs around and, although we did not try Nikki's famous cooking, it will be on the list next time. :-)
The fence surrounding the garden is quite low and therefore not suitable for all dogs. However, I do understand Nikki's reasons for not making it higher as it would obscure the view. The height is obvious from website photos, so potential guests can clearly see if it would be an issue for them.
Whilst staying we had to visit the vet, due to one of our dogs hurting his paw. Nikki recommended a vet in a nearly town who saw us the same day. The vet we saw was friendly, caring and my Golden Retriever seemed in no rush to leave her!
All in all the location, cottage, walks, scenery and welcome were wonderful and leaves me in no doubt we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Brechfa Forest, the accommodation, the peace and quiet
Liked least: Was a little worried about the fence, although none of our dogs actually attemped to jump it
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
How lovely :) Thanks a million for your really informative review. It's so important that potential guests get the whole picture so mentioning the local vets and height of fence (3 ft) is helpful. Thank you so much. Here's hoping you can make a return visit soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vwatts14
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you wanted peaceful and relaxing, this is the place!”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Had such a relaxing weekend break at the Brechfa Barns. Was exactly what we were looking for in a holiday! Surrounded by the most amazing views. We were spoilt on some walks where we had the whole area to ourselves. Brilliant for my dogs who get nervous around other dogs. Nikki's food, lasagne and sticky toffee pudding, was exactly what the doctor ordered. Delicious! Thankyou so much, we've had an amazing few days and will be recommending to all our friends!! We shall certainly return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Wicked! Thank you Vicki, and a big paws up from the Beags for the kind doggie hamper. Woof!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jsmithawe...
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“And relax....”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived on a damp Friday evening to find a warm welcome at Brechfa Forest Barns, the fire was on the place was beautifully lit and a table laid , we enjoyed the delight that is Nikkis cooking and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We stayed in the Bike Shed which is the smallest of the three cottages yet it is thoughtfully laid out with an enclosed garden and we managed just fine with three large dogs and a 10 week old puppy. It has gorgeous classy furnishings yet feels comfortable and homely, it was exceptionally clean and had a great TV.

There are free roaming sheep so you have to be a bit sensible with the dogs on lead in the yard and path area but you have lots of great walks just outside the property. We have a rescue dog with a few issues around people and Nikki was very understanding and respectful of this, but we found a walk in a huge open moor area where even he could go off lead. There is the lovely forest and lots of other nearby walks.

As soon as we left we were discussing when we could go again all in all a fabulous multi dog friendly break where we were made to refreshingly welcome and at ease. I would highly recommend trying Nikkis brilliant cooking it turned an ordinary weekend break into something really special.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing