We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 338)
Filter reviews
1 338 results
Traveller rating
499
487
192
83
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
487
192
83
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eden beach clothing optional beach nude beach sea grapes beach garden bungalow superior sea view tamarind tree air conditioning rex resorts main beach ceiling fan laid back repeat guests beach bar sugar mill sand flies rooms are basic
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1 338 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018

We have just returned from a fantastic relaxing holiday at the Hawksbill. Our delightful room was on the Royal Palm beach with direct access to the beach. Our bed was so comfy, we could watch the waves from our bed. We benefited from a new bathroom which was very spacious and the sunbeds outside our room were also vey comfy with thick mattresses. We asked reception to fog our room every day and wore insect repellent day and night so did not have a problem with the bugs. We meet some really lovely people at the hotel and the staff were amazing. Our favourite being Sandy who has worked at the resort for a very long time. Sandy goes out of her way to check you are enjoying your stay, singing and dancing as she serves you. We especially enjoyed the evening she introduced the staff including the chefs in the restaurant. We were especially pleased to have our meals served directly to us rather than the buffet. The evening entertainment was very good and the singer and live band was exceptional. We had a barbeque on the beach on our first night which was delicious. We took the hobby cat, which was included in the all inclusive package around the bay on several occasions. Sometimes we were the only people sitting on the beach so never had to get up early to reserve a sun bed, a bit plus. Our highlight to our holiday was returning baby turtles to the sea. Unfortunately they hatched without a full moon so rushed off to the hotel lights which were in the opposite direction. We counted over 100 baby turtles and if Lisa (one of the guests in the hotel) hadn't noticed I do not think they would have made it back to the sea. My husband went scuba diving several times and was especially pleased to be nudged by a friendly nurse shark. We would love to return to the resort for another restful holiday. Thank you to all the staff that made our stay one of the best holidays we have had.

Room Tip: Palm beach have the best rooms, approximately 10 strides into the sea. Newly updated bathrooms and spotlessly clean. Amazing view.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
13  Thank colmandteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Colm & Teresa,

Thank you for your valued review.

It is very pleasing to know that you had such an enjoyable and memorable holiday here with us at Hawksbill. We take pride in our location, beaches and staff; thank you for commending them. A very special thank you to yourselves and other guests that assisted in helping the baby turtles get back to the ocean.
We truly hope that you do return to us for yet another fantastic and memorable holiday in paradise.

Kind regards,
Adrienne Walter
Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

We visited Hawksbill three weeks ago and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday where you can totally unwind then this is the place for you.
We stayed in one of the beachfront rooms on Royal Palm beach which was fabulous, the room was spotlessly clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. We often sat on our veranda watching the goats passing by and the humming birds fluttering around the hibiscus rose.
Entertainment is very low key and doesn't usually continue after 10pm when most people seem to drift off to bed, but that suits us.
The food was delicious and my husband was very happy with the vegetarian options available to him, especially the vegetarian omelette cooked to order for breakfast. Evening meals were mostly a la carte with buffet meals on a couple of occasions, the food was very good and more than adequate portions.
We found all staff approachable and helpful, especially Sandi & Crystal who were absolutely lovely (apologies if I have spelt names incorrectly).
This is our fifth visit to Antigua and we feel Hawksbill has by far the best setting, where else could you walk on a beach and not see another person (all four beaches were lovely).
A couple of things that would improve the holiday further:
A filter coffee machine in the room and to spray the lounge/reception area to minimise the Mosquitos (we did visit late in the season and this was probably why there were so many).
Thank you all for a wonderful & restful holiday, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms Royal Palm beach
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
10  Thank ALyson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Alyson,

Thank you for your valued review.

We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful holiday with us here at Hawksbill. It is also pleasing to know that you and your Husband enjoyed your meals; our Chef takes pride in catering to all dietary needs. Sandy and Christobelle are among the others that take full joy in ensuring that all our guests are comfortable and well taken cared of; thank you for commending them. We have since worked on extra fumigation measures to minimize the mosquitoes.
We do hope that on your 6th visit to Antigua, it would be right back here at Hawksbill where we would welcome you with warmth.

Best regards,
Adrienne Walter
Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

excellent, would come again at the same time of year as it was very quite, the staff were really nice and friendly, the food was very good although the cooked breakfast was cold and we did complain about this several times.

Room Tip: our first room number 64 was not very good but our 2nd room number 117 was excellent
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank vctbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us at Hawksbill. We take pride in our staff members; thank you for commending them. We however apologize for the breakfast, and has since been rectified.
We do hope that you return to us in the near future to have yet another enjoyable vacation.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Just got back after ten wonderful relaxing days at Hawksbill. This was our second visit after liking it so much last year. It’s in a beautiful location with the choice of four beaches. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. They all work very hard to ensure You have everything to make your stay perfect. Special mention to David behind the bar who always has a smile and a joke with everyone.. Chameria(sorry not sure how you spell it) our house keeping lady who kept our room spotless..Ken the handyman who made sure we changed rooms when our air conditioning packed up!!! David on reception and the manager Ammielle who made us so welcome.You have a great team of staff and you should be proud of them and how hard they work.Yes the hotel is a bit dated but so are a lot of the big hotels in lots of places, but this is the Caribbean and it’s a very low key relaxed atmosphere.. The rooms are spotless and we didn’t have a problem with the water, although we did last year, but it didn’t put us off... Our air con stopped working and after waiting all day for an engineer to turn up, we were upgraded to a new room which was lovely. Food was great, three good meals a day if you wanted, I tended to skip lunch as it was too much,, Would be nice to have some lighter things for lunch such as cheese and biscuits, rolls and cold meat...we hired a car for three days so we could go off and visit the sights on our own... the rest of the time we just chilled and relaxed looking at the clear blue sea... IF your looking for a chilled relaxing break then this is the place to go. Look forward to returning in the future...

Stayed: September 2018
9  Thank S_traveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, we appreciate that! We never get tired of hearing our guests tell us how much they enjoyed their holiday or seeing the smiles on their faces. We love what we do and knowing that we have played a part in helping a guest to have an amazing holiday makes it worth it. We appreciate the constructives and try our best to implement as many of them as possible in an effort to better take care of all of our guests. We offer something truly unique amidst our four crystal blue beaches, perfect sunsets and breathtaking views which are some of the many reasons that we have a strong repeater base which keeps growing. It would be wonderful to add you to this list and welcome you back to Hawksbill year after year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

I did a Staycation at this resort for 2 days, and i totally enjoyed my entire experience, going in not knowing what to expect, came away with mixed emotions, Like most of the reviews we have all noted that the place is very dated, ...Oh My what a location,and phenomenal potential. Sad on one hand that the owners are happy to operate the place in the state it is.However on a selfish note..if we all encourage them to step it up the likes of me would not be able to enjoy it again...Based on the present conditions,it is what it is, we had a great room, AC, nice bed and the quiet getaway we so badly needed.The food was good eating, nothing fancy,but i didn't have to cook it.. and it tasted delicious to me. The staff were excellent and did a great job all round.As someone who has worked in the industry for the past 25 years,I felt for them as well. They themselves must know the properties potential,and i would find it hard to work to my full potential under some of the conditions they must face.We had a wonderful day on Eden Beach,just the 2 of us and some turtle tracks on the entire strip of beach.WOW i sooo loved it, and we will definitely do it again. Im spreading the word, for others to enjoy a little getaway.Thanks Hawksbill. i really felt like i had been on a vacation at the end of my stay and we are still talking about it.wishing we were there longer.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammielle M, Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Hello Ann, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts. We are all so pleased that you had an awesome staycation, and that you are spreading the word that Antiguans do not have to leave Antigua to have a great vacation experience. Hawksbill is not pretentious or extravagant but we are an authentic, relaxing place where our guests can recharge all while sipping a tasty cocktail on one of our four lovely beaches. We have taken many of the suggestions made by our guests and will be intensifying our efforts to make improvements over the next few moths to better take care of all of our guests. It truly was our pleasure taking care of you both and I do hope that we will be welcoming you back to Hawksbill very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews