We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful spot with chickens and cows and near to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Briscoe Mill Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Briscoe Mill Cottage
Master bedroom with king size bed, tv/dvd Path to garden at rear
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Briscoe Mill Cottage
Master bedroom with king size bed, tv/dvd
Path to garden at rear
Briscoe Mill bridge over the River Ehen
Lounge with TV, dvd player
Kitchen with fold away dining table, microwave, oven, fridge
Twin room with toy box and trundle for 3rd child - bedding provided
Picnic bench over beck
On Briscoe Mill Bridge looking north up the River Ehen
Great place to set off on your cycle ride, close to the Coast to Coast route
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Egremont, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Margaret...
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot with chickens and cows and near to village amenities.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our second visit to this well equipped cottage situated in a delightful spot. Welcoming owners are onsite. Will return again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2014
Lovely to see you all again and glad there were no injuries! Hope you've still got some fells to tick off as you are all welcome back any time. Best wishes Sarah and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous, well equipped cottage with great views”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were visiting friends in Whitehaven so using cottage as a base, however it is so lovely we didn't want to go out! The cottage is beautifully decorated, warm and we loved the garden, especially the bench near the stream. Lovely touches like wine, bread, eggs were here when we arrived and Easter eggs for the kids. Owners are very helpful and friendly. Cottage is well equipped with lots of character, beds were very comfy and the bathroom is beautiful. Thoroughly recommend Briscoe Mill to anyone wishing to visit and we hope to return soon. Many thanks Sean and Sarah

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2014
Hi there, glad you had a great time and weather wasn't too bad!. Thanks again for choosing our cottage and that is was a good base for you all. All the best Sarah and Sean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location and accomadation”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is warm and cosy and in an ideal location we really enjoyed our stay there and would not hesitate to book it again.The large private garden is an added bonus.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2014
Thank you for the review it is very much appreciated, glad you enjoyed your time here. Take care Sarah and Sean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenfran...
Radlett, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint, peaceful and an Ideal base”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our first time to the Lake District we were a bit wary of going so far west but, it was ideal, there was so much to do we will have to go back to finish our list. The cottage is lovely, very well thought out, very well equipped if you want to self cater, close to local shops. We packed quite a bit in each day and going back to the cottage to the peace and tranquility was wonderful. Sarah and Sean were there if we needed them and nothing was too much trouble all we had to do was ask. We have been to places where the owners are so protective always turning up that we have had to dodge their visits and its very off putting. Not so in this case they leave it up to you. They do have sensible rules for how the property is treated and they definitely work, the place was spotlessly clean, a wonderful welcome pack meant we could get settled and not have to worry about going food shopping straight away. We have and will be recommending it to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well equipped and quaint the cottage was
Liked least: Can't fault it it more than met our expectations
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We're glad you had a great time and that list will need ticking off soon! All the best Sarah and Sean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindalous...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

we booked a weeks stay at this cottage and was delighted on arrival at the facilities and the location. easy access to all that we needed throughout our stay. the family that own the property could not have been more welcoming, we left feeling relaxed and truely satisfied with our holiday and will be returning to this location in the near future. really would recommend this and it is suitable for couples and families alike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: friendly atmosphere and clean
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. Guest's feedback is extremely important to us and we welcome any comments which can help us improve. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and would love it if you came for another visit. Look out for our short breaks during the winter months. All the best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing