We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
43
88
22
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
88
22
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sugar mill garden cottage upgraded rooms lobby area is omelette lady small issue front office manager hotel guests nice private beach check in was a breeze breakfast was delicious mini refrigerator amazing hotel stayed here for a week pool towels swim up bar restaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

The location is ideal and the hotel is some what updated. The beach area is across the street from the hotel. It's not one of the better beaches. The grounds are kept clean and well maintained. The rooms are average. My door was extremely hard to open and when we opened it, the sliding glass door would rattle and shake as if it was coming off the tracks. The cable did not work, I called for service at check in and when I returned from touring the island around 8PM no one had come to fix it. Had to request a second time. The beds are very hard and not comfortable. Some of the front staff are not are not as friendly. We checked on early and were told there is free continental breakfast from 7-11am. We had breakfast and during breakfast we were told it would be charged because we were suppose to check in at 11am. Also, the a/c stopped working on the 2nd day. Called for service 4 times. The front desk clerk did come and try to assist. He called maintenance and got no answer. He came back again and did attempt to resolve. He said maintenance would fix it first thing in the morning. I called the front desk at 6:30am and was told maintenance would resolve when he could. It never happened. The day we checked out, the a/c had not been fixed. So I went to take a shower and there was no water. I checked the sink nothing. No water at all. When we checked out they charged us the breakfast after we were told the manager would take care of it. When we mentioned the a/c not working and having no running water, the front desk was not empathetic at all. No apologies. The response, they have no control over it and no compensation would be given. Not even a thought was given. There are plenty of nicer places to stay on the island with better customer service and basic amenities than this one. We have family that live in Trinidad and frequent Tobago and they have never experienced what we did. We will travel to Tobago again but stay far away from this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andipandi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountIrvineBayResort, Manager at Mount Irvine Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We apologies for the challenges you encountered during your stay. Please note all your comments are essential to educating our staff about the positives and not so positive service. We will ensure your feedback be given to all respective departments and addressed accordingly.

Kindly contact us at info@mtirvine.com as we and would like to extend a goodwill courtesy for all the inconveniences you experienced.

Looking forward to hearing from you!

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

My family has wonderful memories of Mount Irvine , but we have not been back for many years , as the hotel seemed to be in a bit of a slump . Having heard that the hotel has recently been renewed and upgraded , my partner and I decided to give it a try for a getaway weekend . We were delighted with what we found : upgraded lobby and public areas , and upgraded rooms ( not all yet , but progress is being made ) . The staff seem happy and motivated , full of smiles and anxious to please . The hotel , pool , beach facilities and golf course , in their breathtakingly beautiful settings , are nearly back to their gracious best , and we were so happy to be back at what has always been one of our favorite holiday destinations . We heartily recommend anyone coming to Tobago to come back to Mount Irvine - we will certainly be back soon .

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Tafkag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountIrvineBayResort, Manager at Mount Irvine Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Tafkag,

Thank you for taking an amazing review and for rediscovering your love for the resort! We appreciate your loyalty and your continued trust. The following areas were our focus for upgrade in 2015/2016 and what you saw during your recent visit was the result of that worthy investment:
Extensive grounds and landscaping
Lobby
Meeting and event spaces
Rooms
Most recently the Golf course

Also, our team is most important to us, as such we host continuous training and development programs to keep them motivated and ready to please.

We hope to surprise you again, with more improvements on your next visit, see you soon!

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

With all the upgrades in the last year, the hotel has definitely improved its standard with regards to the accommodation. Very well manicured grounds. Fabulous pool. Excellent service by all staff. We were on the breakfast plan, nice selection.

Keep it up Mt. Irvine, will definitely recommend and would be back soon.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountIrvineBayResort, Manager at Mount Irvine Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Maria,

We greatly appreciate your review!

There has been many beautiful changes at the resort from refurbishment of the lobby, rooms, conference spaces, and restaurants. To the introduction of the Lobby Bar for evening cocktails, the Hummingbird Lounge for tempting sweet treats, teas, and a variety of caffeinated beverages. There is much to discover at this historic resort!

We were very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the resort and recommended us to other travellers.

Proud to say for our guests we are always improving and growing.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

This hotel is the best bang for your buck in Tobago .... I have stayed at all of them. The staff is friendly and helpful I had a small issue on my most recent stay and Vidya ( one of the managers) fixed it for me in no time. You’ll find they have a nice beach that has a few friendly locals that will offer you a boat ride or even a nice game of soccer . This place has all you need

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank leejones813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountIrvineBayResort, Manager at Mount Irvine Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear Leejones,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review! We are happy you got value for money when you stayed at the Mount Irvine Bay Resort. Our goal is to make our guests feel at home, as much as possible. It was great to read that you got to taste a bit of the local day to day living down at the beach.

Hope to see you back very soon!

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

The accommodations were comfortable the room was spacious and clean and the resort's central location was ideal! The hotel and restaurant staff was kind and engaging. I hoped for more to do at the hotel past 9pm though. Overall 8/10

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LyndonJ-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountIrvineBayResort, Manager at Mount Irvine Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Lyndon,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our resort. We are glad you found our location convenient. Were you able to explore the area? If not, you can visit us again and we are happy to share with you the must-visit attractions, as well as
some hidden treasures in the area.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews