We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outlander Tour”
Review of Tartan Tours

Tartan Tours
Ranked #7 of 12 things to do in Bo'ness
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Day tours around Central Scotland to places of interest. Specialising in Outlander Film Location Tours. Pre planned tours and also Private Customised Tours on request.
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

This tour was AMAZING! I couldn't have asked for a better guide in Gordon and even better he was on Outlander! He is very knowledgeable in Outlander and the areas of filming. I have wonderful memories to last till I can return to Scotland.

1  Thank kendraj83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon D, Owner at Tartan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Hi Kendra, when are you coming back :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tv series"
in 3 reviews
"outlander tour"
in 4 reviews
"outlander fan"
in 2 reviews
"gordon"
in 6 reviews
"scenery"
in 2 reviews
"castle"
in 2 reviews
"scotland"
in 6 reviews
"history"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2016

For anyone who is a fan of the Outlander books or TV series I highly recommend this tour with Gordon Doyle from Gordon's Taxis. Four of us went on the tour which took us to Lallybroch (Midhope Castle), Fort William (Blackness Castle), Castle Leoch (Doune Castle) & the Village of Crainsmuir (Culross). Gordon has a wealth of information about the tv series, he actually played an extra in season 2.
Gordon's tour was very reasonably priced in comparison to others we researched. Not only did we see the 4 places I mentioned but he also drove us to a few other spots such as the Hippodrome and the Bo'ness Railway. He suggested a really cute place to stop for lunch, The Woodside Hotel where we experienced tatties, neeps & haggis. I would recommend this tour to any Outlander fan, but a few in the group had never read the books or seen the show and they found the tour fascinating as well. So much history and beauty in Scotland!

2  Thank RobynBou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon D, Owner at Tartan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Thank you Robyn. I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed the tour. I had a really good time too. xox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We recently took two separate day tours with Tartan Tours. What I really liked about these two tours was that we received personalized services. We were picked up and returned directly to our cottage. Tartan Tours offers set tours to cover specific regions and interests but they also provide more individualized service if you have specific requests. We requested one tour up to the Loch Lomond area that would focus on scenery and we went to Luss, Hill House, the Falls of Dochart in Killin and a stop at a distillery to finish the day. It was a lovely leisurely day as we explored each area. It was not rushed and we were not in a large, regimented group. Our second tour was to Ayr where we enjoyed the seaside views, Culzean Castle, Turnberry Golf Course, Robert Burns Birthplace Museum and fun climbing around the old Dunure castle ruins. Gordon was flexible, an excellent driver and knows the area well. He is an enjoyable person with a good sense of humor who was attentive to all in the family group. Tartan Tours has reasonable costs compared to other smaller more private tour companies. You won't be sorry if you work with Tartan Tours.

1  Thank Pamela064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon D, Owner at Tartan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thank you Pam. I'm so glad you enjoyed our days out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tartan Tours also viewed

Bo'ness, Falkirk District
 
Bo'ness, Falkirk District
 

Been to Tartan Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing