We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
129
43
13
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
43
13
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster national trust bed linen local pub harbour view cherry tomatoes church bay weather forecast lovely lunch friend's birthday colour scheme ferry crossing friendly establishment hake definitely worth a visit fish cakes bird sanctuary
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Four of us tried to book into the Manor Hotel for one night in June but they were fully booked, we booked into CoolnaGrock B&B which was first class. We did call into the Manor for a pint but was told by the barman/receptionist "we don't do draught" so we had to make do with tins of Guinness, not ideal but OK. The next morning we returned I asked for an Americano and my friends Cappaucinos to which a different barman/receptionist said "we only do filter coffee, you could try the local coffee shop." In my opinion the Manor Hotel needsto change if they are going to survive, we got the impression the staff didnt really care and this is a real shame as it's a stunning building right beside the harbour and should be everyones first port of call. We ended up drinking our draught beer at McQuaigs Bar and enjoying our coffees at the Water Shed, both within a five minute walk of the Manor Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellyann-MHR, Reception at Manor House Rathlin Island, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for visiting the Manor Guesthouse and thank you for you critique. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the service provided. Our Drinks license for the Guesthouse is restricted to serve only the drinks that the staff mentioned and we are unable to serve draught beer in order not to displace the bar on the island. Similarly we are restricted in barista style coffees so as not to displace the local café on the island.The Manor House has been developed by the Rathlin Community Development Association who wish for services on the island to complement each other, to co operate and signpost services and equally not displace business on the island,therefore the Manor House staff promote these other businesses. We hope you understand the policies which staff must adopt and are glad you accessed these other services and equally sorry you could not access them at the Manor House.

We do hope you take the time to visit the Island again

Kind Regards

Kellyann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

I took 22 people to visit Rathin Island and we stayed in the Manor House. The rooms were excellent and the staff really helpful. We all had a meal in the Restaurant and the food was delicious. Breakfast was great which set us up for a long walk to Rue Point. I highly recommend the Manor House for its charm, clean rooms, beautiful food and staff.

Room Tip: Many rooms had excellent views over the lovely harbour and sea.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellyann-MHR, Reception at Manor House Rathlin Island, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi Jim,

thank you so much for your lovley reveiw, I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us last weekend. Its never an easy task organising a big group.

Hope to see you again on Rathlin,

Kind regards

Kellyann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

Went twice for Breakfast. Told only serving residents. Explained we were on a sailing trip and having no proper fridge on board had ran out of food. No where else on Rathlin open and unable to get anything. We were simply dismissed as non residents and basically told too bad. Won’t be back at hotel and put me off visiting Rathlin again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellyann-MHR, reception at Manor House Rathlin Island, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Gary C, Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we apologise for the service you received on your recent trip to Rathlin. It really is unacceptable especially as we always strive to accommodate everyone who walks through our doors. We are however on an island and are obliged to put first our guests. This does not mean that we should not have offered some form of breakfast, cereal or toast and tea etc.

Please accept my sincere apolologies and we hope that this does not put you off returning to the island.

Please contact me personally to discuss further.

Kind Regards

Genevieve, Proprietor


info@manorhouserathlin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Called on two occasions with people I was sailing with told It was after 10am could get nothing to eat. Called at 8am next day said there was a gas problem and residents took priori .poor treatment no altnatives given won’t use this hotel again

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
4  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellyann-MHR, reception at Manor House Rathlin Island, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Hi Alex,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we apologise for the service you received on your recent trip to Rathlin. It really is unacceptable especially as we always strive to accommodate everyone who walks through our doors. We are however on an island and are obliged to put first our guests. This does not mean that we should not have offered some form of breakfast, cereal or toast and tea etc.

Please accept my sincere apolologies and we hope that this does not put you off returning to the island.

Please contact me personally to discuss further.

Kind Regards

Genevieve, Proprietor


info@manorhouserathlin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Was apprehensive about our stay considering their was mixed reviews however we had a great stay in the hotel. Rooms were clean and bright, with plenty of towels. We had an enjoyable meal in the restaurant with colouring for the children.

Breakfast staff could have been a bit more attentive-no table was set up for us to use and we wandered aimlessly through the room, selecting a table ourselves and had to request glasses and spoons. However the choice of cooked breakfast and bottomless tea was great.

Overall we had a lovely stay at the hotel and Alan was very welcomming and attentive. Rathlin is a great island to visit and an overnight stay would certainly enhance your visit.

Room Tip: we had suite room for 3 adults and 2 children-very comfortable and spacious
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 528joanne21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews