We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scoff Restaurant”
Review of Scoff Restaurant

Scoff Restaurant
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Food is very good, but should be since the chef/owner used to work at the Fogo Island Inn we were told. A little pricey..
Service was okay, but server did not know enough about the food prep to be helpful.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank bkmccann75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2018

Couldn't get in for dinner so we tried brunch. All the food was fantastic, the juice of the day was fascinating and they have FREE TEA!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank bwalsh384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

The seafood chowder at Scoff takes the Newfoundland staple to a whole new level. Dessert was terrific too. It’s obvious that these chefs have learned a lot from their experiences in places like the Fogo Island Inn and Vancouver Island’s Wickininnish Inn. Such a surprise to find this quality of food in a place as small as Joe Batt’s Arm!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank whytewold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Scoff is a new restaurant, but I expect it will do well based on our experience. We shared our 3 dishes and dessert which was perfect. We started with smoked salmon with thinly sliced pickled kohlrabi, radishes and a lemony aioli. Next up were salt cod pierogis with scrunchions (love those!), fried onions, mustard pickles and creme fraiche. Last course was a special - roasted carrots with onions pickled lightly in orange juice, walnuts, yogurt and tomato jam. Heaven! We finished it all off with a slice of delicious coconut cream pie. All the dishes were excellent. I want that carrot recipe! They also have fried chicken, burgers and fish & chips on the menu, but this was really elevated food in a casual atmosphere. Service was good, prices are good - I wish this restaurant was in my neighbourhood.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SBJEinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Overall it was a lovely evening - the staff was great and the restaurant itself was lovely, but the food was a little underwhelming. The seafood portions were great for the price.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank canadiangingererin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scoff Restaurant also viewed

Fogo, Fogo Island
Joe Batt's Arm, Fogo Island
 
Fogo Island, Newfoundland

Been to Scoff Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing