We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub food done well”
Review of Stokers Arms

Stokers Arms
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Kloof
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 10 January 2023

Don’t visit this venue for a romantic meal but do visit here for good food and buzzing atmosphere. The eisbein is my favouriite and potato skins a yummy starter. Curries always good as are their pies and baskets.

Date of visit: December 2022
Thank dulciei2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2021

We came here for a n early dinner and were quickly served. The steak was done to perfection and the chips were celestial! Prices are typical mid-range and the choice is varied but not huge so suit people who like family burger style fare. The pub can be a bit noisy but the restaurant section next to the old steam loco (the site is a converted railway station) is more pleasant and open.

Date of visit: January 2021
2  Thank Steffen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2021

In these challenging times it's nice to still be able to eat out where staff are friendly, very cautious with Covid rules, and constantly sanitizing surroundings, with a smile on their faces.
Prices are a bit high, but portions are very good.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with The Entertainer
Thank michaelgd2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2020 via mobile

Popular with the locals and the vibe is great. More of a pub vibe than a restaurant and the old train station feeling feeds into the relaxed vibe.

Food is really good but don’t bother with prawns. Surprisingly disappointing. Everything else on the menu is great ..... except ask for ice cream to be replaced with cream when it comes to desserts. Don’t understand why they can’t get that right.

Specials in the week mean you need to phone ahead to book a table.

Service is really not good. You will be raising your hand regularly but don’t let that put you off. Still worth it .....although that was the the main reason why I knocked it down to 4 stars.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Lensonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2020

We had Prego rolls our favorite .
one slight problem the steak was over cooked this is not normal but will be back for hopefully the normal.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with The Entertainer
1  Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Stokers Arms also viewed

 

Been to Stokers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.