We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It’s all about customer care”

The Hussar Grill Kloof
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Kloof
Price range: R 100 - R 500
Description: The Hussar Grill Kloof in Durban is regarded as one of South Africa's premier grill restaurants, serving only the best steak available, with a comprehensive wine menu.
Restaurant details
Description: The Hussar Grill Kloof in Durban is regarded as one of South Africa's premier grill restaurants, serving only the best steak available, with a comprehensive wine menu.
Reviewed 31 July 2021

We love the Hussar Grill in Kloof, and go there when we have a special occasion to celebrate. We visited last week, and we found our steaks this time were a little below their usual standard. When we mentioned it to our waiter, Eddie, he and the amazing manager, Bo, went out of their way to make it right. We were blown away by this outstanding service and customer care. Well done, Hussar Grill, Kloof. You deserve to do well, because this is what it is all about. We will be back soon.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Kloof, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Good day, Tracy K,

Thank you for taking the time to visit and review The Hussar Grill Kloof. We're happy that our team ensured that you enjoyed your meal and that your overall dining experience was a memorable one.

We appreciate your continued support and we look forward to many more excellent occasions with you.

Best regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2021

Our evening started off with a warm welcome which continued with great in a great venue with a pleasant atmosphere. The service was so top notch and the variety on the menu just right for a place which specializes in red meat dishes. Despite the busyness, we were waited on "hand and foot" and our dishes were brought surprisingly quickly wt steak done to perfection. It got a bit noisy due to a birthday party at he next table, but otherwise it was a splendid evening.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Steffen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Kloof, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2021

Good day, Steffen K,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review of our The Hussar Grill Kloof steakhouse. We are delighted to hear that your evening was enjoyable and that our great team provided you with the finest quality food and service.

We look forward to serving you again, soon.

Warm regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2020

first time visit to the place and was very disappointed - venue and atmosphere is fantastic but the food was a disappointment - you think for a place like this and the pricing the portions would have been bigger - we ordered the steak meals and to our surprise you just get a piece of steak and a small portion of cold chips. one meal was ordered as medium to well but we got medium to rare and when complained about it the waiter does nothing, your chicken meals was literally a breast portion of chicken cut into 4 pieces and served on a plate, for the value of money you think you would get a better meal, unfortunately I think Spur serves a better meal than you.

was more disappointed when the waiter did nothing about the incorrect meal - why would we order medium to rare when we dont eat it !!!!!!!!!!!

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank govender40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Kloof, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

Dear Govender40,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Hussar Grill Kloof grill room. We are extremely disappointed to hear about your experience with us. We can assure you that this is not the standard we're known for.

Please, could you kindly take a moment to follow the link https://hus11.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=KwwuzM so that we may get in touch with you directly to address your concerns.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2020

We enjoyed a thoroughly good time for our first visit to the place and will definitely be going back again. The food was fantastic and the service was excellent. We also saw that they don't charge a corkage fee if you bring your own.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Kloof, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Dear Wayne M,

Thank you for your review of our The Hussar Grill Kloof grill room. We're so pleased to hear that your meal and the service was absolutely fantastic, as well as knowing that you enjoy our no-corkage policy.

We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2020

I had steak, chips & salad & was very happy. The steak was good quality, tasty, tender & cooked as requested. Chips crispy but soft inside & salad fresh. Service good. Ambience good. Parking convenient & free.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank KenLegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Kloof, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2020

Dear Kenlegg,

Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our The Hussar Grill Kloof grill room. We're extremely pleased to hear that your steak, salad and service from our team was superb!

Looking forward to having you back for another five-star Hussar experience.

Best regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hussar Grill Kloof also viewed

 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Hussar Grill Kloof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.