We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Romantic retreat”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Pooley Bridge, Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alibun
Swindon
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Romantic retreat”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous barn conversion, tastefully decorated and incredibly clean. There is so much attention to detail in everything provided for a home from home stay. Everything comfy. Roll top bath a real treat at the end of a day walking. Amazing walk in shower/wet room too.The farm is very tranquil and peaceful, the setting is picture perfect. Owners discreetly around and very friendly. It is a beautiful 10 min (along the river) walk into the heart of Pooley Bridge, which is a most delightful village. Good selection of places to eat & drink, catch the steamer to either sail around Ullswater or stop off at Glenridding or Howtown. Walking from door if you don't want to take car out. Keswick only about 20 mins by car. The only negative is not really any private garden. However this would not stop us returning this is simply one of the best holiday lets we have stayed in, there is a bench directly outside which catches the sun so nice to enjoy a coffee or glass of wine and there is a small area where a table & 2 chairs are provided. This is luxury accommodation and we felt very lucky to have found this gem. Definitely recommend this & definitely hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: gorgeous clean accomodation, tastefully decoarted, roll top bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your time at Barn End and had everything you needed to feel truly at home there! What you describe sounds like a wonderful place to call 'home' after a day exploring all the area has to offer, the roll top bath in particular sounds like the perfect way to unwind at the end of the day! We will be sure to pass your compliments along to the owners and hope you return again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simmons12...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Surpassed our expectations. What a lovely place! Everything we needed in spacious accommodation and tastefully decorated to a high standard. Roll top bath in the main bedroom was a nice touch and was most welcome after our long walks. The bathroom with the walk-in shower was great.
Thanks for a great week's break . We will definitely return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Wow! What lovely comments! Thank you very much. It is brilliant to hear that we exceeded your expectations and would agree that the roll top bath is a special touch. We will certainly keep our eyes peeled for your next booking and look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJKnights
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is the 2nd year we have returned to Barn End and again we had the most wonderful holiday. The cottage is very much a home from home with everything you would need, beautifully decorated with tradiational features. Being on a farm it was great for our twins as they just love animals! And with a little park directly out your door they were in their element! You can enjoy a lovely short walk though the fields to Pooly Bridge and the tip of Ullswater. There is spectacular scenery wherever you look here and we cannot wait to visit again next year

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wirral
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing