We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“cosy and rustic cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pooley Bridge, Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alistair...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“cosy and rustic cottage”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This cottage is a real little gem.
It is furnished to a high standard and has a wood burning stove if things get nippy !
We stayed in June during a bit of a heatwave and found the cottage a cool retreat because of the thick walls.
The small garden is a delight ! Buy some bird seed and just sit back.!
One thing to watch.. Not good if you have bad knees or any mobility issues due to the stairs to the bedroom.All in all, though, we couldn't fault either cottage or location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Blacksmiths Cottage.

Its great to hear you had an enjoyable stay and made the most of the wood burning stove.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, charming and cute”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely little holiday let for two. We arrived towards the end of a cold snap and found the place very chilly, but soon had the wood-burning stove fired up. The owners had put a very nicely decorated Christmas tree in a corner of the sitting room and there were seasonal lights around the mantelpiece, which made for a very cosy environment once the curtains were drawn.

The place was spotless and finished to a high standard. The bathroom's underfloor heating, heated towel rail and shower were fantastic.

The cottage's location was perfect for us and the silence and darkness gave us the best nights' sleep we'd had in ages.

We couldn't find instructions for the storage heaters (we'd not used them before), so we were a bit chilly at first. We called the agent and the owner called us back a few moments later to tell us how best to use them. They still struggled a bit but we were much warmer thereafter.

All in all, we had a lovely time and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bathroom, bed, wood-burning stove and location.
Liked least: The storage heaters
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
Thank you for informing Lakes Cottage Holidays of your feedback following your stay at Blacksmiths Cottage.

We are pleased you found the location of the property perfect for your stay, found the cottage to be clean and enjoyed the wood burning stove.

We are delighted to hear you wish to return to Blacksmiths Cottage and Lakes Cottage Holidays hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morkymike
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“September Break”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Found this cottage on Google search. Looked exactly what we wanted for our September break. Saturday to Saturday booking suited us as well. The Cottage was easy to find, we knew we couldn't park outside the property but this is made clear in the details. The free parking is 50yards away and is ample. The whole area around the cottage was quiet and peaceful.
The bedroom was very big and so was the bed which was very comfortable and there was plenty of wardrobe and draw space. The bathroom sorry, shower room had a double size shower cubicle with an overhead power shower, we found this a superb arrangement. The living room had comfortable chairs and sofa and a good size tv. Wi-fi was excellent and fast. Kitchen had all you need and the dishwasher was an added bonus. We also sat out in the pleasant garden a few times.
The cottage is situated on the edge of a small village but nothing was more than 300 yards away! 3 pubs and two cafes (we tried them all and they were all excellent). A general shop, outdoor shop and a couple of gift shops completed a lovely village.
All in all we couldn't have wished for better.
I would suggest that this property is NOT suitable for people with disabilities especially if you have difficulty in climbing narrowish turning stairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the comfort
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Blacksmiths Cottage.

We are pleased you found the bed comfortable, enjoyed the location of the cottage and found the kitchen well equipped for your stay.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Blacksmiths Cottage in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Blacksmiths Cottage.

We are pleased you thought the property was beautifully furnished and you enjoyed the location of the property.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Blacksmiths Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carrotsta...
carrotstaz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another fabulous stay!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having enjoyed our stay so much last year we returned for another weeks break late January. Again we enjoyed a lot of great walking straight from the cottage. It couldn't be cosier returning to the wood-burning fire after a day on the fells. A very comfortable bed too. We plan to go again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review of Blacksmiths Cottage

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed another stay at this popular property and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Kind Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
Tel 017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;