We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning holiday home!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alloway Retreat

Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Master Bedroom
Family Bathroom
Twin Room
Second Bedroom
Kitchen
Alfresco Entertaining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Simon K
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning holiday home!”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We were blown away by this holiday home as soon as we stepped through the door.

The decor is of a very high and very tasteful standard. The attention to detail was impressive. Not only is the place immaculate, a lot of thought has gone into making sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.

The location is handy for weddings at Brig o'Doon hotel, there's a golf course over the road and Ayr town centre / Ayr racecourse is 5 minutes away.

We were attending a friends wedding at the Brig o'Doon Hotel which itself was a fantastic day, but the whole trip was made special by a very comfortable stay at Alloway Retreat.

Would definitely stay there again and wouldn't hesitate recommending it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
Thank you for this fabulous review, I'm so glad you had a wonderful stay and that Alloway Retreat helped make a memorable occasion special! Wishing you all well and hope to see you all again in the near future. Take care
Kindest regards
Shirley
Alloway Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Accommodation!”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

As best man at a wedding in Brig o' Doon I chose Alloway Retreat as our accommodation for the night before and the night of the big day. It was the perfect place for me to calm the Groom's nerves!

The accommodation is beautiful; all three bedrooms are huge and there is plenty of space throughout the house to relax as a group or on your own (I spent some time in the quiet lounge on the morning of the wedding to make sure I had my best-man's speech completely prepared!).

Shirley was great as well, she welcomed us at the door and had even baked us some fresh bread for our arrival!

Our only regret is that we didn't stay for longer! If I'm ever at a wedding or event in the area again it will be the first place I choose to stay and will recommend it to anyone else who is as well!

Fantastic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2014
Aww wow! How sweet! Thank you so much for that fabulous review! It was a pleasure having you all stay and I must say the groom looked very calm and collected the day before his wedding. Glad Alloway Retreat was able to accommodate all your pre-wedding needs. You are all welcome back anytime, take care and thanks again.
Shirley
Alloway Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynniel0u...
Troon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxury epitomised.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I cannot fault a single thing - from the warm welcome from Shirley, the modern and luxurious acommodation, freshly baked bread on our arrival - everything was excellent!

I stayed here the night before my wedding with my bridesmaids, there were 6 of us to get ready in the morning, but the house is so spacious, we never felt as if we were on top of one another. There is also a lovely large garden complete with furniture and parasol. Would definitely recommend this to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for this great review! I'm so glad that Alloway Retreat helped make your special day just that.....special. You were all beautiful and it is a privilege to have a bride and her bridesmaids leave from Alloway Retreat! Hope that you are all well and that you are enjoying married life! All the best to both of you!
Kindest regards
Shirley
Alloway Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discotequ...
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent once again”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just returned from our second visit. Very comfortable, clean and spacious. Alloway is a lovely place and the bungalow is a superb place to relax. Thoroughly recommended.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2014
Thank you...once again! Was lovely having you and your family return to Alloway Retreat! Always a pleasure! You obviously brought the great weather with you too! Hopefully see you all again in the near future. Thanks again.
Shirley
Alloway Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M
1 review
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned home from a wonderful weekend at this beautiful cottage. Everything was just perfect - spotlessly clean, lovely and welcoming host, luxurious modern decor & even my little baba had his own little private nursery :) just fabulous! Thank you so much Shirley - we can't wait to come back! xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give Alloway Retreat such a wonderful review. I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay and I would love to have you return....anytime, just let me know. Take care.
Kindest regards
Shirley
Alloway Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing