We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little piece of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alloway Retreat

Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Master Bedroom
Family Bathroom
Twin Room
Second Bedroom
Kitchen
Alfresco Entertaining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
12Janice5...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My three friends and I stayed here for a long weekend at the end of May. The house is stunning and Shirley was the perfect host....met us at the door with a loaf of freshly made bread! The property is like a showhouse, beautifully decorated with high quality kitchen appliances. We had fabulous weather and sat outside with a wee glass of bubbly in the comfortable garden chairs.

It is the perfect place to unwind and gather your petals. We will definately be coming back.....be warned and prepared to want to completely refigure and redecorate your own house after staying here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2014
Aww thank you so much for that great review! I'd gladly have you all back as you were wonderful guests, so anytime....just let me know.
Kindest regards
Shirley
Alloway Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossM849
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Booked the house for my partner and me to enjoy over our wedding period, my partner stayed on the Friday with her bridesmaids and then my wife and I used it on the Saturday night after our wedding. The house was amazing, Shirley the owner was fantastic throughout the whole process and the very kind gesture of freshly made bread and bottle of wine was very well received. The house was gleaming and a real joy to spend time in, very spacious and the rooms were lovely, I most certainly would recommend this place to anyone thinking about renting out as you will not be disappointed. H

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do this fantastic review, it is much appreciated and I'm glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay as I knew it was a special time for you both. I'm glad that Alloway Retreat added to what will always be a special memory for you both. Thank you all again. Take care.
Kindest regards
Shirley
Alloway Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz J
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very special place”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Probably the best holiday home we have ever stayed in. Shirley's warm welcome was lovely and the house itself was outstanding. It really is like staying in a five star hotel. Three generations of our family were all catered for - from the luxury bedrooms through to the basketball net in the garden. We can thoroughly recommend it - although we do admit that the terrific weather and lovely setting in Ayrshire helped no end.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2014
Thank you for your this fabulous review. I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed it. Was a pleasure having you all and it would be a pleasure to have you all again (especially if you bring the good weather with you). take care and thank you.
Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mokisho
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, great location.”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This is first class holiday accommodation; spacious, well appointed, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. It's a great base for visiting Ayrshire; Burns Experience, Rozelle Park, Ayr beach, Culzean Castle and Park, Dark Sky Observatory, golf courses. Dunure Inn nearby is a lovely place to eat for all the family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2013
Thank you for this kind review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at Alloway Retreat and it sounds like you managed to fit a lot in during your week stay. Ayrshire does have a lot to offer people on holiday and I'm glad that you have mentioned this in your review for others to benefit. Thank you again and it was a pleasure.
Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed as a group of friends visiting for a golf weekend. The house was amazing! Modern, clean, comfortable, spacious! The house owner Shirley was very welcoming and helpful. The location was ideal for us, less than 5 mins taxi to the town centre, and Belleisle Seafield golf course was pretty much across the road! All in all, it couldn't have been any better, and we hope we will be back again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and house decor
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad that you all enjoyed your stay and that the weather stayed good for you to enjoy your golfing days. Thank you for choosing Alloway Retreat and I would most certainly welcome you all back again. Take care
Shirley Brown
Alloway Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing