We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cosy stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Runach Arainn

Interior of one of our luxury Yurts
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Interior of one of our luxury Yurts
Stable door style yurt entrance Yurts are lit by solar powered lights
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Interior of one of our luxury Yurts
Stable door style yurt entrance
Yurts are lit by solar powered lights
Each yurt has a wood burning stove/cooker (firewood included)
Yurts are set in a small orchard
Torrylinn beach - 15 minutes walk form site
Goat Fell range of mountains and Brodick Bay
Goat Fell range of mountains
Sunset over Mull of Kintyre from Arran
Kilmory Parish Church
Loch Garbad, Eas Mor, Isle of Arran
Sunset over Lagg wood as seen from our site
Holy Island from Arran
A couple of 'neighbours'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yurt -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kilmory, Isle of Arran, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emz1980
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful cosy stay”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a great two night stay in these wonderful yurts. Despite the cold February weather it was toasty warm inside within 20 mins of lighting the fire and our friendly hosts provided everything we needed.The kids thought it was a great adventure, we would definitely come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Thanks Emma, glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Excellent getaway!!”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My partner and I spent a great long weekend on Isle of Arran in the beginning of October.
We stayed in a yurt at Runach Arainn which was great. Such a unique experience. We both like camping, being outdoors and exploring new places. I booked a yurt as a surprise birthday present for my partner and he loved it.
It was very easy to find the place with the directions given by Andy and Pippa. We had our own shower room/toilet, and shared kitchen. There was plenty of wood provided at the yurt to keep us going for the weekend. The fire place warmed up the yurt quickly and we even managed to make pizzas in it. It was great that we could watch the stars from inside the yurt :). Everything was provided that we needed (plates, mugs, cutlery, etc.) and we even found some board games in the cupboard.
We'll definitely go back to Runach Arainn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked everything about our stay, couldn't choose just one thing.
Liked least: There's nothing bad about our stay that I could think of.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Thanks for the review. We're delighted you had such a good stay and would love to see you back on Arran next year.
Thanks
Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights in September, I can't fault it at all very friendly family and the yurts are fantastic with your own little seating area outside for fire and cooking which we used as the weather was on our side. Like the fact that you also have your own toliet section loved the shower very powerful and better than my shower at home haha! We walked down to the local restraunt for a couple of drinks would also recommend family run and very friendly staff. Hopefully be back in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The yurt
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
Thanks for a lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back next year.
Thanks
Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sallie R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Couldn't be better!”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I are in our 50s ( well he is 60) and although haven't done a lot of camping this is the camping that appeals. It was clean and spacious, the stove cooked all our meals from pasta dishes to steak and new potatoes. The very smart loo block had your own shower and loo so non of the hanging around. Take flip flops to walk up and down to yurt so you keep every where clean.
Your own table and camp fire out side was a lovely space in the evening too.
Pippa and Andy should be very proud of what they have created and were on hand if needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Hi Sallie, Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Hope you make it back to Arran soon.
Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“can't help but relax here away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

From start to finish we had an amazingly relaxing stay for a long weekend in August. The owners were more than helpful throughout and the accommodation is amazing. The whole site has been thought out very well and there is everything you need to have a comfortable stay. Even though it is located away from the main areas of the island, it is only just off the main coast road and has a local pub in walking distance serving good food and local ales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Hi Nick, Thanks very much for the review. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Regards Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing