We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
435
93
30
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
93
30
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszuurberg mountainsstunning viewshot waterluxury tentsfig treeaddo elephant parkon stiltslimited electricitycolonial lodgefamily suitecolonial styleremote locationother guestsfantastic locationdirt roadour night staybefore dinner
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018

We had an amazing stay despite the gale force winds on day one and beautiful rain on the second.
The rooms were wonderful cozy. The warm 'luppies' a treat and fires defrosted us after a cold game drive. Thank you for the sherry for all occasions. We WILL see you again!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank J3249XBinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampFigtree, Guest Relations Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that despite the wind and rain you had a magical getaway! We are thrilled that you will be returning again, and our team look forward to welcoming you. Warmest Regards, Ingrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

Our stay at Camp Figtree was awesome. The views are stunning and you feel like you have your own piece of paradise to yourself. The tented accommodation was spacious, quiet and elegant. Every attention to detail including putting the heater on for the cold winter’s nights and a wonderful hot water bottle surprise when you jump into bed. Each part of your room has a view including the shower. We really felt like we were in nature - so pleased there was no TV to spoil this. The staff are wonderful, so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbiEttienne_Marais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco S, General Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear Debbi & Ettiene
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your wonderful review!
I think you have posted the first sunrise picture at Camp Figtree, beautiful isnt it? Thank you.
No need to have TV when you can enjoy the views of rolling valleys with birdsong and bush noises.
We hope you make Camp Figtree your prefered accomodation when visiting Addo and we look forward to welcome you back at our piece of paradise.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

EVERYTHING! The place is amazing. Being away from civilization in the middle of nowhere gives the property a magical feel and sets you instantly on relaxation mode which is not comparable with other properties. The tent was super premium with views to die for. At night, if the sky is clear, you can see the milky way at its best in deep silence. An incredible experience. The bathroom is beautiful with premium toiletries that spelled delicious. The bed was super comfy, and the gas heater was a total plus for our cold night. Staff is really friendly and helpful, they even made reservations for other activities outside the hotel. We took the property's safari and they provide you with binoculars and a poncho which helps in the afternoon when the sun goes down. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone I know traveling to South Africa! Totally worth it!

Regarding activities and food, it was a bit pricey compared to other properties near or in game reserves that offer safaris and all-inclusive meal packages. Keep in mind that, due to the fact that you are very far away from any sort of civilization in the middle of the mountain, you are

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Durusb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampFigtree, Guest Relations Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and have such wonderful memories to take away with you. Regarding the pricing Camp Figtree is very competitively priced with other establishments in the area. We do also offer package options which include dinner and a game drive, so this is a perfect option for guests wanting to know what they are paying prior to arrival. We hope you are able to visit us again soon. Best Regards, Ingrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

This was a great place to atay and relax. We stayed in one of the luxury tents, and the view was spectacular! The food was very good as well. We especially enjoyed the hot water bottle to warm our beds and the heater being turned on while we were at dinner. 25 min drive to Addo where you can do a self drive and see tons(we saw 70 elephants in one day!), or they offer fane drives through the lodge. It was a bit fancier than our normal place (a treat for us), but the staff were kind and it was a really cool place! Thanks!!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank wallendot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampFigtree, Guest Relations Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Harper,
Thank you for your wonderful review - we are so pleased you had a relaxing and peaceful stay at Camp Figtree.
We hope to welcome you again in the future. Yours in Hospitality, Ingrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Arrived at Camp Figtree after a lovely drive up the Zuurberg pass. We had a lovely weekend but left with mixed feelings.
The positive things:
* The location and view are outstanding
* The staff are friendly and helpful
* Our room was spacious and clean
* The food was good
* Our bed was very comfortable
The negative things:
* We were left to carry luggage to room
* No mini bar or snacks in room so remember to take own along as even at pre dinner drinks all that is served are a few dismal canapés. Come on management a few nuts would not cost you the earth or at least have them for sale.
* Staff seemed obsessed with pushing us for our dinner selections way before dinner time- happened on both evenings

Overall we had a pleasant weekend but feel that with proper management the experience can be much improved.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank KingfisherWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampFigtree, Guest Relations Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased that overall you had a good stay and enjoyed the views and service provided. Sorry to hear that you had to carry your luggage to your suite - this is certainly not the norm so we will feed this back to our team. We appreciate your comments about the snacks and will look into this. With regard to the dinner selections it is a great to help to our chefs to know what each guest would like to order in advance, we apologies you were made to feel under pressure to decide early, we will also discuss this with our team. Warmest Regards, Ingrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews