We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely property in a great location and a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Helena Cottage

Secluded Courtyard Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded Courtyard Garden
Corner sofa bed & patio doors Dining area & Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Secluded Courtyard Garden
Corner sofa bed & patio doors
Dining area & Hall
Fully equipped kitchen
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
New bathroom
New bathroom
The Great Outdoors!
Elie beach
Sunset at the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Elie, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
George H
Ripon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely property in a great location and a wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Helena Cottage was acessed down a short gravel pathway and is close to both the golf course, beach and a local pub. It’s location means it’s very quiet as very few people walk past it and it is protected from the most of the strong winds.

The property was very well maintained throughout; with two bedrooms (one double and one twin leading off it), a lovely shower/bathroom and a well fitted out kitchen / dining / living room. There is also a washing machine in the outside utility room. There is even an option to fold out the sofa in the living room into an extra bed in case unexpected visitors turn up. The free wi-allowed the TV to host a Fire TV Stick; which gave us access to Amazon Prime/Netflix/iplayer, etc.

Edinburgh was just over an hour away and St Andrews about 35 mins, so it’s easily accessable to both. For those lazy days, a long sandy beach is only a quick walk away.

All in all, a lovely property in a great location and a wonderful holiday.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
George- thank you for taking the time to review and your comments. Glad you had a great time and hope to see you back again soon! Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela_he...
1 review
“Best holiday ever”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Myself, my Mum and my 4 year old son have just got home from staying in Helena Cottage. I burst into tears when I got in the car because I didn't want to leave Elie, the beautiful peaceful beach and our perfect holiday cottage.
We absolutely loved it and will definitely be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Angela. Thanks for your review and very glad you had a great time at the cottage - although obviously v. sad to be leaving :-( Hope to see you back again soon. Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expeditio...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cottage! ”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful time at Helena cottage so very peaceful and a truly relaxing break. The cottage is in a perfect location and is very homely, nicely decorated and well equipped. There's a fantastic shower too. Elie is lovely - we had a great time at the beach and on coastal walks! Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
That's great you had a nice time at the cottage, and got time to relax there and see Elie & surrounds. Thank you for the review - hope to have you stay at the cottage again in the future! Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Hi Karen - thank you for taking the time to post a really nice review. I'm glad you really enjoyed the accommodation and location, and had a nice stay. Hope to see you again in the future. Thanks. Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kirstyhen...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage for 3rd visit to Elie!”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our first time at Helena Cottage, although my husband and young son have been to Elie before, and we were very pleased with the cottage! It is fresh, comfortable, well equipped and thoughtfully finished. We had great weather so the wee garden was great for sitting out (when we weren't on the beach). The black out blinds in the bedrooms were a great touch (especially with a toddler!). The I-pod dock and Amazon Prime were used too. The cottage is not attached to any other buildings so it was super quiet at night. We hope to return again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2016
Hi Kirsty. Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you enjoyed the stay and found everything at the cottage to your liking. Hope to see you again in the future. Thanks. Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing