We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice, scenic country location with home made cheese

My wife has wanted to visit for some time, and on Saturday we found ourselves driving in the... read more

Reviewed 27 November 2018
Beechman1
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
via mobile
Good time

Good food, great atmosphere, had a very good time. Nice and outdoors. Lots of shade. Nice place for... read more

Reviewed 7 November 2018
elizev2018
,
Magaliesburg, South Africa
Read all 142 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Madibeng
from US$165,91
More Info
from US$165,91
More Info
from US$209,23
More Info
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
37
60
34
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
60
34
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday drive lovely sunday garden setting hiking trails jungle gym beautiful scenery for sale worth a visit toasted sandwich guided tour van gaalen cheese making wonderful cheese home made cheese shop local cheese dutch influence
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

We did the 12km River Hiking trail and ended up crossing the Skeerpoort river on a floating bridge! The farm itself is in beautiful surroundings with ample space to enjoy a picnic afterwards - or a restaurant menu. The farm shop sells cheese, wine and sweets. The Greek church is next on my menu!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Lynette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Van Gaalen is a cheese farm near the Hartebeestpoort dam (Skeerpoort area) making traditional dutch cheeses. You can taste and buy many different types. There is a shpop selling Dutch delicacies and a good restaurant.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Fkafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

I went with my partner to van Gaalen cheesefarm to enjoy a nice Saturday afternoon at the venue. We arrived with our small terrier wanting to give him some 'outside adventure' too. Upon entering the premises a teenager ( daughter of the owners we figured out later) un politely sent us away - informing us no dogs allowed. While we respect such policy there are different ways of approaching your customers. Unfortunately i had exactly the same unpleasant experience again 5 minutes later in the shop while buying a piece of cheese and some drinks after we were denied at the terrace. While I have been many times to this venue and always wanting to take guests here ( being Dutch and spending a lot of time in South Africa) i have decided that van Gaalen will no longer be on my radar going forward. Unpleasant and unfriendly non welcoming staff being the reason simply chasing customers away.....Thank you but no thank you!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Hanneke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

The venue is really good, but we found the extent of the offering disappointing with a limited menu. The shop is also very expensive.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank MikeyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

If you like cheese and casual hiking, this is a great place, not too from Joburg. Their walking/mountain bike trails partly follow along a river, with beautiful scenery. There are many kilometres of trails, so worth multiple visits.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Melanie_alexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews