We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boathouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Balmedie, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ednaken
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 21 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Once again we've had a fantastic time.Thank you both. This is our perfect hideaway and great for our wee dog Poppy who had an absolute ball on the beach. This accomodation is far enough out of the way but 5 minutes in the car to the village of Balmedie where you can stock up on all of your needs. There are plenty of places nearby for eating out or a short drive into the city of Aberdeen. We will be back for sure! Absolutely love this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B C
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect secluded hide away for two and a dog”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Ideal for a couple who wish to "chill out" Walk to the beach down cart tracks.
Miles and miles of sandy beaches and dunes. Easy reach of other attractions and
restaurants. Once the main coastal road (a mile away) has been completed and bypasses the lane to The Boathouse - even better.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshirei...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every way”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Can't say enough about this little gem. We wanted a quiet weekend away from it all. We got this and a lot more.

Communication from Mickey was always timely and responsive, and the bottle of wine in the fridge was a nice wee touch.

The location is perfect. Secluded, yet within a short drive of anything you may need. Close to the beach, which is out of this world.

We saw ~300 seals within 5 minutes of walking onto the beach at Newburgh. They were on the other side of the small channel and were playing around on the sandbank. Truly a sight to behold. The rest of the beach was amazing. Huge dunes and wide sand for as far as the eye can see, south to Aberdeen.

One other highlight for me (as a beer fan) was a quick trip to the Brewdog brewery and bar at Ellon. Just 10 minutes from our bothy.

We are already planning a return trip!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Hi David & Carol
sorry we didnt meet up with you very glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for the personal message that means a great deal to us on top of your fab reveiw!
We hope to meet you next time your up this way and thankyou for taking good care of the Boathouse.
We heartily recomend you both to any future hosts.
Mickey/Kym
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Pardon this late response.
Thankyou for your kind review and hope all is well with the puppy.
Hope to see you again.
Micket/Kym
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caroline...
1 review
“May stay”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely cottage which was fully equipped for our stay. Everything you need and beaches close by. Great location and excellent hosts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
It was a pleasure to hear that you got down to the beach and we'd welcome you back next time.
Mickey/Kym
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing