We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous home for homebase to see Malta!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Munqar

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Zurrieq, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
English first
Jeanie P
1 review
“Fabulous home for homebase to see Malta!”
Reviewed 10 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We loved our stay at Villa Munqar! Janice & Charmaine at the Baldacchino Group were a pleasure to work with during the whole rental process. The villa is in a private setting but easily accessible to all of Malta. 3 large ensuite bedrooms. Wide open home and very well taken care of. Lots of natural light and there is plenty of room on the deck to enjoy the outside. Given we where there in December, the villa was a little cooler at night than expected given it's a stone building and there were constant winds coming off the ocean. Only a 6 minute drive over to the Blue Grotto area where there is a beautiful overlook and some great restaurants, specifically Cassarini Restaurant. The food and staff were absolutely delightful at Cassarini's.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful Luxury”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed at Villa Munqar in early October 2017. Our party comprised 4 adults.

It's less than 20 minutes from the airport, at the end of a secluded lane with little through traffic. The villa and patios are not overlooked and provide fantastic views across the valley with Valetta on the far horizon. It's an ideal location both for relaxing and as a base for sightseeing. A short walk up the lane leads to breathtaking clifftop views of the Blue Grotto bay - a perfect spot for stunning sunset photographs.

The villa itself is very well equipped with high quality fixtures, fittings and furnishings. As previous reviews have mentioned the beds are a little too firm but that was our only gripe.

The unheated pool was spotlessly clean and the gardens are well maintained. Security standards are high with electric sliding gates across the driveway.

Janice and her team who manage villa bookings were very efficient and prompt to respond to questions and kept us updated before our stay. They offer the option to purchase a food pack in advance which was most welcome. They were also very helpful when we asked to check out late.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The villa is beautiful. We were impressed with the cleanliness and quality of the appliances and furnishings. The pool was lovely, The barbeque and outside seating and eating areas were excellent. We had wonderful holiday.
We were troubled by mosquitos on the first evening but with sensible precautions it wasn't a problem.
We couldn't get the sauna or Jacuzzi to work, it didn't matter to us but may do to others.
The club/venue on one side next door was a bit noisy up to midnight on a few days and we had people asking to park across our drive for an evening event. Again not important to us as you could hardly hear any noise indoors with the windows closed. Thank heavens for the excellent air conditioning.
The small building site on the other side next door was dusty and noisy at times during the day but it didn't spoil our holiday.
The house was situated up a rough track on the edge of town and had wonderful views. We definitely needed our own car as most of the shops were a bit too far to walk to. Sadly we didn't find a bar within walking distance.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa, private locations, outstanding views”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
people found this review helpful

My wife and stayed here over the New Year with two other couples, and it was great! The villa has three bedrooms, each with an en suite bathroom/shower. There is a Jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom, plus a half bathroom off the dining room, and even a full bathroom and sauna in the pool house. It is great for families or groups.

The location is a little remote at the end of a bumpy road, but nothing is too far away in Malta. It was only a few minutes to the nearest small grocery store, less than 10 minutes to the airport, and 20 minutes from Valletta. The surroundings are very quiet, and so is the house. A crying baby in one room didn't disturb the sleepers in another, and the house is within a secure courtyard with private parking protected by a motorized gate.

The kitchen is open very well equipped, and the house even came with extra amenities like a high chair, a crib, and a PlayStation 3!

The infinity pool is beautiful by itself, and there is a spectacular 180+ degree view of the island and the ocean. After a 5 minute walk down the street, you can even see the Blue Grotto.

We were already talking about our next trip to Malta before we left! The customer service from the owner was great from start to finish, and our deposit was returned in full the day after we left.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Villa”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
person found this review helpful

We were impressed with the villa, it was just as it appeared on the website and it suited the 6 of us perfectly.

We would like to thank Janice and the office staff for their help during our stay. On arrival the pool was a little cloudy, this was rectified the same day and Janice helped us print our return flight boarding passes.

A cafetiere in the kitchen and another 2 seater settee in the lounge would be good.

The location was great, out of the village with panoramic views.

We would recommend the villa to our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Pool & relaxing location
Liked least: mosquitos
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing