We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
servaas2022

Exceptional experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Apr 2024
Exceptional friendly and professional service from both Malcolm & Coletta.
Food was great and very tasteful.
Accommodation - Top class
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Bed is very small
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Liezel Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this review
Responded 02 May 2024
Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very proud of our Team at Melkboomsdrift.
Our priority is customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark!
Kind folks like you make our job a pleasure.
We are looking forward to have you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 960
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 960
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 960
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 960
0.0 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free parking
Pool
POOL Area
R 950
  • Expedia.com
    R 950
  • Hotels.com
    R 934
  • Priceline
    R 950
28.5 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 100
  • Priceline
    R 1 100
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 100
28.6 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming pool
Closed in winter or
if water restrictions requirement
R 1 033
R 979
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 033
28.8 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free parking
Beachfront
R 1 200
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 200
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 200
7.6 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 650
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 650
7.6 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
courtyard area
R 750
  • Priceline
    R 750
  • Agoda.com
    R 750
31.1 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 965
  • eDreams
    R 965
  • Vio.com
33.7 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free parking
Room service
R 1 500
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 500
31.9 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free parking
Aant Dorpseind
R 999
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 999
  • Agoda.com
    R 999
32.2 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Vredendal
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
185
83
14
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
185
83
14
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house cape town olifants river excellent stay beautiful place pleasant stay hidden gem stay there again stunning views electric blankets peaceful surroundings enjoyed our stay comfortable rooms business trip south africa beautiful room warm hospitality
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2024

It is a lovely maintained guesthouse. I had the best imaginable time. Staff was very friendly, they even helped me plan my trip farther north. We also went fishing in the olifant river at night and had a braai there. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jsimon112680
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

Good day

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.
Guests like you makes our work worthwhile, and we welcome you to our Melkboomsdrift family.
We are looking forward to your next visit with us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2024

Excellent accommodation. Reception provided all information including that there could be load shedding, advised us of the facilities and left us to settle in. Dinner and breakfast were both really nice. Would happily stay again if in the area. Staff regularly checked to see that all was OK, a nice touch and not overpowering.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tadley_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

We are thrilled to have you as part of the Melkboomsdrift family.
Our priority is customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark!
Kind folks like you make our job a pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2024

Extremely beautiful and very friendly staff.
It is about 20mins from Vredendal and about 40mins from the N7 but all worth the drive.
The route to the accommodation is scenic.
Great staff. Receptionist was great, good conversation. It makes you feel at home.

I had room 105 and trust me you would love it.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank moegammadmoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2024

Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
Our priority is customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark!
Kind folks like you make our job a pleasure.
We are looking forward to have you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2024

What an awesome place. Lovely food, tranquil and friendly staff. Love the lapa where you can get together and just relax after a day on the road. James, friendly face and excellent service makes you feel at home. James, you Rock!

We will see you again!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2024

Wow, thanks so much for taking the time to share your kind comments.
That’ll put a smile on my face for the rest of the day!
It was a pleasure to have you.
James is indeed a special guy and one of our greatest team players here at Melkboomsdrift.
Someone you can count on 24/7/365

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2024

The river view...the staff...the food...lovely place....the grape haversting period is such a lovely scene to witness....the Tomatoe Sauce factory nearby...lovely to see it in seasonal operation...lovely place to visit

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Sunshine23288902392
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Thank you for your feed back.
Yes this time of year is very busy.
Grape harvesting for the year has started, so as the production of the tomatoes at the Tiger Brand factory.
Lutzville is small, but it is a place that can offer you a lot.
Wine, food and great hospitality.

We are looking forward to your visit again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews