We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Coastal24329189847

Melkboomsdrift

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Aug 2023
We had a wonderful stay at Melkboomsdrift on our flower trip! Friendly and very helpful hosts. The guest house, or shall I say Guest Farm, has a fantastic setting with great views on the Olifantsriver! All staff very friendlyThe dinner served in the boma was excellent!
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this review
Responded 27 Aug 2023
We are overjoyed that our staff made your stay so memorable.
Our priority is customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark!
Kind folks like you make our job a pleasure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Dining room
    12.0 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Garden
      11.1 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      R 1 898
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • eDreams
      0.0 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free parking
      Pool
      POOL Area
      R 1 055
      R 950
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • eDreams
      28.5 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      • eDreams
      • Vio.com
      33.7 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free parking
      Room service
      Grootvlei Guest Farm. View of the Ocean from Oppiduin. The four on the Dune suites are located here as close to the ocean as one can possible stay.
      61.2 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      At Dassie Den, sit on comfortable loungers on your deck, observing the magnificent Cederberg roc
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      84.2 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      73.8 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free parking
      Pool
      View more hotels in Vredendal
      Reviews (294)
      Filter reviews
      294 results
      Traveller rating
      188
      83
      14
      5
      4
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      188
      83
      14
      5
      4
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews guest house cape town olifants river excellent stay beautiful place pleasant stay hidden gem stay there again stunning views electric blankets peaceful surroundings enjoyed our stay comfortable rooms business trip south africa beautiful room warm hospitality
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      27 - 32 of 294 reviews
      Reviewed 22 August 2023

      We had a most enjoyable 1 night stay at
      Melkboomdrift. Very welcoming friendly & helpful staff . Kept us informed before arrival which was appreciated.
      Delicious pork roast dinner in lovely setting .
      Very spacious & comfortable room with amazing view of Sishen iron ore railway viaduct .
      Highly recommend a stay here !

      Date of stay: August 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Deane B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2023

      Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review.
      We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day.
      So thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.
      Regards Melkboomsdrift Team

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 19 August 2023

      We had a lovely visit recently at Melkboomsdrift Lodge. The service was very friendly and efficient, at reception as well as the restaurant. The lodge is neat and clean, with lovely gardens and a lovely lapa where we enjoyed our meals. The signposts to get to the lodge are also easy to find, also at night. We can highly recommend this lodge!

      Date of stay: August 2023
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank Compass49035954260
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2023

      We are thrilled to have you as part of the family
      Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback with Melkboomsdrift Guesthouse
      We are always here to help and sort you out.
      Good that have feel better, and we are looking forward to host you again.
      Regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 17 August 2023

      I visited the Guest house for one night and regretted why I only booked one night instead of two since I was in the area for 2 days. There was a welcome message on my day of arrival via SMS and WhatsApp and was informed of the food that was going to be served for dinner even before I arrived. Had a pleasant and relaxing stay after a long drive from Cape Town. The dinner and breakfast were great, and the hospitality is out of this world. I would recommend the place if you wanted to relax away from the buzzes and noise of the big towns.

      Date of stay: August 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Happiness59935978519
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feed back with us.
      The staff and I are so happy we could make your stay so wonderful.
      Welcome to the Melkboomsdrift family.
      We are looking forward to host you again.
      Regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 14 August 2023

      We had a wonderful and excellent stay for two nights.
      Simone is a star!!! she helped us settle in . Explained and gave advice as to where to find the best flowers . Breakfast and dinner was great. Lovely fires made in the evening.

      Date of stay: July 2023
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank jimmy859
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2023

      Simone is indeed a special lady and one of our greatest team players here at Melkboomsdrift.
      The staff and I are so happy we could make your stay so wonderful.
      Kind folks like you make our job a pleasure.

      Regards

      Melkboomsdrift Team

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 10 August 2023 via mobile

      Heavenly coffee, exquisite food, and friendly staff at this amazing place with peaceful views. What more would you need. Thank you for a memorable stop on our road trip.
      Fab food
      Fab staff
      Fab room

      Stay more than one night to experience the soul food!

      Date of stay: August 2023
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Elsie E
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2023

      We are thrilled to have you as part of the Melkboomsdrift family
      Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
      Our priority is customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark!

      Regards
      Melkboomsdrift Team

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews